A SHORT STORY: The flower seller who found her purpose

in #shortstory6 years ago (edited)

My entry into the Hello Hello Group Activity - 10

Dalisay’s mother, Analyn was growing increasingly concerned that her daughter would descend into depression. Dalisay had just completed her schooling and could not find work. She complained bitterly about not finding her “purpose” in life.

Analyn decided on a drastic course of action. “Dalisay, I’ve spoken with your uncle Bayani; and he has agreed for you to go and live with them in the city for a while. You will assist your cousins Rosamie and Mahalia, selling flowers.”

The following day, Dalisay was met by her two cousins in the city, at the end of her journey. By the time Dalisay arrived, it was late afternoon. The girls had sold most of the day’s ration of flowers. Within a short while, all the flowers were sold and they made their way home.

Her uncle Bayani and aunt Rosa were extremely pleased to see her. The family gathered for a special meal, to celebrate her arrival. Shortly, after the meal, her uncle said, “Dalisay, I think it’s best if you have a good night’s rest, as you would need to rise early in the morning; and you’ll have a long day ahead of you.

Unaccustomed to early rising, Dalisay’s protested silently to the shock she was experiencing. By dragging of the feet did she eventually get through all her morning ritual. It was still dark when the three girls gathered their quota of flowers and traveled to the city.

Dalisay was not enjoying the experience at all. By the end of the day, the other girls had sold all their flowers; whereas she had only sold a few bunches. This made Dalisay feel unhappier. This pattern repeated itself for many days and the sour-faced Dalisay achieved even less success. Her uncle decided to intervene, “Tomorrow, I will sell flowers with you.” He knew exactly what to do to give Dalisay purpose.


https://goo.gl/images/jWWhNg

When the first customer approached he said, "Remember to smile! We are selling hope and happiness." The young man was well dressed but he had an anxious look on his face, “Can I have your best bunch, please.” Dalisay, remember her uncle’s advice and smiled as she assisted the man. “Thank-you,” said the man and hurried away. “Quick, let’s follow him so I can show you what I mean!” They followed the young man until he arrived at an office, where he pulled out mobile phone and made a call and waited outside. Moments later an upset woman came out. He spoke a few words then gave her flowers. It brought a smile to her face. “Do you see what mean?” asked her uncle. Dalisay nodded. For the man the flowers had brought hope and for the young lady, happiness.

On the way back to her selling area, they were approached by to a woman on her way to a funeral. Dalisay smiled as she sold her next bunch. "We sell sympathy too!" said her uncle. Let’s follow the lady to see to why. At the funeral venue, they could see from a distance the woman handing the bereaved widow the bunch of follows. The widow did not smile, but her eyes expressed appreciation.

Again they made their way back to the selling area. On route, they were approached by an interior decorator. “I would like to buy all your flowers, she said. My client, need them for a function. I do however, require that you to bring them to the venue for me.” Needless to say this was the biggest smile Dalisay had mustered in a while. Before her uncle could say it - she said, “We also sell atmosphere, fragrance and beauty.”

From that day on, she sold her clients what they required, using flowers to express those needs.

Dalisay had found her purpose.

Sort:  

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Wonderful piece of write up that reflects emotions of humanity.
I could well give you 3 topic for Haiku. One hope, Second sympathy, third happines.

I may join u later my friend.

Hi @angelro - Thank-you for you thoughtful comment. Indeed, flowers are so integral to human emotional needs. We often over-look it's importance.

Hi @rlt47, wow this is such a great fantastic reading that taught me goodness very well. So original and provide such positiveness. I am very glad that Dalisay had found her purpose. And for this original works, here's my tip! Keep up the great work :D

Thank-you @ainie.kashif, I'm glad you could relate to Dalisay. Flowers are so important to help us communicate a number of things, that words are not capable of expressing.

Thank-you for the tip, because I know you appreciate my work, it always inspires me to new new levels of creativity for the group.

