My whole spiritual journey summed up in just one post (and a video)

in #spirituality6 years ago

octagonal-pavilion-1148883_640.jpg

Today I wanted to share a teaching with you, that has become very important to me recently.
Then I wrote this post and found out, that it sums up my whole spiritual journey.
25 years of seeking and a conclusion in just one Steemit post of epic proportions.

If you are in spirituality and personal transformation for many years as I've been, you collect a huge amount of rules you have to live by.
You want to be more loving, more in the present moment, more enlightened and basically a better human being. Yes, we sometimes claim, that this is not the case and that we are beyond these aspirations, but if you are honest with yourself, there is this part in you that still wants all of these things.
We try to accomplish this "enlightenment stuff" by performing better.
We try to meditate and practice intensely, to achieve our lofty goals and boy, this can easily become complicated. You have to remember a shitload of things to cross off your daily spiritual to-do list.

Working your way to the final goal...

We have to put ourselves under the spiritual microscope and find out with every encounter, every feeling and every thought, if we have done justice to the rules we have set for ourselves.
"Have I already found out, who I really am? Can I stay in the detached state of being a witness to everything appearing? Am I mindful enough? Am I already my true self? Am I enlightened yet?"
What are we doing here? Who told us, that this enlightenment thing is some sort of spiritual competition, where we can only arrive, when we have done a heck of a job in solving a cosmic riddle?

May I introduce to you...

Meet the one thing (that is not a thing) that is already perfectly enlightened and has achieved everything you could possibly dream of - it's in you every moment since the beginning of time and will be there until the end of all days - it's already you and the most obvious thing in the world, that you have missed until now. Ladies and Gentleman, meet the BREATH.
Your breath is the answer to all your questions. You don't need to control it, it works all by itself. It has all the qualities, you are longing for and even more: it's the only safety you will ever find.
What if all the masters and enlightened beings only ever talked about the breath.
Everything Jesus and the Buddha ever talked about summed up in just one word: Breath.

The invitation

What if, from now on, you have only to remember one tiny thing - and even if you forget to remember it, it will still work perfectly! Breath.
Haa.... How beautiful. So in case you ever forget all your spiritual wisdom you accumulated over the years - or get reborn by accident in a new body - you can rely on the spiritual teaching of the breath.
It will never disappoint you. It is always there for you - if you remember it or not.
To deepen this experience, do yourself a favor and watch these 80 minutes for a complete spiritual teaching, that needs no further practice.
If someone would give you the chance to sum up their whole spiritual teaching in just 80 minutes and once understood, you would not need any further workshops, books or anything - would you take the invitation?
This is the invitation. Take it or leave it, but be warned: Once you dive into it, nothing will be the same anymore. Enjoy! Breathe! ❤️

Sort:  

Can I just kindly express my appreciation to your posts.
I am so glad I found you. Reading everything you write is bliss!
I am also reading, meditating, searching for answers but haven't found myself completely.
Breathing really is the answer, but I also want to add - water. A wise man once told me "Drink water and you will forget all your problems!" and I think he was right. :)

Thank you so much for your touching words! ❤️
Yes, I know this feeling of "I haven't found myself completely" and hear of this often. The thing is, if what you are is the breath, would the breath say: "I haven't found myself yet!". How will the breath find itself? What does the breath need
to do, to be found? 😀

Interesting, I should focus us breath more! It's not a huge part of my practice, but I could be practicing breath very easily wherever I go.

Watching the video now, do you ever get on discord?

I just saw "Ha! Breath of Life" while I was in Hawaii, life's always speaking

No, I'm not often on discord but yesterday there was a discussion about that with @brightstar - she wants to bring some spiritual people together on discord and here on steemit.
When you watch the video, you will see, that it's not really about focusing on the breath, but being the breath and nothing else.
In "normal" breathing meditations you have 2: you and the breath - you watching the breath - you needing to focus on the breath.
In being the breath this all drops away and it's more like a realization than a practice. Blessings! ❤️

I think I told you this before, but sometimes the way this guy speaks bothers me... But that wasn't enough to prevent me from watching and hearing that incredible video. Such a simple switch from just be, to just be the breath, which really guides us and asks us, what would that be like? Then we have to listen and observe what it would mean to be the breath.

He grew on me as the video went.

In the past I've noticed how shallow my breath was, so I will be implementing this practice as often as I remember to the next few days. I resteemed you and will be writing a piece on breath and referencing this. Thanks! and glad I found you again!

I totally understand. It took me quite some time to let Matt in. First I thought that he was arrogant - "Who does this guy think he is? Jesus?" 😀
Until I found out, that what I misperceived as arrogance was just a radiance of unshakable security of what he is. That got me. Thank you for your sharing and I'm happy that you watched till the end. From one breath to the one breath ❤️

Thank you for the clarification. The video is great so far, been meditating to it at work and not getting much done because that would be counterproductive haha.

