Celebrating 500 Followers! Reflections on Life and Steem

in #steemit7 years ago

It's taken me a few months, but I'm happy to have reached this milestone through your support!

Audience, Crowd, Event, Cheer, Cheering, Concert, Live


I am incredibly grateful to have found this platform. I honestly don't know where I would be without Steemit, as hyperbolic as that may sound. I certainly wouldn't have invested in Steem, Bitshares, or Ripple prior to their respective pumps, which I thank fellow Steem poster @lukestokes for directing me towards.

One year ago today, I had just started a job that I immediately knew was a poor fit. It was a residential mental health job, but there were barely any clients or staff. Most of my days were spent alone in a basement office, with only my mind and the internet to keep me sane (or insane).

It was certainly a low point, but it turned out to be the thing that I needed to push me towards the things I'm most passionate about, such as producing live events, gardening, and generally creating content to share with the world.

Pondering quitting my job inadvertently introduced me to Steemit

(That's my first account, and why it took longer to get 500 followers)
Disappointed, Man, Sad, Boy, Emotions, Depressed, Male


Working at a job that ended up being a total dud motivated me to seek options. I began researching what it was like to do rideshare, as I saw this as a realistic source of income to provide a bridge to my next true step. The idea that I could drive for Lyft meant that I wasn't totally stepping into the abyss without a paddle.

And that's when I stumbled upon this post.

I was floored. First of all, this guy wrote a post about quitting his job and doing Lyft, and was having a fantastic time doing so. Secondly, I thought...what is this steemit thing? Holy shit, this guy just made over $300 talking about quitting his job and doing Lyft...maybe I need to look into this platform."

I did, and here I am today, grateful as hell for the last year of my life, and more excited than ever for what the future holds.


I honestly can say finding this platform has been a godsend to my productivity level, as well as my overall outlook on my life. I ended up quitting that job a few months after that initial post, and I haven't regretted a thing since.

I am now a professional gardener, and I get to work in inspiring environments on a daily basis during the season. I am also a free-lance blog writer for a few companies in the Denver area, something I would have never pursued had Steemit not motivated me to pick up this whole writing thing again.

My relationship with my partner is stronger than ever, and we both currently make our own schedules and work from home. It has been a true blessing to have the chance to grow together over the last year, as we've both set out on our own path towards what brings us joy and passion. And oh yeah...we're engaged!

I am currently working on a few creative projects that I'm absolutely stoked to share with the Steemit community in the new year. Additionally, I am going to be producing a monthly event in Denver to showcase music, comedy, and other forms of art. I've learned that Denver is a bit of a hub in terms of cryptocurrency/blockchain companies, and I want to find a way to promote the space through these creative pursuits.

None of these things would be happening had I not stumbled upon Steemit nearly one year ago. It is not an exaggeration to say that Steemit has permanently altered my life trajectory for the better, and am humbled and grateful to you all!


All uncredited pictures from the pixabay.com

If you received value from this post, please upvote, follow, and resteem!


My latest Posts

Classic Hits

Sort:  

Congrats man. BTW, it's already 505 xD!
Keep up the good work.
Cheers

Online business takes time , but if a person worked hard and never lose hope , so one day they will get a reward for his hard work <3
I read your posts and appreciate you <3 its give me some time lots of motivation thanks and keep sharing
@sibtainali

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59893.00
ETH 2414.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43