Today's Cafe Drawing inspired by my Witch and Fat Cat theme

in #slothicorn6 years ago (edited)

A study in black and grey featuring my witch and her fat cat, though coffee sharing is not on the list for our witch today.

march26witchcoffeethumbnail.jpg

And here is the entire piece (always having to crop for Steemits arbitrary horizontal crop).
march26witchcoffee.jpg

I often include animals in my cafe drawing but after my five minute free write I was inspired to do a graphic version of my witch and her fat familiar.I really wanted today's drawing to have that same graphic quality so I used simply black and grey to express it. I like doing this 'find the black' as the comic book artists call it.

I start with a sketch and then basically make two layers one black one grey and create shapes the represent the shadow and make it either dark or mid tone then erase all other lines so I have the light tones the white of the page.

This character of the witch and her fat familiar came to me during my five minute free write and keeps wanting to be created so I had to oblige. I pictured her in a cafe scenario in which having got her morning latte she thought, I'd love a bath in this coffee, I need it so bad. And after going to the trouble of shrinking herself down, is only foiled by her fat cat familiar wanting a warm set on the mouth of the lid.

feb25seedlingdivider.jpg

The cafe today was my own living room.

I am rearing to get out to my veg garden today as I want to redo everything. I need to take down an old little chicken house and am going to be moving my quail and chickens to this garden. So fencing needs to be done, a run planned. I am moving beds eventually and making a second water feature. Let's just say I have a lot of plans. So, I didn't want to take time to go to the cafe, so I am having my coffee at cafe Toad Hall and relishing my windowsills full of my seedlings.

Here you can see my coffee amidst my newly potted on cukes, melons, and tomato in there as well. I started these from seed and they finally outgrew their seed bed so now are potted to the next size up waiting until warm Summer to go in the ground.
march26coffee.jpg

You can still see snow out the window and yes we still have some. Today is very windy so not sure how much I'll get done out there.

I hope all have had their morning coffee and are looking forward to the day.


If you like my work please upvote, resteem and by all means comment, I love comments!


Check out my other posts:


asteemitfooter.jpg

My bitcoin wallet as per the @slothicorn request to provide it with your artwork.

Copyright @donnadavisart - All Rights Reserved

Sort:  

You have received an upvote from @slothicorn! Neigh neigh. We are a big fan of your work!

thank you again

Striking, fun design. That cat,lol!

You have to love the fat cat!

I forecast the witch swimming in her cup of coffee while the fat cat is pouring some sugar in it! ^^
Incredibly creative you are (Yes, today I speak like Yoda)

Well thank you Yoda, Appreciate the comment very much I do ;)

OK, I'm really digging what you're putting out there these days. You got this cat thing I just love. I love coffee. I love two and three tone graphics. nice style. love it.

I love that your home is named Toad Hall!!! Frogs and toads are wonderful to have a round, the music they make! We have a creek by our house and it is full of peepers.
Love your drawing as usual, thanks for brightening my day

It's named after the house in the wind and the willows, though it isn't anything as grand as that :)

I'm so glad you liked my drawing and that it could brighten your day. I like a bit of humour in my stuff so glad when it touched people that way.

You art is great and beautiful Donna ! ^_^ And OhMyGoodness...The view from your livingroom !!! Are you really living so closed by the water ?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61420.98
ETH 3276.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47