Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - The One Eyed Agate

in #rockhound6 years ago

When I first got into agates I didn't know much about them and it was probably about 3 years ago now. Ever since then I became a big #rockhound! I've always been a #rockhound at heart because my mother used to take me hunting for Quartz. Share your finds to the #rockhound tag! At the same time that I discovered agates I was also reading up on cloudbusters along with some conspiracy stuff regarding chemtrails. This ultimately led me to researching orgone pyramids which are said to provide healing energies and such when placed around your home. At the same time that I was taking in all this information I was also reading the Bible and going down my spiritual path.

Ancient civilizations that date as far back as the Babylonians believed that these stones also had healing properties. They believed it would keep evil away or even bad storms and weather. All the research I did has brought me to believe that this is true. While I don't depend on any healing property from rocks it came as a surprise to me that even the Bible confirms this attribute about all rocks to be true.

And he answered and said unto them, I tell you that, if these should hold their peace, the stones would immediately cry out. Luke 19:40

I'd also like to mention the supposed breastplate filled with gemstones that Lucifer wore. He depended on the power of his gemstones, which ultimately failed him.

My friend who could not get his wife pregnant, has had a baby and is now expecting twins after I told him that by collecting some Quartz it may help him get her pregnant. Of course, he started picking up quartz whenever we went rockhounding together. Now I'm sure that the quartz didn't play a terribly big role in this, but I felt it was noteworthy.

Barefoot walking is also said to provide healing to you because you are connecting your skin to the ground instead of being separated from the earth by walking on manmade surfaces and/or wearing shoes. It's a way to disconnect so the earth itself is the largest orgone pyramid and we all have access to it.


Lights Off

I feel that agates help bring wealth although my buddy and I joke about it that the wealth is in the actual sale value of the stone. My main reason for collecting them though is because they are absolutely beautiful. I haven't had time to post or go agate hunting lately so here's a beautiful agate for you to check out. I found this back in march so you can imagine how delayed I've been that it's taken me so long to share this one! Enjoy the bands!

DSC_0520scaled.JPG
You can click on the images to view full screen!!
DSC_0525crop.JPG

Through the 60mm Macro Lens

There's nice looking eye in this agate and these are my favourite kind of agates to find, next to the round ones. If it has eyes, I'm happy!
DSC_0526crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0532crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0534crop.JPG

No Shine

Whether it shines, glows or not, I still find them great in all their glory! I mainly share my agates without shine because this is how they look raw and unpolished by any human. Of course, it may be more difficult to spot them when just a little corner is sticking up out of the sand, it still gives you a pretty good idea of what to look for. Especially if you find a whole agate and the bands are hidden inside.

DSC_0537scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0539scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0542scaled.JPG

Through the 60mm Macro Lens

DSC_0545crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0548crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0553crop.JPG

Shine

I can still remember the excitement I had when I first found this one because it had so much detail to it. I didn't even bother taking an "as I found it" pictuire. I quickly hurried to the water and cleaned it off so I can take a picture of it shining brightly in the sun.

DSC_0039scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0561crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0596crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0597crop.JPG

Through the 60mm Macro Lens

I always love how detailed my macro shots can get. If you observe the eye closely, the center looks like there's a long, black needle pooking right into the center of the eye. You can clearly see the depth in it!

DSC_0566crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0570crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0584crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0588crop.JPG

How Big is it?

Coming in at 21.6 Grams, not too heavy but still a nice size! Just about 7 grams short of an ounce, I look forward to finding some bigger ones!
DSC_0591scaled.JPG
Precious Metal to go with Precious Rock! Nothing too fancy, just a copper penny!

Flashlight SettingsISO 100 35 mm f/4.5 1/100 sec
Settings both Lights Off & OnISO 800 55 mm f/5.6 1/50 sec
CameraNikon D3400 24 MP
LensAF-P DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
LensAF-S Micro NIKKOR 60mm 1:2.8 G ED
LocationSuperior, WI

Fun Fact: I took a total of 87 pictures of this rock bring you the best quality! It takes me about 45 minutes to take the pictures, another 45 minutes to pick the best ones and re-scale them, plus another 20-30 minutes to make the post!

So if you're a #rockhound, you probably already know that the weight of the stone is also important. Especially when you can find one that weighs more than one or two ounces, so from now on I will try to provide the weight of the agates I share to give more information. It's something I hadn't considered before, but I am always trying to improve my posts in some way.

Thanks for taking the time to read, and I hope you found it interesting that rocks are very much alive! At least that's the conclusion I've come to.

Thanks for stopping by! God Bless!

@bitfiend

Older than 7 days

good for viewing, not for voting!
Rockhounding at work this past week
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Bands All Around
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Macro Bands
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Little Bubble Agate

May

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - May Rocks

April

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - April Rocks

March

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - March Rocks

February

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - February Rocks

January and Beyond

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - January Rocks [and 2017]

When I joined Steemit I made the decision to always Power-Up my earnings. For now, payouts are set to 50/50 but you bet I will convert & Power Up! Besides internal transfers, I have never cashed out and don't plan on it! Power-Up only!

power-up.jpg

Please Consider @comedyopenmic for witness!

Proudly a part of the #comedyopenmic / #comedyopenmicespanol community! Make people laugh with your original jokes! Curate, Participate, Donate, Delegate!
Click The Banner Below To Vote @ComedyOpenMic For Witness And Disrupt The Steem Blockchain With Laughter!
Support COM Banner

Thank you to @matytan for the great banner

Sort:  

Very cool. I am a rock hound myself. We have a lot of agates here in New Mexico. I have people bringing in agates as well as crystal clusters from all over New Mexico

I went to my local antique shop not too long ago and checked out a display of gemstones labeled from where they came. Seems that every region has its own unique type of agate., some are unlike any I've ever seen around here. Makes me want to go buy some since it's basically impossible for me to find them around here. Just like you probably won't find any Lake Superior agates in New Mexico.

Here's a rough map of where you can find LSA's

src

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 8 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 22 SBD worth and should receive 199 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Now I am wishing I had stopped by Lake Superior at least once on our way through. Can you find these on the Canadian side as well?

Sorry for the late response -- I do believe you can find them in the canadian side but I've never tried. I think @nat-expressions has shared a few from those parts though!

I just followed her. I'll keep my eyes peeled for a rock post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65762.16
ETH 3485.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50