Steem - Geographical Distribution of Accounts

in #stats6 years ago (edited)

8 Months ago I ran a census of Steemit users and I got a very positive response from around the Graphene world. It's a new year and the future looks bright from Steem and Steemit so to celebrate the new year lets have a look at where people are engaging with the platform from.



Compiling stats on users of the Steem Blockchain is not trivial due to the nature of a free decentralised system. We can however get some useful insights into the user profiles by looking at the public information that is available.

Geographical Location.

There are now over 500k accounts on Steemit (up from 158k 8 months ago) so it is interesting to look at how the geographical spread of users has changed and how it looks at the moment.


Distribution of User Profiles

This analysis only represents a snapshot of users on Steemit but provides useful insights. Don't forget there are hundreds of accounts being registered each day, many with no location in their profile so to get a complete picture it is necessary to consider information from different sources. Here I present 2 sources.

Public Blockchain Data

By examining the distribution of profiles where a user has supplied their location an image begins to emerge of the geographical spread of the user accounts.

There are 55,796 user profiles with a location specified and the following map and table shows the breakdown of the locations.

World Map of Steemit Accounts



I am working on the algorithm for identifying the country so there may still be a few anomalies which I will refine in future iterations

Google Trends

Google Trends lets you explore search terms over periods and it charts it by region. This is not based on public blockchain data but it gives a supplementary picture of where users are based around the world.



Source: https://trends.google.com/trends/explore?date=now%207-d&q=steemit

The top 5 regions on google trends are interesting.

Related Posts

I am taking a deep dive into the Accounts of Users in this series of posts. I will look at more country specific data in upcoming posts, and I will also look at which countries are pumping out the most content.

Happy New Year



Thank you for reading this. I write on Steemit about Blockchain, Cryptocurrency, Travel and lots of random topics.



Sort:  

I was just commenting to my husband tonight how the world is really a small place these days! I saw pics of Bulgaria, chatted with a girl from Venezuela, I'm from Canada, but living in Mexico, you're in Ireland...I could go on but I'm assuming my point is made:) And what a great platform where equality is a given...persistence and hard work and anyone can do well here! I think the key is the sense of community and caring that people show...love it ! Thanks again!

Always with amazing info sir, re-steemed :)

It's really interesting to see the geographical distribution of the steemians and how it change during the time.
In the past I used google trends to monitoring the visits on my old online shops and my very old blog and the results was always interesting for me. I think these datas are always useful to know ^_^

I love looking at these trends to see where people are active. For me this network is all about community and to see where the hubs are is very interesting. I must play around a bit more with google trends to see what patterns I can find in the data :) Thanks for stopping by.

Very cool information. I would like to see if there is a corrolation between the ups and downs of bitcoin price with steem prices. Do more people get involved with steemit when bicoin is high or when bitcoin is low?

Thanks so much.

Correlation to Bitcoin would be a good chart to look at. I will play around with the google trends charts and see if we can get some interesting comparisons.
A link on this post to some other analysis I did shows the account creation activity. I don't think there is a huge correlation to the price of Bitcoin, there is so much noise in that data it's difficult to isolate specific trends but as more people join (and complete their profiles) we will be able to analyse these trends in more detail.

thank you eroche. will be grow up japanese community

Warms the heart to see so much use in Venezuela.

It was nice to see which countries are most involved in Steemit. Thanks for the pointing this out!

This is i see my place, thank you so much

its more intrested to know about steem geographicall detribution and its new for me to know they detect all the users in world,, which region have more users?

There are a few pockets shown in the graph but this may be just a reflection of peoples willingness to disclose their identity. The following graph may put it into context.

thanks for sharing these information with us.. its seems like steemit is well spread in third world countries. I do believe that steemit will be one of the bigest social media platforms. we are doing our best to spread steemit in Arab world. Arabic is sopken in over 24 country and there are 420 million arabic speakers. so we are doing our best. here the link about our project https://steemit.com/arab/@mcfarhat/will-you-help-us-spread-steemit-further-to-the-arab-world-arabsteem-project

Your doing great work. I checked out that link and resteemed it.

thanks dear brother.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61182.87
ETH 3360.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49