SomethingAboutMe & Seasonchallenge || Christmas at school

in #sam-saturday5 years ago

WaterMark_2018-12-15-21-58-50.jpg

For this week SAM hosted by my friend @bluemoon and for my #seasonchallenge, I will share another memory winter related.

The middle of December was usually a nasty period of time. Me and my sister grew impatient and used to count days until Santa's arrival. Also, during the kindergarten years we were supposed to memorise winter poems for school's Christmas events.
These celebrations, so expected by our parents, were simply a torture for us. Of course, Santa's arrival sweetened a bit this bitter "pill". You might think I'm weird so let me explain the backgrounds of those celebrations.
Due to the fact that I learned to read at a very young age, my teachers felt compelled to assign the longest poems to me. Also, the most dull and boring role was mine: the New Year. My colleagues were little elves, princesses or snowflakes. But not me....no, I had to wear a white sweater made of wool (soooo itchy) and a white fur hat. And who can forget the white sash with the new year print? It was a Christmas torment but I had to resist as usually after this celebration the winter holiday followed.

I remember one year in particular, the last year of kindergarten. The event was scheduled on a Friday morning and all kids were supposed to be accompanied by their parents. My mom was at work with no chance of leaving befor the end of the day. So my father was in charge of taking me to school and give Santa the most desired present. So far so good, except...my father falled asleep (he just finished a night shift and was very tired). I was so happy that I will skip the event. I was careful not make noise or disturb dad. Just two more hours and everything will be over.
But I'm not a lucky person. While quietly playing in the living room, I heard the pitchy noise of the phone. My dear mom had a feeling that dad will mess up things. 🙂
Fifteen minutes later after the infamous phone call I was all dressed up and hurried towards school. I wished for snow storms, blizzards and the thickest fog ever but no...I got to kindergarten right on time for the event. I said my poem, sang the carols and waited for the Santa to call my name. Did I mention that my dad forgot to bring the present? 😂
I did not cry...I kept telling myself that Santa was right not to give me something, I was naughty all year long. Despite the teacher's kind words and promises that my present is back home, I felt a strong sense of disappointment.
The present was at home, a big box containing exactly what I wished for: ice skates. Santa decided to play a trick on me. 🙂

These funny memories make me wish to go back in time and be a child again. My father and his blunders always made us laugh. One day I will tell you about my sister's ordeal (she inherited the "New Year" role during the school years).

Have a great weekend, my friends!


Check out the challenge started by me and @erikah, SeasonChallenge. We would love to learn about your impressions towards the Winter (these being the theme until 28th of February).

steemit-border

Picture1.png

QvAAKWXl.gif
Member of The Steemian Directory
QvAAKWXl.gif
Logopit_1526205802368.png

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Many thanks, dear Pix. 🙂

You have so clear memories my dear ! ^_^ I don't know this role of new-year you are telling, though I understood it was not entertaining you as much as you would have want .. ;-)
On the other hand, your way of telling your memories is very entertaining, I enjoy every time your (mis)adventures ! =)))

The kid who was playing "New Year" was supposed to recite a very long poem, wishing a Happy New Year to the audience. And the costume was always the same: plain white outfit with a dull satin sash. Also, the New Year had no part in dancing or the other activities. He or she was supposed to sit still and wait for the end of the celebration.
It really haunted my childhood. The long poem and tbe white wool sweater were an absolute nightmare. How can someone forget such an ordeal? 😂
I'm glad you like my writing style. Thank you. 🙂

Hahaha ! I can feel you and yes, I enjoy your style very much, I'm like transported with you when you tell your stories in such an entertaining way ;-)

I must say that I enjoy every time reading your stories, especially about thst mischievous girl Roxy. 😀

Lol...mischievous. This is the best description for the things I did in the past: hunting Santa and ruining the school events. 😂

Well Roxy, @roxy-cat, the happenings you are telling remind me about similar things that I had in my childhood. How you narrate is remarkable, you are a writer of talent. The fact that you were early and you learned when you were very young to read is proving to have created problems too ...

Thank you, @bluemoon. You make me blush. I don't see myself as a talented writer, more likely a story teller. I suppose I will be one of those grandma who will bore granchildren with her old stories. 😂
Being a prodigy is not always a fortunate thing. Those school celebrations may bring smiles to the parents but can be very nasty for the kids. Oh well, I see them as a life experience. 🙂

What a great memory! Even though being Miss New Year was not exactly thrilling for you, your parents must have been very proud of you. And ice skates! That's a pretty exciting gift. I love hearing stories about your dad. This is a good one!

Thank you, Melinda. This was the main issue: parents being proud and failing to see the ordeal we've been through. 😂
And my dad... He was quite a character. Always doing exactly the opposite of what he was supposed to. 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68625.09
ETH 3746.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76