What is your favourite Winter Activity? (3rd installment)

in #sports6 years ago

Even though it is cold out, there are many great activities to partake in during the winter. In fact, the best part about winter is spending time outside in the crisp air. Afterwards you come in to a warm house, place your wet boots and gloves over the heater vents, turn on the fireplace and have a nice hot drink of hot chocolate (with marshmallows) or maybe a coffee (with Baileys).
So what is your favourite Winter activity #teamcananda ?

Each week I am planning on listing one of mine. My first week I talked about Snowboarding. Last week I mentioned Tobogganing.
This week we are going to move onto:

Ice Hockey


OK. So if you are from Canada, you wait for hockey season all year long. If you don't like hockey, you don't tell anyone that you don't like it.
Watching hockey is as popular as watching the news. The Stanley Cup is the most coveted trophy in sports. Unlike other pro sports, there is only one trophy that gets passed around. The following year it is taken back and given to the next winning team. Every Canadian kid has dreamed about getting a chance to raise the cup.

As a kid, I grew up playing hockey in my home town of St.Thomas. I played from the age of 6 until I went away to University. If I hadn't gone to University in the States, I probably would have brought my equipment with me. There is no sport quite like hockey. It has the roughness of football, the quick skills of basketball, it has the speed of no other sport out there, and it is all done on skates. Anyone I know that has played hockey is hooked.

As an adult, there are mens leagues that play every night of the week at multiple different rinks. A league for any skill level can be found. My city of London Ontario has more hockey rinks than many countries (as can be seen below).

I currently play in a Friday night league with a good buddy of mine. Last year we won the championship and took home the hardware. We treated the trophy like the Stanley cup and passed it around. Everyone was able to keep it for a week and we came up with some pretty good pictures.


image1
20170325_003143
20170404_163221
IMG_0379
IMG_4314

Currently my 6 year old son Luke is playing hockey. I am one of the coaches on his team. It is amazing to watch 5 and 6 year old kids develop their skills. The have so much fun out there. He must be having a great time as well. On Saturday morning at 6:15 am, I say "Luke we gotta get up and go to Hockey". Luke has no problems getting up. Mom on the other hand.....


teamcanada_S

Darryl (@dadview) is a loving husband and father who enjoys spending time with his family no matter the activity.
He is an active member of The Alliance and teamcanada
Check out one of my Recent Blogs


If you enjoyed this post, please up-vote and/or Follow @dadview on Steemit

Sort:  

I always had the utmost respect for hockey players, I would always wonder how brave can you be to play this sport?!😁It’s for tough badass guys, indeed a combination of different sports together!

It is difficult at first. There are a lot of skills required.
But so much fun.

I can imagine it is a lot of fun!

In tropical Philippines, my favorite winter activity is beach bumming. :p

Couldn’t think of any activity in winter time honestly, beach bumming sounds pretty sweeet to me😁👏

Hmmm.... I usually do that for at least a week. We head to Florida most February's for a break from the cold.

I start counting down as soon as the last puck is dropped. I don't play, but I do love to watch! I can't say that I have enjoyed this season. My team hasn't done well, and I'm still really bummed about never walking up the steps to the Gordy Howe entrance at The Joe...even if it was a dump lol loads of history made in that building.

I went to the Joe once back in the day. I thought it was a great rink. As a kid your perspective is different.
I was there another time as an adult and there was a pillar that blocked views of the rink for some of the fans. It made me laugh.
This year we went to Boston and took pics with the Bobby Orr statue!
Check it out here: Back from Boston

I was going to head straight over to check out the Boston post, but then I discovered that my upvotes are now worth .04 :D Party time!

Ha ha, awesome!
I remember I was excited when I hit .02 I was so excited. When I joined you couldn't even vote until your power was worth at least .01

So cool pictures... Hope your wife is not too jealous for sleeping with a trophy :)

That is actually my buddy Rob.
His wife would kill him if she knew he had it in their bed! lol

Walking. I'd say snowboarding, but that's kind of cliche, I feel like walking gets the short end of the stick in winter. But wintertime is beautiful, snow covered trees, crisp clean air, sunny days are the best. Even walking when it's dark out because I get off at 5 is still nice. Everything is so peaceful in winter :)

You may like snowshoeing or cross country skiing as well!
You are right, the scenery is beautiful!

Ya, I really need to get some snowshoes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71095.13
ETH 3686.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76