What is your favourite Winter Activity?

in #sports7 years ago

Even though it is cold out, there are many great activities to partake in during the winter. In fact, the best part about winter and spending time outside in the crisp air. Afterwards you come in to a warm house, place your wet boots and gloves over the heater vents, turn on the fireplace and have a nice hot drink of hot chocolate (with marshmallows) or maybe a coffee (with Baileys).
So what is your favourite Winter activity #teamcananda ?

Each Saturday I am planning on listing one of mine. This week we are going to start with:

Snowboarding




When I was a teenager, it was still new and cool. Many of the mountains still didn't allow snowboarders on the same runs as skiers. But now it is rampant everywhere. When you go to the local hill there are just as many snowboarders and there are skiers.
Now I wont lie, I found it very difficult to learn. I spent a lot of time smacking my face off of the icy hill. It was probably 4 hours of pain before I really started to get the hang of it. It is very unnatural to have your feet strapped in and stuck a fixed distance apart. Normally when you start to lose your balance, you adjust one of your legs to help stabilize yourself. Well this isn't an option while snowboarding. You have to use your entire body to try and move your board into a more stable position of location. For this reason, it is a great form of exercise. It is also tough to move around when you are on a flat surface. You have to unstrap one of your boots and do some awkward skating boarding move to try and push yourself along while the skiers are zooming past you. Then to top it all off, getting off of the ski lift is much trickier with a snowboard. When you sit, you are facing uphill but your board isn't. So when you go to get off you have to try and turn your body so that your board is pointed uphill. Don't even get me started about goofy footed riders sitting with regular footed riders (I think any snowboarder will know what I am talking about).
After you finally get the hang of it though, it is so much fun. Feeling the breeze in your face as you carve down the hill is a great feeling. The best time to go is when the weather is very close to freezing with very little wind and the sun is out. You can often get away with only wearing a hoodie in these types of conditions.
When you ride the lift back up to the top of the hill you always get amazing views. It can be surreal at times. The moment when you pull up to the edge before dropping in to your run is filled with awe and anticipation together.

If you have never tried snowboarding and live in an area where it is available, I suggest you book a lesson and give it a shot. I am hoping to take my son Luke out this year for the first time. My wife is taking sking lessons and I may have him take them as well.

So get outside and enjoy some winter fun!

(click images to view source pages)


teamcanada_S

Darryl (@dadview) is a loving husband and father who enjoys spending time with his family no matter the activity.
He is an active member of The Alliance and teamcanada
Check out one of my Recent Blogs


If you enjoyed this post, please up-vote and/or Follow @dadview on Steemit

Sort:  

I like snowboarding but since my kid was born it’s been more cross-country skiing and snowshoeing. There won’t be any of that tomorrow here in Quebec as its supposed to be -38 deg tonight with the windchill and tomorrow won’t be much warmer during the day.

Wow. That hurts the face just thinking about it.
Again a nice sunny day around 1 or 2 Celsius is perfect.
Thanks for commenting!

For me it is skiing. On Grouse Mt. skiing 45 min from home.van from grouse.jpg

Nice, our local hill just opened yesterday.
This is what got me dreaming about getting out for the first run of the year. Probably wont be for at least a week though.
Great photo!

Your photo looks like it was taken on Grouse.

It was a google image, if you click on it you will go to the site that I got it from.
Unfortunately not an image I took.

Snow-shoeing was a favourite of mine. Quite time tracking through the woods and hot chocolate with marshmallows in front of a nice warm fire...before I got old to appreciate the cold winters and deep snow...

I used to love walking any time of year, but as I am getting older I think my favorite indoor activity is watching movies indoors LOL

We do like that one too. May have to be one of my topics. Turning on the fire, making popcorn and hot chocolate, cuddling up on the couch with a big blanket..... can't beat it!

Indeed that would make a great post, I used to love walking all year round even through he snow in winter getting photos, just slowing down a bit this year LOL

I did my fair share of Skiing and Snowboarding back in NZ but haven’t been on the slopes for. Few years

I have never been sniw boarding but my favorote is sledding. So I can only assume I would love snowboarding too!

It would be cross coutry skiing or ice racing for me. I'm terrified of downhill anything😦

Outside of London (where I live) there are a few good places to cross country ski. Often the paths can be damaged by snowmobiles.
I have never actually been cross country skiing before though.

That sucks having the snowmobiles so near the ski trails. In saskatoon the golf courses and some parks have groomed trails. Its terrific.

great pics! Shred on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64689.90
ETH 3450.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50