Breathwork: 4 Methods to Deepen the Breath

in #spirituality6 years ago (edited)

First, Go Check Out...

@atmosblack's post My whole spiritual journey summed up in just one post (and a video)

I ended up listening, and meditating, to the included video at work and felt the results were really promising. I think that when applied properly, the teaching Matt Kahn puts forth can be extremely valuable.

Matt basically instructs us to BE the breath, saying that the reason we aren't at ease in life is because we have shallow breath, even holding our breath sometimes. This idea of breath relating to consciousness makes sense on a variety of levels, from athletes entering flow states, to panic causing hyperventilation, to great singers practicing breath work.

I've typically been a shallow breather, and have worked on it in the past to some degree, but lately haven't been thinking about it. One thing that I noticed really benefited my spiritual practice in the past was running was running. It used to force my lungs open and improved(or helped me reclaim) my lung capacity, which could be a major reason. There are a few practices I've found helpful, keeping these in mind with the teaching in the post above helped me get right into the feeling I think he's going for:

Nasal Breathing

I picked this concept up from "Body, Mind, and Sport," by John Douillard and found further support from the show Stranger Things whenever Eleven would call someone "filthy mouth-breather."

In my experience, breathing into certain areas activates related areas. When we breath into our mouths we miss out on some of the mucus membranes in our nasal cavity that in my experience send the breath towards the head.

Take a look at the picture on the right, notice there are multiple turbinates. The nose is more complex than it appears, with multiple sinuses and complex structure. I don't think we fully understand how it works, and I am definitely guilty of using my mouth to breathe, especially when I'm even slightly congested.

Not to mention, almost all other animals normally breathe through their noses.

Full Body Breathing

This one I learned from the book "Initiation Into Hermetics," by Franz Bardon:

The skin has two functions: to breathe, and to secrete or eliminate. Therefore we can consider our skin to be a second set of lungs and our second set of kidneys.
[...]concentrate and think that not only do your lungs breathe, or inhale air with every breath you take, but the entire body as well.

Following this line of thought, the whole body can breathe in the air all around us. So when I practice this meditation, I keep that in mind and try to think of breath entering through my whole body, not just into my lungs. If anything, this works on an energetic level.

In previous chapters, Bardon recommends brushing the skin with a natural hair brush to wake the skin up. I use a boar bristle brush in the mornings when I have time.

Breathing into Tightness

Sometimes, when I breathe in I find tightness or blockages in certain areas. What I've found when focusing on these and really breathing into them is that for the most part they're made up of trapped gas! Once I get a burp or two out from concentrating the breath in the vicinity of tightness, the area clears up.

Kind of a funny thing, but I think passing gas is vital for clearing out toxins. Try it out! See where your breath wants to go, and if it's not getting there, explore why. It's simple, but effective in deepening the breath and clearing up discomfort.

A good belch is really satisfying, just ask a kid.

Breathing Taller

This one is fairly basic, just breathe towards better posture. Combined with full body breathing, this provides a simple way to diagnose our posture. Generally I've found my posture mirrors the depth of my breath, if I'm not breathing into a certain area some of my muscles aren't engaged.

It makes sense, without breath getting to our muscles how can they function properly? We should be breathing so deeply that every part is nourished.

For example when my head is tilted forward and shoulders rounded I'm not getting enough breath in my chest. Or sometimes my lower back rounds or slacks from sitting too long or something. When observing my breath I noticed I wasn't breathing into my stomach enough.

This can work both ways too, by just getting into good posture, my breathing opens up. So standing tall with my chest out and rib cage tall opens up my chest for easier breathing.


These are a few techniques I've picked up over the years. After reading the post by @atmosblack(check him out when you can,) I was able to immediately apply them with excellent results. Let me know what you think in the comments, and if you enjoyed this, upvote, resteem, and follow me, @jakeybrown!

Sort:  

Ah yes! I love it. Breathing should be the foundation for all health and spiritual practices. It has had a huge impact on me after learning the Wim Hof method and yogic/holotropic breathing.

Every morning starts off with some sort of breathing exercises which allows me to wake up better than coffee, oxidize my body and open myself up to more love and light.

Thank you for the concious content. This kind of content is important.

Wim Hof is the man!

Every morning starts off with some sort of breathing exercises which allows me to wake up better than coffee, oxidize my body and open myself up to more love and light.

That's a great idea, now I just need to start getting up with a spare 10 minutes! haha

Thanks for stopping by the blog, I'll check yours out

From my experience the deep full body breath can cause stiff muscles depending on where I lay my focus on.

But anyway, breathing was and occasionally still is one area which I had to relearn from scratch as I became aware of energies. As a bodily reflection of my becoming aware of imbalances within...:)

deep full body breath can cause stiff muscles depending on where I lay my focus on

Interesting, can you elaborate a bit more?

I experience this in 2 ways.

  1. When I prolong my inhale and exhale intervals, drawing my breath from the depths of my lungs. To me, it appears as if in doing so some muscle groups are getting involved which are not strained at all when we simply breath in and out "normally". The mere prolongation of inhale and exhale actives and involves completely different areas of muscles into the process, and these areas are so "dormant" usually that even light involvement causes them to respond more strongly.
  2. When I do chakra meditation involving the utterance of vocal Sounds, with each vocal sound concentrating on a particular area of the body, the inhale and exhale somewhat penetrates the corresponding body area, resulting in a release of muscle tension in this area, which in turn exhausts the muscle in some way..

But well, who knows what I am doing...😂

Haha, hey whatever works for you, I think everyone tailors their spiritual practice to some extent. Like my yoga sessions are probably unlike anyone else's because I am trying to let go of ego while I do some yoga poses.

I'm going to try some breath work, I've read something similar to your #1 when I was reading about traditional yogic practices, forget who, aphorisms of patanjali or vivekananda's complete works maybe...

Thanks for the reply :)

I will have to try some of this techniques when I am feeling stressed!

The one that intrigue me the more is the Full Body Breathing, I suppose using a hair brush can work as a sort of tool to massage our own skin? It must be nice I think I will try that!

Full body breathing is great, I was trying it on my walk tonight. And the brush kinda wakes the skin up and supposedly opens the pores. I like it, reminds me of how people brush a horse which is weird, can be uncomfortable sometimes but refreshing after!

It is great to see your posts getting the attention they deserve!

I do pretty well with the breath - until I don't - and when I can't find it, can't focus on it, I really can't which causes anxiety. I've been thinking lately about yoga asanas that restrict the breath and how to focus on the breath when it is hard.

Haven't made any progress yet - just opened myself up to teaching - so this post is a great start. Thansk!

V good post . I like it , thanks for sharing
I follow u

Thank you for the honorable mention and your awesome article!
Breath on! 😀

Another well written quality post with good information

I always practice Breathing into Tightness everytime I bathe in the sea :D it really gets hard whenever the water level reaches my chin :D

Oh that's cool, can you find the tight spots more easily when partially submerged?

What sea? all we have are frozen lakes right now haha

I felt like my chest part was being compressed. :( and I can't stay for too long for the thought of "maybe there's something below that will drag me" won't fail to visit my mind .. haha :D here in the Philippines :) where it's best to bathe on weekdays, for in weekends it'll be filled with urine. hahahha

Excellent post! Glad I’m following your content.

Thanks man, appreciate it!

hi. i'm korean meditation beginner . following &vote you and hope learn more about meditation from you . this is my meditation post https://steemit.com/kr/@alexshin/kr-meditation

DEEP BREATH
danjeon.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65814.16
ETH 3444.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64