What is your favourite Winter Activity?

in #sports6 years ago

Even though it is cold out, there are many great activities to partake in during the winter. In fact, the best part about winter is spending time outside in the crisp air. Afterwards you come in to a warm house, place your wet boots and gloves over the heater vents, turn on the fireplace and have a nice hot drink of hot chocolate (with marshmallows) or maybe a coffee (with Baileys).
So what is your favourite Winter activity #teamcananda ?

Each week I am planning on listing one of mine. Last week I talked about Snowboarding
This week we are going to move onto:

Tobogganing

This activity has a lot of similarities to snowboarding. The rush of the cold wind in your face. The speed of going down the hill. Bundled up in as much insulated water proof winter gear as you can get on your body.
Tobogganing (aka sledding) is a popular activity among families. Almost every local park has a small hill that you can use. Often people will head out to the local golf coarse as well, as they often have a few great hills (especially for older kids). The nice part about sledding is that the price is right. It is free. All you need is a sled, toboggan, GT snow racer or Magic carpet, and you are good to go. Often, as long as a friend has one to share you are going to have a great time.

Every kid from the 80's and 90's wanted a GT snowracer. These were the creme de la creme. If you have never seen one, check out the picture below:

Now if you are young, the fun is just sliding straight down the hill. But if you are a bit older, you start to do some crazy things. Seeing how many people you can get on the sled at once is always a popular challenge. Building ramps and obstacles are also popular. Just try to be responsible enough not to put them in the middle of the kiddie hills.
Here in Canada, it is even popular in your early twenties. Although it is usually done at night after the sun has gone down and involves some heavy drinking. Often your beers are just set into the snow piles. These are even better than a fridge. You have to be careful though or your beer may turn into a slushy. These branch of tobogganing is often referred to as taboozin.

Last week we took my son Luke out for his first toboganing trip of the year. He loved it. We will most likely go out again before the Christmas break is over. Here are a couple of photo and a short video:
2017_12_17_14_12_00


At the end of the day, we told the kids that there was a contest going on. They had won first prize for having the most amount of fun! We gave them some trophies and they were bragging about it for days. We had a blast.
2017_12_17_15_22_52

So get outside yourself and enjoy some winter fun!
I would love to hear about it.

And Dont forget to enter my 10 STEEM give away by entering here: Your Best Gift
Still a couple of days left before the post closes for payout!

(click on the images to view source pages)


teamcanada_S

Darryl (@dadview) is a loving husband and father who enjoys spending time with his family no matter the activity.
He is an active member of The Alliance and teamcanada
Check out one of my Recent Blogs


If you enjoyed this post, please up-vote and/or Follow @dadview on Steemit

Sort:  

Sadly we dont have winter here :c

Guess you will have to follow my posts to fill the void!

hahahaha Well it sounds right, even if i don't have really a void , I will follow your post <3

Oh man, the kids love tobogganing. Sometimes then just make me drag them up and down the drive way hours.

We used to drag Luke around on the sled too. Usually for a quick walk on the path. Tough work out for mom and / or dad though...

Oh man, that looks like tons of fun! I'm actually going to experience winter for the first time in a couple of hours, and while I'm quite nervous if my body can take the cold, I'm very excited to finally have a chance to ski! Not that I was any good at skating or skateboarding or anything that involves a ramp. Toboganning might be a fun alternative haha!

An activity most kids LOve its such fun sledding

I look back on memories of sledding as a kid. Main reason I make sure I take my son out.

I grew up in an area without snow, the first time I saw snow was when I was 19 so no experience of Sleddign as a young Kid, but I did do it a few time sin my thirties

I think it's an awesome attitude to embrace winter like you guys do. Because the fact is that when snow arrives it ain't leaving for a while so you might as well use it to do something fun.

Here in Hangzhou China it rarely snows so I haven't been able to enjoy a "real" winter for a while. Soon I'm moving back and then I will definitely make sure to get out and enjoy the crisp air and the beautiful landscape

While you can live your winter life through me!

Haha thanks I appreciate that ! Please drink a snow cold beer for me when you have time

Awesome throphy idea. I am stealing that!

Our winter activity is cuddling up. Boys love attacking our bed 😌

It was awesome. We went to Timmies for some Hot Chocolate and pulled them out. They were extra trophies from a dance competition that my buddy grabbed.
The kids were telling everyone about it.

My best winter activity: sleep the home, because my country like stalingrad

Ha ha. I like to sleep in the winter.... as well as the summer

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by dadview from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68843.90
ETH 3813.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48