Don’t have words to share how I feel after reading such a awesome motivating story? I love reading the part when Dalisay’s uncle teach her how could she enjoy her work in many ways? Excellent job @rlt47. How do you write these stories? You are a talented person.

Thank-you @shanu, It's very encouraging to get these beautiful comments from you and the group.

So, to answer to answer your question;

How do you write these stories?

The answer is simple... I'm inspired by a very supportive group called the Hello! Hello! Group. I always do my very best for them... :))

Aha! Very sweet answer..... I’m impressed!😊

Equally sweet of you, miss @shanu!

I’m blushing...☺️

Another well written story brother - you continue to impress me. Thank you for sharing ! This will be my last upvote for the next little while asbi need to let my power regenerate - I only wish my vote was worth more - you deserve it.

Thanks @emwalker. I'm not a writer. If you had told me two months ago I would be writing Haikus and short stories... I'd tell you - you nuts! So I'm pretty surprised at the results too... I'm a reluctant reader / writer. I'd probably fail a quiz if they asked me what a verb is Or where to use a comma correctly. Writing is extremely hard work for me...It's mostly from the gut.

...having said that, let me share a bit of success I had this week - I won the top prize in a picture prompt contest - when you have time - https://steemit.com/foxtales/@rlt47/a-short-story-countess-of-the-dark-forest. perhaps an idea for a short movie...lol!

Concerning up-voting. Are you aware of the dust threshold? I rarely vote on comments or posts that will not be worth more than 0,03c they get rounded down to 0,00 cents. Here is a post by @thedarkhorse - explaining the issue.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@thedarkhorse/your-2-cent-vote-is-worthless-the-real-deal-on-dust-votes

Thanks for the mention. This post has circulated around a lot and I am very happy about this. So many people have been wasting their votes on comments which will just turn to dust.

You're welcome! I'm just helping some of my buddies out in the process. It's a great way to help manage voting power if there is a valid reason for not up-voting every comment.

The best writing always comes from the gut. Here's a Secret - I've got severe dyslexia - shhhh don't tell anyone - I spell phonetically - I utilize a combination of spellcheck / proofreading and speech to text to do all my writing - although I have dyslexia I can spell most words but this comes from years of pratice / repition and tricks. Writing / has always and will always be a struggle for me - but that's why I love it - I'm a dyslexic writer lol have you ever heard of that? - reading however - I've never had a problem - I can read a word easily - ask me to spell it 5 minutes later and there's a 50% chance I'll fuck it up really bad.

I'll check out your short story in the morning - been up for nearly 26 hours - long day - I am aware - but only recently - actually through the post in question by thedarkhorse - my vote is with so little right now I just vote all over the place - hoping someone else will come along and and add too it so it pushes past the threshold - think I'll be more reserved now .

Wowser! Dude, That's insane!

I promise I won't tell a soul!! Disclaimer: (accept the million of Steemians that already have access!)

All cool bro!

Hiii @rlt47

after reading this article I can conclude that not all things can run smoothly in this world, it takes hard work, self-awareness and tolerance to achieve one goal.
his uncle gave a deep moral message for her

@poocut, you have made very good observations from the story.

@therealwolf 's created platform smartsteem scammed my post this morning (mothersday) that was supposed to be for an Abused Childrens Charity. Dude literally stole from abused children that don't have mothers ... on mothersday.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@prometheusrisen/beware-of-smartsteem-scam

Just because you didn't bother to read that there was a cap doesn't mean @therealwolf did anything wrong. If you don't understand what a cap means don't bid on a bot. Your comment here is off topic, spam, and slander towards one of the good bid bot owners.

@rlt47, sorry but I can't ignore bad behavior like this. Flagging for making false claims of theft.

No worries @thedarkhorse, I suspected as much, - @therealwolf has no reason to scam.

I get sick of people who aren't doing their homework claiming someone else is in the wrong.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69104.81
ETH 3758.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68