Altering a sketch for my current Painting.

in #art6 years ago (edited)

I've added a feisty dog, some butterflies and changed the dress of my robo figure in my latest painting.

march20thumbnail.jpg

Here is the sketch fully represented.
march20robosketch.jpg

I have been working on this painting from this sketch and have in fact already begun painting in background and some detail, but as can sometimes happens, while working on the piece I felt it needed more. Or in some cases, as I did here, the story began to change.

When I first sketched this idea for the painting there were no butterflies. I then saw the tree branch in my original piece as almost a representation of the robo humanoid figure's thoughts or desires.

I decided then to add the butterflies. They often being associated with the human soul and thus fitting for my idea behind the story of this figure.

Here it was before I changed her dress and added the dog.
march17robotsketch1.jpg

Even though this is the sketch stage and I am already painting it out in digital oil, the good thing about digital art is it allows the growth of a piece to continue to happen and 'painting in' more details becomes easier. And, as I would do if painting on canvas in real life, I like to sketch out any changes first to get the idea of composition and I'll next do some watercolour study of this to try out dogs colour and the new more Victorian skirt I've made for the figure.

As I was sketching I realized I also wanted more butterflies to come out of the dress where the dog is tugging on it.

I love using animals in my art.

And I know that the butterflies are indeed animals added in, but somehow I wanted "man's best friend" to play a part in this scenario. As I have been playing with this imagined idea of a future time of the Singularity when human machined hybrids exist, the idea of their looking towards their humanity more as they loose it to the machine is just been upper most in my thoughts lately. Really it began when I did a painting for a contest a while back here on Steemit. I enjoyed it immensely and then when we had one of our last two storms with no power, the idea just kept growing.

Another nor'easter is blowing in, so we might not have power again.

So even more so is this story line uppermost in my thoughts. This time, however, I have been out and got a new generator, more lamps and stocked up on water bottles for toilet flushing and also drinking. I am prepared. That, however, has left less time today to art, but I did find the time to do what I am sharing with you today. It is very important to me that I draw something each day, and this seemed the appropriate use of that drawing time.

I hope all are well and if any of you are unlucky enough to be in New England, I hope you are getting prepared for our next storm.


If you like my work please upvote, resteem and by all means comment, I love comments!


Check out my other posts:


asteemitfooter.jpg

Sort:  

I really like the concept of your drawing - bringing so many different aspects together, such as steampunky ancient dress robo lady mixed with surreal butterflies out of her head and this lovely dog with his real life dog behaviour :)

i love it Donna ! its so cool and you have nice imaginations

Thank you @adelepazani We artists do have a good time dreaming up things don't we? :)

You are so good and detailed at sketching! I wish I had the time to do so.
By the way, I posted a water color that was inspired by you, check it out if you have some time =)

By me? I'll check it out.

Cool sketches :) Do you start with pencil and ink over? Or just straight drawing?

Pencil then ink, then watercolour for study and finally oil or oil pastel. I work mainly digital now so it's nice to maintain some of my original line of sketch under an ink layer and simply closing the layer after inking rather than erasing as I used to do IRL.

You have been upvoted by @slothicorn. Thanks for your contribution. Outstanding work. You have also been resteemed! Thank you!

Oh, heavens, what an honour, thank you so kindly.

I Like This Post. That's Very Amazing!

Wow Aamazing Painting,,,,,,,i love it

Beautiful sketch! I like your idea about the Victorian skirt as I'm a great admirer of that period in fashion. ;)

Yes, I too am obsessed with Victoriana, and in this storyline I've created for myself I keep invisioning these future 'people' longing for an idealized human past.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59026.89
ETH 2655.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50