Keep Steeming! Awooo Awooo (300, King Leonidas Illustration plus step by step process)

in #slothicorn6 years ago

What's up guys? It's been a while since I've posted some art related content or digital illustrations on my blog post. Because lately, I'm really hook into graphic designing and actively contributing to @utopian-io which I really wanted to. And right now, all of my hard work are getting paid off.

I still remember the first two contributions I submitted to utopian, where my contributions are submissions where disregarded and didn't get a reward, due to wrong formats, and multiple flaws of the design I'm making. But I just wanna share my experience and journey being a @utopian-io contributor. Even my contributions were not accepted and approved, I still continue to work and try my best to contribute, until such time that I was able to join the @utopian-io discord server. At first I'm really shy to ask questions from the members of utopian particularly on the graphic channel. Because I have this mindset that people there are composed of professionals and have lots of experience than me, and I'm still a student, which made me feel like kinda intimidated. To make the story short, I took away my shyness, thinking they are not seeing me in person anyways, haha. And I decided to ask some questions like, "how to this?", "how to do that?", "what should I do to get rewarded?", questions like that.

I really found a place in this community which is out of my expectation. I always thought that, people would just ignore me and my annoying questions, since I am a newbie contributor. But I was wrong, people outthere are quite nice, they will answer your questions and will give feedback to your works for it to be better, and will give compliment and appreciate your work.

And finally after a few tries, I saw this cool project, and I was able to join and contribute to a project by @wearecodex which is avatar generator for Orcas and finally get a reward from @utopian-io, and I jumped out of joy getting my first upvote from @utopian-io. This may be a very simple and little to some but this means so much to me and a self fulfilling achievement. This will serve a little step on my journey not just an @utopian-io contributor but as a graphic designer, and I want to thank @podanrj @dimensco @fabiyamada for being approachable and kind on answering my questions and concerns.

I'm not sharing these little achievements to bragg or something. But I just want to inspire everybody to keep on doing thing they love. Whatever it is, in anything you do, work for it! Earn it!. It may be unsignificant and nothing to others but if you really love and had great passion with your craft, someday your works will prove them that they're all wrong for thinking small of you. Just be patient, good thing may not be guaranteed all the time, but surely in the end all of your hardwork will pay off.

I think talking too much, and maybe some came here to my artwork so here it is, hope you like it.


Leonidas FINAL.jpg

I also made one with a text



Leonidas FINAL (STEEMIT VERSION).jpg

About my Artwork

Just to give you a throwback, this is King Leonidas of Sparta. This movie is great hit, and very Iconic. And this is one of my all time favorite. I was in my 4th grade when this movie had been released and this movie is really sick and epic for that time. Here's a little bit of story back ground of the movie.

300 tells the story of the Battle of Thermopylae in 480 B.C. Persians under the rule of King Xerxes have already taken over some of the Hellenic city-states, and now threaten Sparta and Athens. King Leonidas of Sparta is left with two options: he will either have to sacrifice himself for the well-being of Sparta or watch it burn to the ground. Choosing the former, Leonidas forms an army of 300 Spartan warriors to block the narrow passage of Thermopylae where Xerxes intends to reach Hellas. The 300 are accompanied by about 700 Thespians who protect the flanks of the passage, and combined, the forces manage to slay tens of thousands of Persians and prevent their entry into Hellas for several days. However, Ephialtes, a reject of the Spartan Army gets his revenge by showing Xerxes a secret goat passage up the flanks of the passage. The story depicts the epic last stand of the finest Spartan soldiers who are aware of their fate, but motivated by "honor and glory", see the battle as their duty to protect the rest of Greece for as long as possible.
Source
—Ryan Sharif

I've made this illustration because for King Leonidas, because for me serves as a inspiration to everybody. He symbolizes great bravery, perseverance, and most especially, he embodies great courage, that despite of obstacles that may come, he is always ready to fight without holding back, just like how he fought thousands of foe with his 300 men, which is really epic. I hope this will all inspire us especially right now, Steem and SBD are down. I this illustrations will encourage us to continue creating quality posts and never loos our hope, we may not know, Steem will go up like a rocket in the future months a ahead. So let's continue Steeming! Awwwooo! Awwwoooo!

So here's the process I've made to share with you

So I first start with the outline

1.png
2.png
3.png
4.png

Maybe some of you, wonders how I'm doing this, to give you an idea, first I search for reference and import it on adobe illustrator, then I use pen tool to trace the outline and dark areas. Then you can start adding shadows. To give you an idea check this out.

You don't need to be that accurate in locating the shadows at least close to it.

18.png
15.png
16.png
17.png

Hiding the reference layer.

5.png

then next is adding shadows.

19.png
6.png
7.png
8.png

Next is another level of shadow

13.png

Slowly but surely
20.png
22.png

Then this one
23.png

Another one here
24.png

25.png

And next is the base color

26.png
27.png

And his red cape

28.png

And lastly his bracers

29.png

Then I made a gradient just use the gradient tool on the left corner on the tools
30.png

Lastly I've imported my work on Adobe Photoshop to add some elements and textures to have some effect and feels on it.

31.png

And its done!

Thank you guys for checking my work, have a nice day ahead!

And you can also check this awesome bloggers ✍

@mikaelasinsuat4
@dandalion
@qyugmo
@ishanvirtue
@ediah
@jgonzalez2134
@looserwin
@kennik

Please do support

@slothicorn
@sndbox
@surpassinggoogle
@anomadsoul
@steemgigs
@steemph
@stateofthearts
@steemitachievers
@steemitfamilyph
@artzone
DQmU6EHRF2Pj2uHqT9hQtTHPVgmyBWgKoNeoPGWNB7Zo7Pj_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Wow! I had no idea you had been in so much trouble to get a contribution approved :o but I am really glad we could help you n.n you can ask in wearecodex server anytime! :D

yeah, during my first contribution, luckily I'm starting getting used to the things on utopian. thank you so much @fabiyamada

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

really cool art as always @jeeuuzz. Congrats on being a contributor. 😊

thanks bro, appreciate it much. finally hehe

I am practicing in editing as usual so I can make a living out of it 😊. You're an inspiration for me bro, your art makes me think I can do better.

This is Sparta HAHAHAH very nice master jeeuuzz

thank you so much master Ishan XD , ahooo ahoooo

Congratulations @jeeuuzz! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 22 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 9 SBD worth and should receive 73 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Very good illustration friend, You're a great artisti :D
Nice to meet u I'm Winiferd ad I'm from Venezuela.
I saw your article of the toads, I was crazy hahah
Here that's very weird and it's horrible for me to have to touch them hahaha
but it is very interesting that on the other side of the world they eat them.
but hey, just go to say hello. Here you have a new follower <3

Wow, thank you! Nice to meet you too. Toads taste good you must try them sometime! XD thanks for following, I do really appreciate it. Send my love and regard to Venezuela!

Congratulations @jeeuuzz! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @jeeuuzz! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64572.94
ETH 2630.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82