If you guys plan on getting together on discord let me know! Just found @brightstar yesterday and figured out I didn't have you followed today

ha I totally understand! Since watching and listening to Matt is my only spiritual practice (and I do that at least 2 hours a day), I know, that I can't do anything else but listen and digest and sometimes stopping the video/audio after just one sentence because he was again turning my world upside down 😀Yeah, we will let you know - if it's not Discord then maybe some other way to come together and focus our "work" here on Steemit.

One book which I've found extremely helpful, though the word use is much different, is "The Transparency of Things" by Rupert Spira..

I basically flip to any page and read two paragraphs and start to apply it in practice and I'm meditating. I am going to apply Matt's teachings as well, because if it worked so well at work it will be even better during time I set aside for meditation

Yeah, I love Rupert too. His teachings were very important to me over quite some time, but Matt is taking me to places like no one else - especially since the "Love teachings" bring a beautiful balance to the sometimes very "maskuline" Advaita teachings.

Sorry to spam your comments, here's the post: https://steemit.com/spirituality/@jakeybrown/breathwork-4-methods-to-deepen-the-breath

Gave credit where credit was due ;)

absolutely breathtaking picture!

hehe It is - I just found it on pixabay and thought it would be a perfect fit for this post 😀

Beautifully expressed. I have been on my own spiritual journey for a very long time. First I started with questioning everything. Then I started feeling like I was going crazy, when discovering the reality is not what you once believed. We are always in the perfect place at the perfect time for our souls learning. I still have my role to play here, but just like what you shared breath is is life and is part of our energetic signature. I have come to the conclusion that love is not even close to what we have been taught. Love is a state of being. It just IS. 💚

Beautifully said! Yes, we grow up believing that Love is a feeling, just to discover that it's a state of being.

So true, coming from someone with Sleep Apnea, this is totally what has been going on with me for at least the last 2 years. My daughter of almost 2 co-sleeps in our bed and i haven't used my CPAP machine in that time. Coincidentally, over that time I my life has been in turmoil and chaos, because for half the day my breathing is in turmoil and chaos. Bottom line is I need to spend more waking time deeply breathing and see what happens. Mahalo!

This actually is very deep insight. Thank you for sharing! ❤️

Before I continue I tell you I have not, yet, watched the video ~ bookmarked for a quieter moment later; thanks.

:)

As far as breath goes: It makes perfect sense although I am a bit of an oddball and when I try and focus on it it makes me feel kinda squelchy in my body!

I have always been open to the idea of spirituality but until only 18 months ago was busy being busy. I had an epiphany when, unexpectedly, the spirits made themselves known to me.

I am now fortunate to talk regularly with them and have a spiritual team helping me along my way.

They are always expressing the same thing to me: Keep it simple Linda, don't over think ~ just be.

Here on Steemit I have decided to try and share this under the umbrella term that I have coined "Kitchen Sink Spirituality."

I appreciate your work and invite you to pop by mine sometime.

With love.

xox

haha Right! I could never do any form of breathing meditation, because they all told me to change my breathing pattern in some way. Count to 3 on the inbreath, 2 outbreath or deeper or more up or more down or whatever.
Impossible for me to do. Even watching the breath made no sense to me.
This is also why I avoided this teaching from Matt.
Then I found out, that it was not about all that at all. It is about being the breath and be nothing else. This is a totally different game.
Thank you and blessings! ❤️

In all honesty, discovering my breath and learning to use it to spread life and wisdom outward into the world has been one of the most profound and rewarding lesson for me on my own spiritual journey. Thank you so much for reinforcing that knowledge with this post and inspiring an idea for one of my own. Many blessings, please keep sharing!!

@atmosblack Thanks for this wonderful post. I just wanted to let you know that here in India Mahashivratri was celebrated on 13th Feb night (6pm to 6am) at Isha yoga center. Whole celebration was streamed live on T.V channels, but the most important part of the celebration was the mid-night meditation. check out this footage, this is one of the rare videos where Sadhguru goes into deep meditative state, unlike ever seen before on video, https://steemit.com/sadhguru/@benatbanglr/sadhguru-at-maha-shivaratri-2018 Screenshot from 2018-02-21 23-06-44.png

Wow That is powerful! I like Sadhguru - especially as he is also a funny guy sometimes 😉But the energy of samadhi combined with this huge Shiva statue is breathtaking! Thanks for sharing! ❤️

You are welcome!

Great reminders, as always. Big smile right now.

Thank you for introducing me to this video. Profound.

Who is the presenter?

This is Matt Kahn. After many years of seeking and lots of teachers and enlightened masters, he brought everything together and on a new level of understanding for me. Listening to his teachings for at least 2 hours a day, has become my only practice and changed my life forever. Matt is not a guru though and in the end it's also not about himself as a person, but the message behind. Good if this is an inspiration for you. Thank you for taking the time to watch! ❤️

Thank you. I'll explore further

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65688.41
ETH 3444.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64