A Painting in Bold: Singularity Disco

in #artzone6 years ago

This painting has been a sort of colour shock to cleanse my recent palette.

july26painting.jpg

I have been using more black and deeper tones in my recent Singularity works. I am happy with this move, but prior to this my palette had been much more saturated sometimes pure colour. This brighter palette still resides in me and I try and use it in my larger new pieces with subtle applications.

The move to a more subdued or subtle palette was an organic happening,

I basically have found myself in this world of post Singularity becoming the portrait painter for the beings left behind. I find myself feeling as if I am an unobserved observer catching moments of these creatures, in their 18th or 19th century finery, going about their day, wondering who or what they are.

Sometimes I consider this world and these creatures, caught betwixt humanity and machine, having a different concept of Time. Being, in essence, immortal in a way, I picture their vignettes frozen for what would be days to us. And I imagine myself, with easel and brush, slipping into a broken window in an old manse and finding their antics only frozen for days.

Computing and contemplating they might be held in almost statuesque stance for days.

And I imagine such a time as a subject of a portrait 'sitting' for their work to be done, but in a way unaware of my being there.

It is a fancy of mine and certainly the whimsical day dreamer sort of life an artist is allowed.

If a business man was sat down dreaming up scenarios for his portfolio I'm sure his clients and the market would not be amused.

But, I digress...

This piece I simply called "Disco Singularity" because I started creating a green and purple tinted ground to make simply a head study. When I decided on my usual love of ginger hair, the colours became so electric I went with it. I used to sort of use Monet's rule of no black, but now find it's depth almost magical. And surely this piece does have some black in, but the glow and shine of it was what I was working on. Hence: Disco.

I suppose as an artist one should attempt a very specific style, but I am not sure if I have done so.

I find I paint as I find; that is to say, when I sit down to make a piece, after studies and sketches, I often let the piece sort of take me on a ride. As I often say "story" is pretty important to me and sometimes the stories are different, as was the case with this Disco Diva.

However, I still imagined myself coming away from a darkened room, as was in my last Singularity painting, "the cage" slipping quietly unheard into another room whose walls were reverberating with an odd pouding disco beat. Upon opening the door, my view was flooded with stobe lights and flashing colours. In the center of the ballroom, quite bathed in light, was this creature.

Frozen in the many day contemplation of the immortal, she shone like a beacon.

And I set about capturing her, a very different mood from the place I had just left. Both creatures dwelling in the same world but in a sense, worlds apart.

The continuation of my series, which is becoming a sort of painted novel, continues. Who can say where it leads or how many 'chapters' there might be? Thank you for indulging me and coming along for the ride.

I hope your day is filled with story. And that you take a moment in your day to sit and imagine that world that sits right next to ours, unseen, easily viewed with a shift of perception.

If you like my work by all means upvote, resteem, and comment. I always appreciate comments.


And check out my other posts.

Sort:  

The colour palette, it's very unconventional and bold, and makes the picture fresh and exciting. Nice job, Donna, I like it :).

You inspire me to try with unconventional colour combinations too... thank you for being inspirational ^^.

-upvoted-

Thanks, I love to play with colour and this seems to be still bold and bright and then now also mellow with blacks. It's all in experimentation. Half the fun of art is experimenting I think.

Hello @donnadavisart, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Wonderful and thank you. I am all about art on the blockchain let's do cross paths again!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you so much for doing that. I love that you do manual curation, it really is the backbone of keeping steemit 'real'.

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

beautiful work ! , it reminded me of a friend of mine , <3
i love that you have your own style in digital painting , even no need to have a signature , you are wonderful

Thank you, that's so nice. Sometimes I feel like I'm all over the place in style, but maybe an outside eye helps to make me feel I am more honed in then I think :)

Hey Donna! I included you in my weekly curation Ocean of Art!

Thank you so much @juliakponsford, you are so good at corralling us all together :)

Amazing. Really like the picture!
love the colors and the details, very well done

Thank you so much.

Please dont take it personal, i have no ideea about art, but what type of art its this? I have no ideea why, but it scares me a bit, looks like gothic a bit.

I believe also i could be totaly wrong and no clue what im talking about :)

Can you explain me please?

Well, if you mean how did I make it, it was done digitally after some real life sketches I made. If you mean what 'style' I'd say it is reminiscent of both the Fauvist as well as the 19th century Portrait painters, somewhere in between those two 'styles'.

I'm not sure I'd call it Gothic. Some of it is a bit more 'steem punk' but I'd almost call this one more 'cyber punk' just because of the colour and style.

I am glad she scared you :) I love when my work makes someone feel anything, and fear or shock is just as good as smiles and laughs, sometimes anyway.

wow, very interesting artwork so far :D
my favorite is the first one ^^
i love the idea and the colors used in it

The art is very unique, but it is your philosophical ramblings that have drawn me in! Considering post singularity is now in my head, and that these android beings will consider a portrait is now obvious to me, but who will be left to draw them?!

Fascinating, and shows how art and philosophy go hand in hand.

You are too kind to call my ramblings (which indeed they are) Philosophical. Far better a moniker then I think they deserve, but kindly felt for sure.

In my world I'm a sort of time bending artist. I can fold back the space time continuum like a curtain or drape and peer into their world, but they rarely take any notice of me, being in my shabby old clothes of the 21st century ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66053.97
ETH 3448.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67