An Android Hen in my Singularity world: A Work in Progress inspired by my real life hen

in #sndbox6 years ago (edited)

A section of my android hen

aug3thumbnail.jpg

A larger portion, as I had to make an odd edit for the thumbnail to work properly on Steemit.
aug3bluehen.jpg

Here is the sketch ready for watercolour study.
aug3sketch.jpg

And a gif of its watercolour layers for fun.

Now how this piece came about is twofold: One simply that I was sketching ideas for my Singularity worlds items, such as posters and art on the walls, when I had the idea to have a painting of a hen on the wall in one of my paintings; I know that is sort of meta, but what can one say?

Secondly, the inspiration came from my very real life which is peopled (if that is the correct term) with animals. I have often spoke of my hens and chicks, though I have not done a post about them in quite awhile. This is due not to the fact that I am not amused by them daily, for I surely am. It is more to do with Summer being my busiest time both with artwork and my other Summer endeavours.

One of my favourite hens is Leto.

I have written of her often, as she is my most broody hen. Here she is in one of her first endeavours to sit on a clutch of eggs. aug3hen.jpg

She had only begun to lay eggs herself when she chose to sit on them. The other hens, however, weren't having it and would sit on her head or squash her down, as they also wanted to use this box to lay their eggs.

It is a well known fact, among we chicken keepers, that you can supply an endless supply of nest boxes and most or all of your hens will decide to use one and only one.

This was my case as well, having 8 hens 6 nesting boxes and this one being their favourite.

When I eventually decided to let Leto (named after the Greek Goddess of Motherhood) try her hand at hatching and raising a clutch, I simply moved her to a smaller chicken house and run I keep for new chicks or ill birds etc. It was empty and so I moved her and a batch of eggs to that spot.

As I had the choice which eggs she would hatch I decided to give her the white eggs which I knew to be from my one Polish hen. And my two roosters are self blue cochin bantams (the same breed as Leto) and I wanted to see what their cross would give me.

Here is a picture of a white polish and a self blue cochin rooster (not mine, but just to show you what I was working with)

So, I moved Leto and a collection of white hybrid Polish/chochin eggs under her and there she sat, happy as a pig in mud, or rather a hen on eggs.

I didn't really bother to write down the date and just let her have at it. She got her food and water everyday when I did the other chickens and she'd often not leave the nest so I'd give her some food in my hand and hold the water close to her. As she had no other hens to bother her, she did her duty well and presumably 21 days later we had a three hatch.

Here they are learning to eat from my finger, as I wanted them to be as tame as Leto herself, who will happily come when I give her my 'chick chick chick' call.

She is a very good mother and is always watching out for them and keeping an eye on them. At the slightest noise or movement she gives her call and off they run, under her. Here there are enjoying their first watermelon, mother happily showing them it's good to eat.

Well, it has been some time since I shared and talked about my hens and the last time I shared Leto and her chicks, in the above videos, they were still quite tiny. Now, however, over 2 months ago, the chicks are growing into little chickens.

Normally, at this stage, the mother would be sort of done with them.

But not Leto.
She not only still protects them, but the little darlings still sleep with and around her.
aug3henchicks1.jpg

They look a crazy quartet each night when Leto hops into her next box and the chicks follow her up.

And rather than each roosting, as chickens usually do, on the roost, Leto and her growing babies keep up the childhood practice of sleeping under her; though they are going to one day outgrow her, as their real mother (The Polish hen) is a full sized bird.

I wonder how long will they continue this practice?

As long as I keep them separate from the other flock will this new flock of mother and babies just continue to act this way? I hope so. It's going to be hilarious to see a little hen telling full grown chickens where to get the food, when to run and hide and to snuggle up under her nice and safe for a good nights sleep.

So, you can see that it's quite normal for animals to feature in my future ideal paintings about a post Singularity world.

And even though I am painting up this android hen as a single stand alone piece, you can bet it will still most likely hang on the wall of one of my larger paintings, adorning the post Singularity world my creatures love to wander around in. It might be like an Easter Egg (pun Intended) for someone to spot it down the road in one of my larger paintings.

For now, I hope you have a great day and can have the joy of an animal in it somehow, even if it is just a sparrow in a tree or your faithful dog. Either way, know that Leto and her three offspring are happily sharing their next box and continuing their family love.
aug3henchicks2.jpg

If you like my work by all means upvote, resteem, and comment. I always appreciate comments.


And check out my other posts.

Sort:  

Android chicken :O! You're certainly artistic to have found inspiration just by looking at your chicken. I love the blue and yellow colours that you use, they're complimentary and striking at the same time. Very nice!

I love blues and yellows and blues and oranges, one of my favourite combos! My hen's colour is called 'self blue' but it's really a true grey, so I took artistic license.

I love how you find the inspiration for your work, and then turn it into these amazing pieces.

Thank you so much @opheliafu. I've been animal obsessed forever so it's hard not to include the little devils in my works :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you again, your work is always appreciated, being a manual voter and commentor, I appreciate the time and energy it takes to do so.

This is awesome, never would I have thought that a 'robotic' chicken would look this cool! I'm really looking forward to what else you will make in the future :)

Thank you so kindly. Well, if you like animals and figures, you'll enjoy my stuff I guess ;)

beautiful painting , i love the colors you choose Donna :)
and your hen are very cute

Thank you. They are so funny, I can watch their antics for hours.

Donna did you get your byteball ?

No I think @soyrosa mentioned something about it to me. I've been too busy to look into how I am meant to get it, unless it was something else she mentioned.

busy Donna :)
i thought you'll find it interesting that why i asked you ,

I do have you got yours? I really need to look into it.

yes i got it Donna , if you want i can tell you what to do , are you in discord ?
some easy steps ,

Its quite a bit of money, and who ever recommends you gets quite a bit of money as well, so choose a friend ;p

Great post! At first I thought you made a robotic android chicken that replicated a hen mother... hahaha

This is fantastic! Our chickens make me smile daily as well. They always want to share a box! I had two sitting at the same time on the same eggs, but they were head to tail! Hilarious!

Android chickens are the next big thing, I will keep my eyes open ;p

so lovely work , <3 and nice pictures, you have lots of fun with them all <3

I so enjoy the creativity of your art. Who would have thought to turn the hen into a mechanical hen? The gears inside are a cool touch. I had no idea you kept chickens. We had close friends of ours who kept chickens and we would get fresh eggs from their hens every week. Unfortunately, they had a badger get into the coop and kill all their hens. This was about a year ago now. They haven't started over yet but say they want to. It was a sad event for them.

I really do hope that you get also augmented eggs from your hen!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66053.97
ETH 3448.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67