My Painting for ART EXPLOSION WEEK 33: Theme SURREAL

in #artexplosion6 years ago (edited)

My Witch and her Fat cat up to no good transmogrifying into fishy business.

march25surrealcontestTHUMBNAIL.jpg

Here is the entire image (still pre cropping for thumbnail as Steemit never crops the way I would like):
march25surrealcontest.jpg

Here is the preliminary but tightened sketch I worked from:
march25surrealcontestsketch.jpg

And a gif of the layers:

We've had another crazy week with threats of storms and the need to do some upkeep at my Cape Cottage but I feel I have not entered a contest lately. I have been working on this here and there all week (since seeing @juliakponsford latest theme: Surreal) I have been also working on my other piece of my SIngularity bot and the dog.

I'm just getting this in under the wire, with only hours to go until the deadline!

Yet, I really liked the way it worked out. It was basically a play upon my witch and the fat cat that I did as a 5 minute freewrite one day. I am usually carrying around all these characters with me all the time anyway, so when I manifest them onto the page, it's as if they keep nagging at me to bring them into being.

I just liked the idea of the witch's fat familiar getting into the koi pond and her idea of saving those that didn't make it into Puss's tum was to shapeshift into a ethereal fish/mermaid/spirit.

I mean, if you are going to do a thing, like save your koi from your familiar, you might as well do it up in style.

It is a bit late to join in this contest, but here it is none the less, so you can check out all the other entries

I heartily thank @juliakponsford for her wonderful work in our artists community here on Steemit and her contests were part of my reason to want to do so many this year.


If you like my work please upvote, resteem and by all means comment, I love comments!


Check out my other posts:


My bitcoin wallet as per the @slothicorn request to provide it with your artwork.

asteemitfooter.jpg

Sort:  

:D Fat cat! I really like this one.

Thank you. I love fat cats!

Thank you so much @slothicorn and I remembered to put my crypto wallet and the copyright text at the bottom.

You have a wonderful style with your digital work.

Thank you so much. I try to approach it the way I do my IRL oils :)

LOVE the artwork, but this line just cracked me up:
"I mean, if you are going to do a thing, like save your koi from your familiar, you might as well do it up in style."
Indeed!

I'm glad you liked it :)

So beautiful! I love surreal paintings and this is really a nice piece (I love that fat cat ^_^ )

Thank you so much, she is becoming a recurring theme :)

I love this one @donnadavisart, she is so beautiful in her difference but cat :) My God hahaha, cat is the star of the show :)

I love surrealism, great entry! For me it's so fascinating to see all the layers of a painting 'to be' and how they in the end come together.

I love the animated gif just for that purpose :)

Another beautiful piece! Love the orange and green color combination 😵

It's one of my faves. Orange and teal/blue green.

Mine too. Can we chat somewhere? I.e. https://steemit.chat? Will be back tomorrow :-)

I am just seeing this. Let me see if this 'chat' can work for me and my computer savy, not always the best with tech

I followed the chat link, but didn't really know what to do next?

If I remember correctly, you have to create a profile/sign up. Most users take their steemit user name, so one can find each other easily...

Donna, this is such an amazingly beautiful piece. The drawing and then the colouring of your fish/mermaid/spirit is superb. The jade blues and orange really sing together. I hope she gets all the recognition she truly deserves in artexplosion. 🦋

Thank you so kindly.

This is so cool, I love the concept!

Thank you so much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65353.50
ETH 3202.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61