A painting and drawing study of a section of my latest Singularity piece

in #art6 years ago (edited)

A bit of my current painting in study form

july29thumbnail.jpg
dogcat4.jpg

I had such fun sharing my last piece in sections. At that stage I shared my last painting with you in sections, I was already into the digital oil stage and was sharing those sections as I finished up the piece.

This time I've decided to share in sections again but in the various stages of sketch/ink/watercolour/oil. And some might recall I already shared a study from this piece last week. But I'll share it again: The sketch and watercolour of the main female figure.
july22thumbnail.jpg
july22watercolour.jpg

Today, however, the bit I am sharing is simply another little spot in this painting.

I often include animals in my work. They have been always important in my real life and so have become studies and subject matter for me over the years. When I started my Singularity pieces, they began to show up as I sketched and imagined the world. This place, peopled by the remnants of hybridzed human machines, are always searching for their meaning and the animals, often their pets, are there to nudge the creatures back towards their humanity. That means often cats and dogs are faithful companions, witness to and sometimes encouragement along the line of discovering the lost humanity.

In my current piece I decided the dog would be a pug. Although I have never owned a pug myself, I have friends who do. They are a funny little breed and there is something funny but also intelligent about them. I can picture one snuffling upon the laps of Queens and find them a perfect lap dog to the creatures of a lost leisured class, as I depict in my works.

Here is is little face started:

july29study1.jpg

And next his body.
july29study2.jpg

Now he has to have a companion so the inquisitive Siamese is there to aid it's master out.
july29study3.jpg

And there are to be butterflies, specifically Monarchs, in this work:
july29study4.jpg

The butterfly has often been the representation for the human mind and soul. And I have used them in another of my Singularity pieces, as a sort of allegory of that lost humanity trying to find it's way back to these hybrid creatures. And when I last used them, the companion dog was helping out, setting them from from his master's skirt.
april5singularitydream.jpg

One can see a theme here developing.

And that was sort of both unintentional and then more planned. What I love about art and creating it is the story one can get lost in. I suppose, for me, my making art is about expressing these stories that come to me, triggered by random things such as power outages or getting lost in other's artist's worlds. And once they begin for me, I cannot help but want to venture into them and discover them.

I often feel that making art is being a sort of time traveler or inter-dimensional archaeologist;

searching out lost or yet to be created worlds and brushing off the cobwebs and dust to see what it was or will be all about.

I'll close here with a gif of the layers of the bit I shared today.

I hope your day is filled with tales either imagined or read to you. There is nothing like a good fable or fairy story to make one's day better. And if none are available, then just dream one up!

If you like my work by all means upvote, resteem, and comment. I always appreciate comments.


And check out my other posts.

Sort:  

it looks so cool <3
i love that puppy so much, and he looks so sad too D:
i want to hug it so much
btw, great use of the symbolism ^^ there is a lot one can learn from it

OH, I love using symbolism, like easter eggs of old.

Discussed this work on "Twirble Tuesdays today on #artzone; even linked to your thread about the R.A.R.E auctions as well. Such exciting times!!!

Oh thank you so much! I know, I'm really excited about the changing digital environment and there are so many opportunities for we artists I believe.

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

I love that doggo's face, he certainly is full of characters! I like your sketch lines a lot, Donna :).

-upvoted-

Thanks, I like a bit of scribble :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you so much I love manual curation you guys do a fabulous job!

love these sketches, donna ! the pug? looks so at ease with his siamese friend, and the lady is amazing <3 i love that hair so much ! very wonderful !

i also like the doggo in the other pic, the one that is tugging at the dress XD so cute !

your works are very wondrous, as usual <3

Thanks a lot. The dog pulling on the dress was my first completed Singularity piece! :) It sort of started this road I've gone down into this world.

the animated gif with the dog, cat, and the touch of butterflies looks cool.

upvoted and now following

muy buen arte te felicito

Love the singularity series, so creative and colorful!

Thank you, I'm having fun with it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94