Today's Cafe Drawing at Home: Waiting for the coming Storm

in #slothicorn6 years ago (edited)

An imagined moment between one of my Lavendar Cochin Hens and Monty's favourite Quail

march21cafedraw.jpg

Today we are waiting for our next coming nor'easter. The new generator is in place, water jugs are filled, candles are ready, lamps filled and now we wait. Since I couldn't go to a cafe today for two-fold reason, one being the coming storm , the other being my car is already in the shop; long story far too boring.

Thus, I am drinking my coffee (tea right now) today at "Cafe Studio". Tucked away in my studio at the end of the house enjoying the hot tea amongst my cluttered drawing desk.

march21coffee.jpg

I have my mother's blue willow pattern so I collect it myself.

The old standard of the blue willow pattern has been around since the 18th century. And since I have been enjoying my big mug of tea in it, I had to imagine my 'cafe guests' using it as well. In my scenario, however, we have a ruddy upset Leto the Hen wondering how on earth is she meant to have a cuppa with ole Flouncy the quail taking up all the room?

I can even imagine Leto more angry that the mug might contain some eggs for her to sit upon, as she is my broody hen and is always willing to sit upon anything remotely egg shaped IN anything remotely nest shaped.

Here is the real Leto puffing up her feathers to protect her eggs.

jan15hen2.jpg

Here is the very rough sketch of the pair

march21sketch.jpg

She is a feisty little thing, but she never actually pecks me when I go to take her eggs. She just puffs and sqwaks. In fact that is one of the reasons I decided to have Cochin Bantams this year.

I have always loved Cochin chickens because they are so gentle.

So, having the diminutive form of this breed, with their funny little feathered feet and round little bodies just seemed like the right choice. They are so gentle that have two roos, brothers hatched by me (well the incubator I have not yet figured out how to sit upon eggs and hatch them myself)who are the best of friends.

I have never had roos get along before so well. These two really share their duties of presenting treats to the hens. They also do their husbandly duties as well, as every egg I break is fertilized, even our full sized polish hen must be having her romantic times with them. I might save up some of her eggs one day to hatch the cross of the two to see what we get. Only the colour of the hens (lavender or self blue) only affects dark colouring in birds so they would probably all be white but if I breed them back to a blue bird their offspring would produce blue cochin/polish cross. I love genetics but I digress...this is a post about a drawing.

Well, there you have it. Today's waiting for the storm pen/watercolour/pastel drawing of some imagined cafe friends. Meanwhile in my actual studio I have Monty and Puss and a tank full of fish who are actually sharing my space with me. Is it any wonder animals are almost always in my artwork?

Happy first day of Spring.

I hope yours is better than mine weather wise. I'm watching snow fall but dreaming of all the seedlings I have growing on my window sills being able to go live outside in the warm sunshine in a month or so. Until then, I'll just think of warm days to come.


If you like my work please upvote, resteem and by all means comment, I love comments!


Check out my other posts:


asteemitfooter.jpg

Sort:  

Another one @donnadavisart? Well, hope it's last..Here is also snowing, but there are some announcements for better weather next week.
Hope this storm will be mild one and that you won't feel it :)
Love your porcelain cup :)

Thank you. I love to paint porcelain and this pattern is one of my fav's I've used in my pieces many times.

Very uplifting artwork, I love it!

Your coffee cup is to die for as well, I love those patterns!!

Thank you @lyndsaybowes. My mother collected and her mother, so it's in my blood, that blue pattern :) I've used it many times in art motifs, it's in my veins :)

👍🏻❤️

I hope two squares and a heart means you like it? :)

ahahah yes, of course yes! :) there should be a sign like that :) like a thumb up :)) so I see it! :))

I figured, but I'm on my PC and it probably can't see the phone emoji symbols I was mostly kidding. :)

This could have been the perfect COCK!!!
Leto is fat, how do you feed him?

You have been upvoted by a @slothicorn. Neigh neigh.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59796.03
ETH 2732.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52