Steem - Distribution of Posts by Account

in #stats7 years ago

An interesting picture is beginning to emerge from this series of deep dives into Steemit Account Activity.



Image Source: pixabay.com

In this Series of Posts I am taking a close look at Steem Accounts. The numbers and distribution represent a significant but often misunderstood and misquoted metric for the state of Steem and Steemit. Let's dig in and see what the data is telling us!

In November and December there has been a lot of activity. We are all getting a bonanza for our posts with the Steem Dollar being so high. I am sure this has contributed to the increased posting activity we regularly see on other stats reports but at times it can be difficult to isolate trends.

  • For example some of this extra activity could be a result of successful promotional activity by the community following Steemfest.
  • On the other hand it might all be because of the price and in that case it's not really organic growth.

To get behind some of the trends its useful to cut the data in different ways and see if any pattern emerges.

Posting Distributions

The following few graphs show the distribution of the number of posts, and number of comments by user accounts.

Posts Distribution

Let's first look at the number of posts in the months of November and December.
How many posts have come from unique accounts?

In November 11,588 accounts made just 1 post. 13,905 in December.
This count is of main top level posts not including comments, we will look at comments separately below.

This first picture says we get a lot of accounts that post a small number of posts but few that post many.
The darker blue area on this graph represents between 1 and 4 posts per day.

If people are posting more than this it's likely it is being posted by a bot or else people are just pumping out content. Not every account will be posting an article a day but as people start using the platform more and more we might see this area flatten.

Comments Distribution

These next two graphs repeat the same analysis but on comments.

This second picture says the same as for posts, we get a lot of accounts that post a small number of comments but few that post many. The key difference is here is that the distribution is flatter. i.e. people comment more often than they post.

Observations

  • Of the accounts that post, 93% post less than one post a day.
  • Of the accounts that comment, 78% comment less than one time a day and the comments have a much fatter tail in terms of multiple comments.

The fatter the tail in these graphs the more automated posts Steemit is experiencing, and is likely a proxy for quality also. This will be one to watch over time but I will point out that not all these high frequency posters are spammers. Frequent posts may just be a nice format to get stats on a regular basis, for example for Steem price statistics. This can serve a useful function on Steemit.

Let me know what you think of these stats and if the picture that they present concurs with your observations from interacting with the platform. The goal here is to isolate trends and develop useful metrics for monitoring the growth of user activity on Steem.

Related Posts

I am taking a deep dive into the Accounts of Users in this series of posts. You may also be interest in:



Thank you for reading this. I write on Steemit about Blockchain, Cryptocurrency, Travel and lots of random topics.



Images are from the linked authors unless otherwise stated.

Sort:  

Really interesting analysis!
I was just curious to see what the two would look like on top of eachother - I find the difference between Nov-Dec becomes more clear that way. A quick overlay of your graphs in photoshop using "difference" layering mode:

Blue shows areas where November is higher. Pink is where December is higher.

PS: I love your dividers, can I steal them? :D :D :D

I would love to see a continued by-month analysis of this! I think when you have 12 graphs, it's probably good to have them run in a colour-gradient on top of one another.

Thanks for this contribution. I really like the comparison you made using Photoshop. It shows, visually, the growth in the month which is very interesting. I am hoping as time goes on the distribution flattens out and we see more and more multiple posts per account.

I'll definately repeat this analysis monthly. I am exploring different metrics with this series to see what is useful to look at.

I got the dividers from someone who posted them a while back. I believe they are free to use.

Cool :), I'll put them together as you add them then!

@eroche, this is an interesting statistic. Thanks for doing the research. Previously I was doing more posts, and, as a result, there are now more comments on my posts . I began to communicate more and comment more the number of posts. My circle of friends has grown a lot more. Thank you for the interesting information.

Very interesting research sir, I would like to more comment and interact each other than post from this platform now, thank you for awesome reasearch sir, Have a nice day :)

Thanks for doing the research on the stats; I followed you geographical analysis and this one is as interesting... I'm really looking forward to see how the year unfolds. It's really cool feeling like you're in on the beginning of something big. Being fairly new, I comment more than I post mostly because I don't have the viewership yet; but when I get a comment on my blogs, I'm so excited. It reminds me of when I was a kid and my dad let me run and check the mail box (wow that makes me sound way too old :) Thanks again!

I know what you mean 😀

And it does feel like we are at the start of subverting big doesn't it.

great analysis now peolpedo more comment then posting i agreed with you! What I learned here :
Steemit is not only about UPVOTES & Money
It is about writing..
It is about reading..
It is about knowing people and their side of the story..
It is about learning..
It is about finding a path to follow..
It is about keeping yourself motivated to write better..
It is about broadening your thinking..
It is about spending your time productively..
It is about making you think from a different perspective..
It is about writing without any expectations of UPVOTES..

Nice

My blog post frequency is 1 each a day. My commenting frequency is however too high. What does that make me? Isn't it good to read some blog posts and comment.

I try to comment on posts that I read. I love reading comments that people leave on mine. I dont always because I may not be able to think of something to say.

What does that make me?

Id say the answer to that is a valuable member of the community.

Haha. Thank you very much for your kind words. I have learnt a lot regarding crypto, blockchain, potential of Steem and other crypto currencies here on Steemit. So I always try to read as much as I can and leave a comment.

follow back beh

Thats good discussion ....I really appreciate to read this post so much ....I like so much your writing system....
Thanks for discussion about this tropic...

Impressive! We're definitely going forward here :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64344.88
ETH 2629.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83