A SNEAK PEEK AT MY GROUND MOUNT SOLAR ARRAY!!!!

in #solar6 years ago

IMG_0940.jpg

Hi guys, I wanted to show you my last Array, my ground mount. These are ReneSola 260 watt panels, wired in three strings. This gives me 520 watts on each string at a maximum (imp) of 8.53 amps per string, and a open circuit voltage per string of 75.2 volts.

IMG_0924.jpg

These are really nice panels ,big panels thats the only thing I didn't plan was how to lift these panels into place and bolt them down.... it got creative as a one man show!!
The grounding/bonding clamps are also nice in the center of the junction of each four panels, as it eliminates the need for ground wire jumpers between panels..... so nice!
This gives me 1,560 watts on this 24 volt MPPT controller...... one of four MPPT controllers all harvesting separately and talking as one via a cat-5 comm. cable. I did four arrays so I could have the ability to harvest at different times of day/year and spots on my property, following the sun!

IMG_0922.jpg

I do like the mounting bars and this was how I mounted these. I lifted the bottom panel into position and the clamp held the panel and then I torqued them down, and the top panel just dropped into place.
If I ever do this again @silvertop WILL get help ...........

IMG_0923.jpg

I tried to do a clean install, I was taught this as an electrician....... In my second career........... :)
The Midnight solar combiner box is so nice, I am sold on there products!

So there you have it, for the moment...... my last array!

I do so hope this was electrifying @silvertop

Sort:  

Nice #homestead project, very useful for being independent from power grids, saves money too in the long run.
I also hope to upgrade our one panel-battery system with more batteries and solar panels soon.

This has been a passion of mine, thank you. Our next door neighbor is a pastor, and he told the whole church Sunday that I had 20,000 solar panels ..... Everyone just looked at me LOL

This is a great solar project.

I am really very keen to get into solar PV when funds permit.



It has ben a labor of love. I started with just one panel lighting a Christmas tree and I just kept adding on....... 6,3080 watts and four Arrays... :)

Sounds like you will be having a mighty impressive Christmas lights display this year 😊

Congratulations @silvertop! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 900 comments. Your next target is to reach 1000 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @silvertop! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 600 replies. Your next target is to reach 700 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66052.74
ETH 3320.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69