"If You Must Lie, Be Brief" - STACH Short Story Contest #27 - Entry

in #stach6 years ago (edited)

WHAT THE HELL IS UP PEEPS!


Fret not, Issue #1 of WRITER TALK is still being published today - I just had some things come up earlier that delayed finishing the edit.

DSC02710.jpg

What does this picture have to do with the post? - Absolutely nothing. - But everyone loves Fallout!


While eating lunch I saw a number of posts regarding STACH Short Story Contest #27 and figured "Why the heck not take a crack at it!" I love constrained writing prompts! Below you'll find my entry into the contest. I hope you enjoy - And even if you don't - Tell me why in the comments! Seriously!


If You Must Lie, Be Brief.

Fly by Night described him perfectly. Absent for the years in which I needed him the most. Sure, he sent cards & generic birthday gifts. I even got occasional phone calls from exotic locations - But for the most part these interactions were out of obligation, not love. Dad moved around a ton. He had to, he was a confidence man. A con artist.

The day before my 30th birthday I stood outside Sunnybrook chain smoking. Once inside fear and sadness quickly overtook me. My legs trembled as I made my way to the east-wing of the 2nd floor. Oncology.

Barely the husk of a man. Tubes. Wires. Oxygen mask. Translucent skin. For what it’s worth, he seemed peaceful. I sat at his bedside. His eyes fluttered open. Joy. He took my hand. His sandpaper palms were rough but comforting. He pulled me close. Shifting his mask to the side.

“I’m sorry.” His eyes pleaded. I nodded. He swallowed hard and spoke again.

“If you must lie, be brief.” Suddenly his heart rate soared and he coded. He was gone. Just like that.

Thank you for coming today. Even if you’re only here to make sure he’s actually dead.

The End
^^ The above two words don't count towards the story 😉


THATS ALL FOR NOW!!
SEE YOU LATER TONIGHT!

E.


CHECK OUT SOME OF MY LATEST POSTS
An Introduction To My New Series - WRITER TALK & #CurateQuality
One Of The Most Rewarding Experiences Of My Entire Life!!
Sushi Lunch With My Mom
Contest - Enjoying Dog Days - Celebrating 300 Followers
VIEW COUNTER REMOVED FROM POSTS - F**KING HORSE SHIT!

Sort:  

Follow me and I will auto upvote and resteem your last post to my 36,000+ followers whenever you reply to any of my comments on any post. @a-0-0

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54260.52
ETH 2284.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30