Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Bands for Days

in #rocks7 years ago

Hello everyone! A later than expected post, I was a little busy with real life stuff yesterday! Last night I spent a great deal of time responding to some folks, doing some research on abuse within the steemit platform. Found an account that leads to a few other accounts. Seems I found a trail of one owner and multitude of self upvote circle jerk accounts. Spent a while trying to see if anyone else had this guy marked as his actions are pretty questionable. For the sake of I don't feel like doing a mention for a non-rewards abuse related post, feel free to check out steembd, sabinas, manann, nehans, ARwebhosting and wdoutjah. Quite the circle jerk going on there and I am not sure if there's more, but I had to get these pictures taken.

Tomorrow I plan on going through some more rocks and maybe doing 10 or so at once so that I can have these posts prepared, thus giving more time for some investigations or something else.

I also spent more time working on a new segment I am looking to present real soon. Just need to get a few kinks worked out as I would like this post to be top notch so that it gets noticed.


Lights Off

This agate was not having any light through it. For a larger agate than the others, it was pretty difficult getting the right shot. This thing is *dark and stops the light *dead in it's tracks! I was expecting a better glow, but this was the best that I could get out of it. I suppose an insanely bright light could work, but I kind of doubt it. While it's difficult to see the bands when it glows, this thing's got bands for days up close and even more when it's shined up.

DSC_0022.JPG
You can click on the images to view full screen!!
DSC_0062.JPG

Through a Jewelers Loupe 40X25 mm - Lights Off

Even with the jewelers loupe, bands are hard to find. I can hear the drums though.

DSC_0136.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!

No Shine

Certainly an agate I'd like to finish polishing and smooth out. I'd say it's 75% done if I were to leave it as is, but my ultimate goal for these rocks are to turn them into jewelry. The back side is rough, and there's a rough corner where there should be bands, but that can be smoothed to perfection and then some polishing!

DSC_0141.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0173.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!

Through a Jewelers Loupe 40X25 mm - No Shine

DSC_0211.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!

Shine

The art of forming these stones for jewelry is called lapidary art, and I've actually found a lapidary artist right here on steemit that has given me a few pointers and creates extremely nice jewelry so be sure to check out @dirtyhippie if you like Lapidary art!

In the mean time, watch my raw agates shine!

DSC_0303.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0313.JPG

Through a Jewelers Loupe 40X25 mm - Shine

The shine really makes the bands stand out! Amazing!

DSC_0394.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0369.JPG

How Big is it?

DSC_0353.JPG

Flashlight SettingsISO 200 35 mm f/5.4 1/50 sec
Other SettingsISO 800 55 mm f/5.4 1/50 sec
CameraNikon D3400 24 MP
LensAF-P DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
LocationSuperior, WI

I've also started a tag called #rockhound or #rockhounds if any rockhounds are interested populating and curating with me, I am certainly willing to get it started! Maybe there's a whale of a rockhound lurking around here :) Those who like to hunt and collect their own rocks are considered rockhounds amongst eachother.

Fun Fact: I took a total of 403 pictures of this rock bring you the best quality!

I share my rock and agate photo's exclusive with the Steemit community! Feel free to share your thoughts!

Thanks for stopping by! God Bless!

@bitfiend

Previous Rock Posts

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - A Bullseye
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Mostly Quartz but Still an Agate
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Ridiculous Bands
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - My Wife Doesn't Believe I Found This One
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Trying out my D3400 + a Bonus Rock (Biggest Rock I ever Photographed)

Older than 7 days

good for viewing, not for voting!
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - My favorite type of Band
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Shines like it's Polished!

January and Beyond

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - January Rocks [and 2017]

Sort:  

I love the idea of the rockhound tag and I would be happy to add to it. Looking forward to seeing that get started!

Definitely the first time I've seen a rock as cool as this. What are you gonna do with it? @bitfiend

Thanks.... I will polish it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57560.27
ETH 2570.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48