An Introduction To My New Series - WRITER TALK & #CurateQuality

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

DQmUEPFEUoHAMFMfsQ1mHyq4DY2JEt4iQL3E4cLqQcg1RfN_1680x8400.jpeg


WHAT UP PEEPS!

I've been here on steemit for a while now. Figured it was about time I contributed more to the blockchain other than Seven day B&W Challenges - That's not to say those things ain't cool and all- It's just that I've successfully completed 4 weeks of them. The time has come to move on to more important matters - Rest assured - At some point (READ :When I've got noting else to post) I'll pick the challenge up again. So. In the words of the great Philly D - "Let's Just Jump Into it." - I've yet to come up with a personalized catch phrase.


#CurateQuality

That new hashtag up there ^^ What is it? - Well for starters it's a way for me to identify content Steemit users view is above the bar. Of substance. More so than the aforementioned 7 day challenges. If you write something you think is worth of the tag - Use it! I'll be checking it multiple times a day and reading every post that does. If your shit don't stink - You'll get a resteem and a mention in my next issue of Writer Talk - Which brings us to the main event.


Being a writer is the Greatest-Worst job ever -
Me

This post is an introduction to a new series I'm going to call "Writer Talk"- I know, Super creative. Once a week (At Minimum) I'll be publishing new issues aimed at both newbie writers & seasoned professionals. The format is insanely informal. I'll be talking to you as if you were a friend. Like you were my writing partner. No kid gloves. 100% honesty. Brutal at times.


The series will cover - But is not limited to the following:

  • Common problems all writers face
  • WRITERS BLOCK
  • Tips
  • Suggested reading lists - Both fiction and non-fiction
  • Prompts
  • Contests
  • Challenges
  • Guest writers and more

Storytelling, as with all things worth doing - Never happens easily. It is a grind. Period. It's mostly thankless - Until you see some kind of success & No one will respect you- Until you see some kind of success. You must know these truths going in. Storytelling is a war. One between you, your mind, time and worldly distractions. Many start out on the journey that is 'Becoming a writer' - Yet very few ever cross the finish line.

"Not me. This shits just easy.
I just let it flow and its like - Perfect. I'm a natural.
" -
Average Wannabe Writer

Well I've got news for you. Chances are 99% of what you write is absolute garbage. Plain'n simple - But that's ok. Because we can grow together. Growth requires a level of personal honesty. So if you're not ready to honestly get shit on. Run along.

When you fall in love with writing it is one of the most exhilarating experiences you can have with your pants on. For me. Putting something on the page is why I get out of bed in the morning - (For transparency's sake - I do the majority of my writing pantless with my feet planted in tubs of expired mayo). Writing SHOULD have you riding a razors edge between nirvana and the mouth of a fiery pit opening to Dante’s nine circles of hell - And you should love every God dammed minute of it. Because I do and I take this shit seriously.

If I go more than a day without writing something I straight up loose my marbles.

If you cant say the same..... Then maybe this series Isn't for you. In the end the goal of WRITER TALK is to foster the creation of quality - Through mentorship, instruction and community. That being said - We've got no time for bullshit. If you ain't ready for shit to get real - Roll on Ma'phucka. No Moss.

I'm in the process of editing Issue # 1 of Writer Talk - With hopes of posting it later this evening / early in the AM tomorrow. Our first chat will be in regards to what I like to call " The 1/2 Draft ".

If you would like to get involved with Writer Talk - Or #CurateQuality - Drop me a line in the comments.

That's all for now
Hope you come again - Giggity
E


CHECK OUT SOME OF MY LATEST POSTS

One Of The Most Rewarding Experiences Of My Entire Life!!
Sushi Lunch With My Mom
Contest - Enjoying Dog Days - Celebrating 300 Followers
VIEW COUNTER REMOVED FROM POSTS - F**KING HORSE SHIT!

Sort:  

I think you lost money on @speedvoter. I usually max bid that at .01 although it's not really worth it to me to normally use that bot. You can use it for comments FYI. I'd upvote your comment on my blog but it wouldn't count.

Think you're right. With bots I'm just testing / screwing around. Usually just playing with pennies - I've tried to use speed voted before but it auto refunded - not using them again.

I think it's a great bot for newbies with low funds but yeah it is a pain. I use it for my contests but that's about it.
FYI there is an earnings threshold of .02 so your solo upvotes do not count. On the bright side your vote should count on my comment at least.

Thanks for the tip dude - very much appreciated!! The self upvote box has always been checked - I'll un-check it now - I'll be holding back votes untill I reach full power again.

I just recieved my largest payout to date - I want to do something good with it - aside from budgeting out personal promotion I would like to run a contest to give back / hopefully get some more interactions - do you have any tips for running contests - I've already got one going but no one's even submitted an entry - mind you the prize is only about 1 SBD - my new one will be substantially bigger - thinking 5 SDB prize pool - first gets 3 second gets 1.5 and third .5 SBD - does that sound alright ?

As long as your blog posts make it over .02 you should be ok to auto selfvote them. I think it's ok to upvote as much as you want as long as you're not going solo or upvoting posts below .02.

I run contests on my daily blog. I think it's fine to start small.

My advice to you would be to take your steem dollars and convert them into steem on the internal market and power up or use them for bots. I use mine for bots. That can help boost the price of steem and make your upvotes more valuable. I think we can all benefit if the price of steem rises.

Great initiative - and since

your shit don't stink

This lot anyway! - You've earned a resteem!

Thanks man - hope i can turn this into something. All the best my friend.

Yeah, just keep driving it through the ups and the downs!

No doubt I will.

You got a 3.65% upvote from @brandonfrye courtesy of @emwalker!

Want to promote your posts too? Send a minimum of .10 SBD or Steem to @brandonfrye with link in the memo for an upvote on your post. You can also delegate to our service for daily passive earnings which helps to support the @minnowfund initiative. Learn more here

This post has received a 1.97 % upvote from @speedvoter thanks to: @emwalker.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54358.77
ETH 2293.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30