Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Around the Bands

in #rocks7 years ago (edited)

Good morning Steemians! I've pretty much been up all night. Taking pictures, thinking of ideas, waiting for the phone to ring (no calls). By the time it should have been bedtime, I just stayed awake. I've been meeting so many great steemians alon the way that it can be difficult to stay on top of any kind of routing (or maintain any kind of voting power as a minnow, as there are so many of you that deserve upvotes).

It's a constant battle with recharging voting power and bandwidth. Slowly but surely I'll have enough bandwidth where I don't have to worry about it. I have refrained from posting any more rock posts when I noticed my bandwidth was about to exceed its limits. I never exceeded, but I also haven't quite figured it out either.

#rockhound

My last agate post I started a #rockhound or #rockhounds tag. It seems that we've decided on #rockhound. A new tag has been born! :)


Lights Off

This agate is seemingly cut perfectly in half. Naturally of course. I can't get the desired effect with this flashlight, and I know with a smaller one I can make the agate glow better. We'll see what I can come up with today. Mondays I try to get stuff done.

DSC_0240.JPG
You can click on the images to view full screen!!
DSC_0287.JPG

Through a Jewelers Loupe 40X25 mm - Lights Off

DSC_0346.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!

No Shine

For the time being, I've changed it up and removed the "Jewelers Loupe" shot from this section. It's more or less the "bland" section anyways. Just an overview of what the rock looks like. It's mostly bland without the shine, so there's no need to zoom in with the Loupe. Still beautiful though!

DSC_0380.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!

Shine

It's much nicer when it shines! Would you want a dull and unpolished diamond? This would be the end result with a good shining.

DSC_0386.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0531.JPG

Through a Jewelers Loupe 40X25 mm - Shine

DSC_0440.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0557.JPG

How Big is it?

DSC_0574.JPG

Flashlight SettingsISO 200 35 mm f/4.5 1/50 sec
Other SettingsISO 6400-800 55 mm f/4.5 1/50 sec
CameraNikon D3400 24 MP
LensAF-P DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
LocationSuperior, WI

The settings that I use on my camera to take these pictures can fluctuate. It all depends on lighting. I try to reproduce the same lighting every time so as to make it easier but when it comes to the camera settings, any additional light can change everything.

Feel free to stop by the #rockhound tag I started and check out other rockhounds. I haven't forgotten, and I plan on curating this tag the best I can. (with my little ol' minnow vote)

Fun Fact: I took a total of 336 pictures of this rock bring you the best quality!

Hopefully I can start giving away some agates on steemit. I feel they would need to be bigger, but some of the smaller agates can make really great jewelry.

I share my rock and agate photo's exclusive with the Steemit community! Feel free to share your thoughts!

Thanks for stopping by! God Bless!

@bitfiend

Previous Rock Posts

None

Older than 7 days

good for viewing, not for voting!
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - A Bullseye
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Mostly Quartz but Still an Agate
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Ridiculous Bands
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - My Wife Doesn't Believe I Found This One
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Trying out my D3400 + a Bonus Rock (Biggest Rock I ever Photographed)
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - My favorite type of Band
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Shines like it's Polished!

January and Beyond

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - January Rocks [and 2017]

Sort:  

Lots of detail in this one. I really like the shot with the light coming through.

Thank you for stopping by! I am always amazed by the way they glow. As soon as I can afford some stronger lights, I'm buying them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60526.80
ETH 2335.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53