Another Sketch for a new Singularity painting: Pandora

in #slothicorn6 years ago (edited)

A sketch of my Singularity Pandora. What ancient box has this Pandora found and opened?

march28pandorasketchThumbnail.jpg

Will this "pandora's box" opened release the spirits of what humanity once was in this new Singularity, where man and machine have no separation? Who can say what she has let loose on man/machine...

march28pandorasketch.jpg

My Fixation with the android human hybrid continues.

I know I am meant to be finishing up my other Singularity painting I shared with you before but when the mood hits I have to capture it.

My work is often the manifestation of my storied day dreams.

I carry about with me all day little scenarios and vignettes often involving animals and usualy a single person. This, mainly might be due to my very solitary nature and the fact that I, myself, am often just spending the day alone with animals.

However, my Singularity paintings (as I am so determined to call them) began with the power outages we experienced during our turbulent Winter nor'easter season here in New England. I think, as I find is as it should be, that I am also subconsciously and sometimes consciously influenced by other artists here on Steemit. I love both @reinhard-schmid 's automata women painted in glass and his sense of light-hearted joy and humour. And too, I love the dark and deep stark world peopled by humanesque beings found in @gric amazing work.

In a way, Steemit has allowed me to sneak into a sort of digital milieu of such artists. I am continually thankful and greatful for such commrades in the arts, though I don't claim to have their skill or vision. But, we cannot all be the same for that would be a bland sort of artist collective.

So have I, being influenced both subconsciously and consciously, slipped back door into their parallel worlds?

My Singularity beings, caught between human and machine, certainly wander about in a world a bit brighter, but also fanciful in a differing way. I find myself obsessed with this female being, though she is never the same, wandering about wondering at her own existence.

A machine and an organic being caught in an odd sort of life that is living, but not quite "alive".

She wanders about, in the leisure of such a life, trailing the skirts of her human ancestry wondering what were these beings from whence she came? That is why today, looking at some lovely versions of the famous fable of Pandora and the box (Waterhouse being one of my favourites) I imagined my Singularity woman and what would her Pandora's box be?

What if, thought I sipping coffee and staring at art on a screen, this being found an old laptop. The detritius of an ancient time when man and machine were too very distinct things and what could it tell her about them. And how would it work? Simply, when one is one's own power source, a robot hand is a charging station as much as it is a delicate organic mix of cell and sinew that can feel the soft turn of silk or press into the soil, an ancient seed to watch it grow, surely. It is my world of my making after all. I set the rules.

My Singularity is not a world of bleak start doom but one of innocent creatures wondering and searching ; the Sprint of Humanity still coursing through their fibers, wondering "Why am I here? What is the meaning of Life?"

I have been a good girl, too, and am still working on my other painting. Here I will share a section of the body and face with two butterflies beginning to take life.

march28robotdreamsdetail.jpg

I indiscriminately and arbitrarily choose what bit of my subjects are flesh and what machine. I don't think it'd matter to them, their idea of segregation or difference would probably lie in a very different criteria then what their pure human ancestry would have felt. Who can say...Well I can say, it's my world, but I haven't really yet said...so.

I hope all have a lovely day and enjoy your time before the machines come, who knows they might be interested in what we have left behind.


If you like my work please upvote, resteem and by all means comment, I love comments!


Check out my other posts:


asteemitfooter.jpg

My bitcoin wallet as per the @slothicorn request to provide it with your artwork.

Copyright @donnadavisart - All Rights Reserved

Sort:  

I hope that laptop's not running Windows 10. She'll unleash a whirlwind of involuntary updates on her people.

The hilarity is, I bet an old windows 10 would be the downfall of the Singularity, only leaving room for humans to grow up out of the muck and mire again. I think we just outlined a novel, now get to writing it! I'll add the illustrations ;)

Haha I can relate to this all too well ._.

No commenting from the train, now get to work ;)

Jokes on you it was lunchtime.

What a perfect drawing. E.T.A. Hoffmann brought to our present days. Love it! Thanks a lot for mentioning me. Looks like we are influencing each other then :-)

Heavens I'll take that comparison, a compliment for sure!

No problem, I feel on some level our art worlds are close together, as if my funny creatures could look up and see the magical world of your paintings flying about above them, if they are lucky :)

Holy Moly I love your art. I'm going to dm you at some point about purchasing some, because these pieces are mind blowing. Checking out your shop link now :)

Thanks, I've been bad about not putting up much of my robot things but I am working on my own site so will change that out soon. Feel free to dm me of course :)

I featured this article in my womens history month vlog, it is on my profile if you would like to check it out :)

Love this sketch and the name 'Singularity Pandora'. How long have you been drawing for?

Since I could hold a pencil. I always drew, I went through a phase where I didn't touch artwork for like 2 years it was an odd time and not sure why, but when I came back to it, it was like drinking water for the first time after being lost in a desert.

Love the water analogy ! Nice to hear. I would love to be able to draw.

It's interesting that you find inspiration also in my work, because, as mentioned earlier, your dreamy robot ladies in Victorian dresses actually inspired me to a new Gynoid series. I was getting bored with my Gynoids quite some time ago, but the poetry I found in your drawings gave me a new perspective on this.

I love that. It truly feels as if we are a collective of artists, sharing work and inspiration. All we need is to sit over absinthe in a run down Paris Bar in 1900s :)

I am loving this series. And the painting is looking beautiful. I love your use of such vivid colors.

Thank you, I just really love colour. I think maybe it is even influenced by my love of gardening, the colours of dhalias and lilys and the like are so bright and rich in colour it always inspires :)

This post gets me so pumped to start on some more of my own works, thanks for the inspiration!! :D

I'm so glad...now get to it! :)

Got to say that these singularity drawings have something really unique about them. Love the android-human linework+colour mashup and it's a great way to explore the coming together of flesh and machine.

Thank you and I thought so.

I love you way of describing this universe both by your drawings and your words!

Lovely! Not just from aesthetics alone, I feel like you put real thought into this which allows an art piece to be more complete.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60787.79
ETH 3242.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46