Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Ridiculous Bands

in #rocks7 years ago (edited)

Good evening Steemians! I've been working on a new segment that I plan on introducing soon! This one is taking me particularly long as I am helping promote a project for a friend, as well as starting a new avenue within the Steemit Platform to bring you more content.

It's not easy working with my schedule. There seems to not be enough time in a day to do everything that I want to do. Before it's all said and done, the day is over. On the bright side, I'm always making progress and always trying to think of new ideas to talk about.

Up for grabs is a beautiful little agate that would make quite an intricate piece of jewelry if the right person god a hold of it. While I haven't quite figured out how to send an agate over seas, if you're in the USA it is more certainly up for grabs! (I think Canada would also work!) That's right, I'm willing to send it to you! Just upvote and say you want it!


Lights Off

I am struggling a bit with the flashlight pictures because the flashlight I used originally was much smaller. This one is a lot bigger, so I need to consider getting a smaller flashlight with a focused beam. I'm sure it won't be too expensive, and I'll need to hopefully pick one up this week. Money's been tied up with bills though. (First of the month and all)

DSC_0273.JPG
You can click on the images to view full screen!!
DSC_0239.JPG

DSC_0338.JPG

Jewelers Loupe 40X25 mm - Lights Off

I love what this Jewelers Loupe is accomplishing for me. 55 mm zoom + a 40X25 mm magnification makes for quite the macro shot!

DSC_0432.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!

No Shine

The natural polish of this one allows it to shine a little even without any oil applied. Still, not quite enough. (You'll see!)

DSC_0014.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0053.JPG

Jewelers Loupe 40X25 mm - No Shine

DSC_0051.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0099.JPG

Shine

A little dab of oil, and everything changes. The colors in this one are pretty amazing!

DSC_0122.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0172.JPG

Jewelers Loupe 40X25 mm - Shine

Again, this is beginning to be my favourite part of the segment. Look at the beautiful shine! Such Detail. Such Wow.

DSC_0140.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0206.JPG

How Big is it?

DSC_0451.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!

General SettingsISO 800 55 mm f/5.4 1/50 sec
CameraNikon D3400 24 MP
LensAF-P DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
LocationSuperior, WI

After a closer observation, the settings listed above are indeed working for both segments of the post (Lights off and Lights On). That is pretty convenient! When it comes to the lights on segment, I do have a fan light above as well as a pretty strong LED light relatively close to the agate in order to get the right lighting. Of course, if I changed the settings of the camera, I wouldn't need the additional LED light up close.

Fun Fact: I took a total of 454 pictures of this rock bring you the best quality! It is important that as a photographer to take many pictures. This lets you choose the best one.

I share my rock and agate photo's exclusive with the Steemit community! Feel free to share your thoughts!

Thanks for stopping by! God Bless!

@bitfiend

Previous Rock Posts

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - My Wife Doesn't Believe I Found This One
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Trying out my D3400 + a Bonus Rock (Biggest Rock I ever Photographed)
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - My favorite type of Band

Older than 7 days

good for viewing, not for voting!
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Shines like it's Polished!

January and Beyond

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - January Rocks [and 2017]

Sort:  

I have played a little with lighting with some of my rocks, but would like to do more. Your lighting shows the brightness and color of the rock. I know that you said that you put oil on your agates to get that shine. Do you use mineral oil...or are you using some other kind of oil? I have purchased some mineral oil and would like to try baking a few of mine in the mineral oil to see how they turn out. I would also like to try it with some of my other rocks...non-agate.

Thanks for your comment! A few weeks ago I was trying to figure out how to make my agate shine temporarily so that I don't have to tumble them. I looked it up and the website I read mentioned to use mineral oil.

Since I didn't have mineral oil, I just used regular vegetable oil. I get the same effect, but I do need to go out and get me some mineral oil.

That is because I also want to give some of my agates and rocks a more permanent shine without having to sand it down. You can remove any deposits off the stone with vinegar, although some of the deposits I see can add character when 'wet'. If you're going to bake it I've read that you bake the rock itself at 300 degrees for 15 min and then drop the hot rock in a bucket of mineral oil, let it cool, take off extra oil left on the rock and you should be done.

I'm not 100% on this but it seems to be the case, as I don't think you want to bake the mineral oil with the rock.

Also, you only want to use mineral oil. My use of vegetable oil is temporary and when I'm done taking photo's of the rock I wash the oil off with dish soap.

Thank you for your help!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by BitFiend from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.