When You Think You Can Spam With Impunity, @spaminator and @sadkitten Comes To The Rescue

in #spam7 years ago (edited)

The rate of spam and spammers have increased very recently, maybe due to changes brought about by hardfork 19. People are now so desperate that they spam you in the face the way they like. Unfortunately, when you tell these folks to take their spam out of your page, they pretend like they don't understand. When you flag their spam comments, they unleash a flag war on you. I would like to distinguish two types of spam here.

Solicited Spam

I will explain solicited spam as the type of spam that the author called for. A concrete example would be one who subscribed to different services to help boost payout. We know the names of these services.

Unsolicited Spam

This is the kind of spam that the author never called for. Imagine after having spent hours to write you consider a good post, hit the post button and waiting for some engaging comments, the next thing you see on your blog would  be a link to their blog or some ''services'' that they are advertising. Did I tell them that I need their services? Hell no!


My Unpleasant Experience With Unsolicited Spam                                  

There is a specific group in @steemcleaners that now take care of spams specifically. I didn't know about this group until I had issues with spam comment on @redfishpillar, when @yoenelmundo triggered a flag war on the post I created in that account. That happened 4 days ago (14th of August, 2017). Morover, I had to cry out with this post when after having reported the matter to Witness @drakos (the guy with the big sword. Lol!) in @steemcleaners, I didn't really get the help I needed. Many thanks to @enjar who first commented on the post. Those invaluable comments she left helped me a lot to know the next line of action to take. @turpsy came in later, followed by @patrice and @cryptonfused to help out with their comments. A little piece of advise here. If you know that you don't have any meaningful comment to add to your neighbor's blog post. Please, pass by and pretend like you never saw that post. That act is what we call ''waka pass'' in Nigeria. I would not fail to thank @ausbitbank, @dragonslayer109, @oluwatobiloba, @steem-lagos @patrice etc. for their upvotes on that post. Some members of the Nigeria curation team  ( @ehiboss, @gbenga ) also helped out. I am grateful you all.  

Two days later, this same @yoenelmundo spammed @yvonneyoung's blog in the comments section of this post. Guess what happened to her? Witness @pfunk came around and flagged her spam comment with 100% negatively weighted vote. 

I was happy today that karma caught up with her and that witness @pfunk flagged her for spamming. Her reputation reduced drastically to 14. This was the comment I left for @pfunk 


Spaminator and Sadkitten To Our Rescue

Some good willed Steemians, who are working to reduce the spate of spams in steemit and ensure a clean steemit blogging environment, created @sadkitten, the kitten which usually feeds @spaminator with information about steemit spams. 

  Image credit                                                                                                                                   

  Image credit                                                                                              

If you have any issues with spam, don't hesitate to report specifically to @patrice in @steemcleaners. The issue will be taken care of ASAP. Very recently too, @stellabelle, a wonderful Steemian and good friend, has declared #waronspam in steemit. She came to my help with @spaminator to take care of a spam comment on my blog


Call To Action

If you detest spam as much as I do and want to see a clean steemit blogging environment, look for @spaminator in @steemcleaners and report cases of spam there. See latest update of @spaminator


 Image source 1, 2

Have you had bad experiences with spams and spammers? Please, share your experience and how you managed it. 

Please, upvote, reblog/resteem

Follow @maryfavour


Thanks for taking time to read!

Sort:  

I am happy @pfunk got her. I laughed when i saw the screenshot you shared in this post. However, i think she will learn and desist from such action. I want to appreciate @walden, @rojassartorio @nelyp @jocra, for engaging in a meaningful discussion over the issue and for suggesting @pfunk, whom was described as a great guy.

Their meaningful discussion enabled my suggestion and comment in helping out. @maryfavour steem on, sis.

Same here, @turpsy. Yes, it was quite comforting for me yesterday as I continued my search regarding the issue. Matters that have to do with injustice , I don't just let them go like that. Well, hopefully @yoenelmundo will learn. If she doesn't and continues with her spam spree, finally, her account will be nuked into oblivion. Just imagine how many people she has unleashed terror on, when they tried to stop her from spamming them! Maybe you haven't thought - what if @redfishpillar didn't have DSP of 6,300? By now, @redfishpillar would have been no more, drowned by the vengeful act of indiscipline of @yoenelmundo by using a 172 member curation trail to downvote @redfishpillar's post. Honestly, I have no centiments whatsoever for her. In my opinion, accounts like @yoenelmundo's should not be allowed to exist on the steemit blockchain. I appreciate those names you mentioned too for suggesting witness @pfunk. So proud to have voted @pfunk as witness. Of a truth, he is a great guy and a no nonsense guy. I believe in what @pfunk stands up for, which is saying no to plagiarism and spam. Cheers, bro.

HI Mary, I saw you in you tube and came in here to follow you. I am brand new so this is a great post. Don't want spam.

Wow! I'm so excited to know that you found me on youtube and from there you are now following me on steemit. Please, do not entertain spam on your blog, especially those you never solicited for. Report to @patrice in @steamcleaners and @sadkitten, through the assistance of @spaminator, will take care of the spam comments. Make sure not to flag those comments, so that they don't revenge and nuke your account into non-existence. A very warm welcome to steemit. When you have time, you can check out what I do for newbies through @redfishpillar project. Enjoy the steemit ride!!!

You're a natural.

This is a masterpiece.

Finally, justice took it's course, the matter was quite annoying when it all began.

Yes, @illuminatus, finally. Very annoying to say the least. The role you played to calm me down, when they came again is one that I appreciate and won't forget in a hurry. Thank you so much for being there. Steem on!

You don't want to have a taste of the god's wrath.

Not at all, @bat-junior. I like that.

Hello my friend! I've followed this spam issue on your @redfishpillar post very closely and so glad that so many people from this amazing community came to help out!
I've really not yet faced any bad experience with spams/spammers and i wish that they never polluate my post!
Thanks for writting this down to let us know who we should reach to if we are facing such problems!
@progressivechef

Hello, my friend, @progressivechef! Yes, I know you have followed the spam issue. Really, I appreciate your support. In fact, i cannot thank you all enough for everything. Glad that you haven't had bad experience with spammers. Lucky you! Haha...Please, if they ever harass you with spams, just report to the appropriate place as stated. Cheers.

@maryfavour

This is gold standard material.

So interesting reading through your post and thanks to the help you got back. You keep doing what you know best at which is posting real good contents.

I appreciate your kind words, @saintopic. Thanks for stopping by.

Wow, what an experience. I still maintain spamming and flagging should not be allowed freely like it is. Rather if you feel a post is scam or dangerous, it should be reported and only a team delegated to flag should investigate and decide to flag. Flagging is been abused and is unfair and faustrating to many. Happy a rescue team come on board. Am happy she got much more than she deserve.

You can say that again-''what an experience"! Honestly, it almost discouraged me, but I'm glad to have quickly stayed on top of the matter. We all have the power to flag spam comments, but for reasons like what happened to me, not knowing the big fish behind the spam, it is better to report to @spaminator in @steemcleaners and the spam'll be taken care of. Yes, that @yoenelmundo fellow now knows that she could meet with danger on her spamming spree journey. Thanks a lot for your support, dear. I really appreciate it. Keep the steem fire burning!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57158.90
ETH 2411.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28