Robot Drawing of an icy Singularity

in #slothicorn6 years ago (edited)

If you want to make God laugh, make a plan

This has always been a saying I have carried with me like a saved fortune cookie slip folded with warning into my wallet. It has always stayed with me as it often bodes true. When you think you know what you doing, you don't. When you think you've got it figured out, you aint.

We lost power for the second time a few days ago. This time, however, we were without our beloved old (and loud) generator. What a difference it made not having it.

We go along with our modern trappings living a luxury we take for granted in electricity, heat, fresh food, running water, and internet...when it is gone in one moment we are left to only look inside ourselves.

There is a bit of catharsis in an experience such as this. When the basic luxuries and staples are striped away you are left viewing your path of chosen life and it's choices dead in the face. They can't be set aside or ignored whilst you watch another cat video or watch the falling freezing snow and rain on the cold icy sea in your shirt sleeves in the over warmth of your heated house. Even the ease of toilet flushing reduced to trudging down an icy stone path to a snow strewn beach to scoop cold sea water into Home Depot buckets to flush your toilet. How simply the divide between 19th and 21st century is closed with the snap of a power line and the piling of cold snow around an old house meant to be enjoyed for three hot months a year.

My obsession with androids and the Singularity keep arising during our power outages

march18robotthumbnail.jpg

Whilst freezing and hundling organic blobs in our drafty old house I imagine myself or even a faithful robotic servant out there amongst the cold, impervious to it. And this latest contemplation of our own sudden thrust into 19th century life of candles and oil lamps, no flush toilets or running water, toasting hands over open fires, just sort of keeps immerging into this future of impervious beings aching for an odd human antiquity.

march18robot.jpg

Rather than cold steel worlds of flying cars and post apocalyptic scenes I keep picturing the composite human/android clearly searching for a moment of beauty and delicacy.

This piece was sketched during the storm. Today I outlined and added colour. The cool icy branches mean little to the singularity me...I am my own generator...I am my own power source.

Maybe having our detritius of modernity occasionally stripped from us is a good thing.

It makes mental paths clear and open to view what is of import: friends, family, joy, happiness where and when we can find it. And in all the struggle Art has always been there for me, a way to distract from pain, work through toil, and imagine yourself out of a bad moment.

Well, in my case in my scribbles I keep making these androids. These robo women caught in a web of past and present. I shall have to follow this path and see where it leads. I currently have another robo piece that I had shared during last power outage that is currently reworked and I am working on it in digital oils. I'll share more of that later.

Here is today's piece before colouring.

march18robotsketch.jpg


If you like my work please upvote, resteem and by all means comment, I love comments!


Check out my other posts:


asteemitfooter.jpg

Sort:  

I am my own generator...I am my own power source.
love this and am so impressed that during power outages, you are sketching!!

I seem to increasingly find that Art is often my safety net, my beacon to sanity in tough situations :) I mean when I think about it , even in Summer when having beach fires at the end of a long day I'd doodling in the sand.

I enjoy your point-of-view, and especially like the pooch in a cup on a poodle.

Thank you, that was one of my fun 'cafe drawings' I call them. Usually dreamt up whilst at the cafe often including animals and at least one cuppa :)

WOW! This one is now on my top 5 favorite of yours. And the explanation and thoughts which brought you to doing this piece deeply resonate with me. So beautifully written, Donna.

Robo women caught in the web of past and present.

I almost selfishly want to thank Mother Nature for these power outages you keep having! 😉

Heavens, Dear Mother Nature, I promise I will keep painting robots do NOT send any more power outages and blizzards, lovingly yours D.

;)

I have another one you might like too, I shared it as a watercolour study but am oil (digitally) painting it now. I'll probably share it later today as a WIP. Thank you for feeling my paintings it makes an artist feel good. I bet I would have got along with your artistic ancestor :)

You sure would have! Look forward to seeing your next post.

as usual. perfect creator. excellent touches. congratulations dear friend!

Thank you so much, @artizm.

i liked how you draw this kind of stretch. it is very appealing in the eye, and it is so cool :D kindly see mine also https://steemit.com/art/@sheiloiys/3-sketch-angels-do-fall

I do love robots... but in a gown like that?? Epic!!!! What gave you this idea??

Really, as I said in post, that I keep imagining this android human hybrid longing for a human past of antiquity thus a Victorian gown. :)

Lol "android longing" i think i need to write a poem about that

Go for it, I love how we all encourage and inspire one another here on Steemit!

this is fantastic. You have received an upvote and resteem by @slothicorn. Thank you for being so imaginative!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59099.74
ETH 2639.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49