Steem - External Indicators Reddit

in #stats6 years ago (edited)

Yesterday I looked at Twitter to see how often Steemit is being mentioned, by whom and where. Today I will take a deep look at Reddit activity.



For the last few weeks I have been discussing useful metrics which I will be producing on a regular basis to help with monitoring the growth and development of activity and people on the Steem Blockchain. Keep an eye out for my upcoming analytic reports which will show a view of some useful metrics over one week time horizons.


Reddit may not be the most relevant platform for discussing Steem and Steemit but it does feature prominently as a platform for discussing Cryptocurrencies and activity here is a bell weather in general for user activity related to altcoins.

r/steemit

The main subreddit related to the Steemit community is found here, it is not very active which is no surprise considering all the alternatives for people to discuss Steemit related topics, but as a major social media outlet and a place where people may first come before trying out Steemit, activity here is worth monitoring.

First Impressions count. This may be where some people first interact with the Steemit community.

Posts Per Day



  • For the month of January between 20 and 40 posts per day with up to 40 comments in total in a day. Not huge activity, less than 10% of the posts seen on r/bitcoin subreddit and much less comments.

Sentiment

Running some sentiment analysis on the post titles of the Steemit subreddit over the month gives the following results



  • positive overall

Mentions

Lets have a look at other subreddits where Steemit has been mentioned in January

Mentions in other Subreddits



  • Again very small numbers

Where was Steemit Mentioned?



Most commented Post

Going back to the Steemit Subreddit the most commented post has 16 comments. The following visualisation shows the interactions on this post



  • Not a lot of interactions are evident here

Discussion

There is clearly not a lot of activity on the Steemit subreddit which comes as no surprise but adding this metric to the twitter analysis yesterday will help build a picture of the external views of Steemit over time. It will also be interesting to watch sentiment on this platform to see how Steemit is being perceived in the context of other altcoins.

What metrics from this post did you find most useful? What else would you like to see?


Related Posts

I am taking a deep dive into the Accounts and Activity of Users in this series of posts. I will be producing regular reports based on the outcome of this series. You may also be interest in:



Thank you for reading this. I write on Steemit about Blockchain, Cryptocurrency, Travel and lots of random topics.

Sort:  

I think it is very unfortunate that the Steem and Steemit subreddits are so inactive. When I first learned about Steemit I checkout out the subreddit first, because these places typically gives me a good impression about what a community is about, but I was absolutely not reassured by the state of the /r/steemit subreddit at that time; everyone was just posting random links about whatever topics they wanted to promote.

I believe that we should keep the subreddits meta (so only discussing Steem and Steemit, no post promotions about random stuff like protography and stuff like that) if we want to give outsiders a good impression of our community.

Anyway, nice analysis, and I can't say that I am surprised by the results.

Best regards from @valth

@valth, don't you think that Steemit is naturally prone to less Reddit activity though, because if somebody wants to comment something about the platform (even your comment here for example), they might as well do it here on the platform and have the possibility to get some Steem or a follower or two? Most other platforms don't have a built-in blog like Steemit, so then you have to go to Reddit to comment about it. Do you agree?

@eroche great research as usual. Really appreciate your dedication to making this a better place!

Yes, I absolutely think that the subreddit is prone to have pretty little activity. However, if some knowledgeable users spend a few minutes to make a few replies to potential new members every day, the platform as a whole could grow. It's not that I don't get why there is little activity there - I just think that this inactivity is overall bad for the blockchain.

And I still think that it is very unfortunate that people use the /r/steemit subreddit as a type of channel for post promotion, because it really makes it seem like the whole platform is just a place for spam.

Good points. Yeah, the spamming is a problem for sure. If I didnt know anything about Steemit and that was my first impression, I probably would just move on and forget about it

That's exactly my point. I just took a look at the /r/steemit subreddit, and right now the front page is just filled with random crap about pump groups as well as random users that are trying to promote their posts.. I get why people don't want to dive deeper into Steemit after seeing that subreddit.

That's a very interesting perspective, and resonated with my own experience.

Absolutely, not much on Reddit regarding Steemit , sort of quietness there. Look forward to more of this series. Beautifully done! Thank you @eroche

Thank you @socialreformer. I wanted to look at this for Steemit partly so that I will be able to compare activity to other alts. This will be interesting to look at.

Like you, I was not surprised to see this result. Steemit is similar to Reddit so it makes sense the post would just go on Steemit.

It helps to have those little social media links at the bottom of Steemit posts too, Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn.

Really good work @eroche

Interesting that with it's massive transactions steem is still not being discussed as much as we think it should.

Maybe it is just me being a visual person but i love the word cloud way of showing data.I must learn how it is done.

Data visualisations are a powerful way to combine the best of AI with our own brain power. Wordclouds can often be overused but have their place. There are some websites where you can just paste a list of words and it will create one for you. I used some software to generate the one shown here.

I am just resteem and upvote, no comment :-)

Thanks so much @fauzi86

I really liked this post friend, very well summarized and understood perfectly, I hope you continue with the good content my friend, greetings from Venezuela brother!

Thank you

A better explanation can not be found, super informative post, very good!

Excellent post , thanks for sharing

Thank you

I am not surprised by this. As of the moment, there are still a lot of skeptics who believe that steemit is going to emd sometime soon. Being in here for a short time, I have seen the community grow greater and providing more opportunities for growth for everyone. The community typically reflects humanity forming relations from anarchy to small communities.

Steemit is going to rule the world. I just feel it. There is no other social media platform like this. Even reddit falls short from the caliber steemit can offer

Resteemed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85