A video piece I made years ago: Does it show the fluidity of time?

in #art6 years ago (edited)

I happened upon an old video art piece I made years ago. And it was long enough ago that I had to use a camera that had cassetes with tape in it. It was digital in a sense but had to be transferred to my computer in a very old school way.

The music, if you can call it that, was also made by me. I used an old programme Sound Forge with various samples. I also sampled one of my favourite Marelene Dietrich songs.

I remember shooting this video, using my friend in some of my old Victorian clothes and parasol.

It was shot in a field by our cottage on the cape as well as the beaches.

The 'cartoonish' bits were hand drawn over each cell by me on the computer. Everything took so much more time back then. But, I was simply doing it for myself for fun. Which, quite honestly, has always been the impetus for my artwork: to amuse myself and have fun or express something inside.

What struck me about this video was I could see some of my Singularity pieces in it, yet it happend over 18 years ago.

Perhaps the fluidity of time is prevalent here. Or that time is simply one constant moment and we are living it all in one second but we can access it's various parts like jars on a shelf or journals in a case, leafing through time like old diary entries.

It could also be that we simply see what we wish to see. And in this funny old amateur art video I see one of my Singularity ladies, strolling about her barren unpeopled landscape, left to Nature to take it over, but she has dreams of a different time, memories that are not quite her own of a troubled but electric time when human and machine were not one.

Who can say? Really it is just a silly old art video I made years ago and had fun doing. It took me probably a month with all the various things I had to do to it and by today's standards it is pretty weak. However, I thought I'd like to share it with you, as it amused me and I hoped it would do so with you. Even if just for the poor quality of film, amateur composition of music and overtly 'artistic' license in representation of the human experience.

Here, then, I give you : "Marlene's Dream"

If you like my work by all means upvote, resteem, and comment. I always appreciate comments.


And check out my other posts, including my latest Singularity painting.


Copyright @donnadavisart - All Rights Reserved

asteemitfooter.jpg

Sort:  

Absolutely extraordinary. I can see, that you put a lot of work into this production, but like you say.. its often just about the joy of doing it. Bravo!!

Thank you so much, it really was a labour of love, if not a bit indulgent, But what are we artists if not indulgent, right?

Wow it is certainly looks like a dream, Donna. Very trippy and surrealistic, can I say that some parts are also rather nightmarish? I feel that something bad might happen to the lady, it might be because of the music getting faster and faster.

I wouldn't be surprised if you said it's part of a movie clip, you should be very proud of yourself that you can create this video ^_^.

-upvoted-

Thank you. I'd love to shoot it again with modern tools and a bit more nod to my Singularity idea, but I thought it'd be fun to share this old piece.

That was weirdly awesome! First thought I had was: What do those Victorian clothes smell like?

I loved the cartoony sketch of the lady in the boots, that was really cool.

I love that you wondered of the smell. See, I'd have not seen that one coming. I love what others see and think when viewing the same thing. Now they most like smell likemothballs, as they have been stored away in the attics of my cottage for years.

ah mothballs, damnit! AHHAA I was hoping for some ancient parfum or something heheee...

Yes, there are thing that follow us for a life, they are born in a moment we even didn't notice and with time they grow, change, and became mature until the pop out in their full strength @donnadavisart. And this is some interesting work and it shows only how great artist you are!

Oh thank you, and it's true, for me anyway, that often time seems elastic. Although this piece is a bit funny its archaic media and a bit heavy handed in it's theme, it was fun to make and it's funny how it seems that our artistic themes have often been there, under the surface, waiting to be connected or realized.

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65814.16
ETH 3444.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64