Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Little Bubble Agate

in #rockhound6 years ago (edited)

I have to admit I've gotten a little lazy! This bipolar weather isn't helping either but It's June so perhaps it's finally done being cold! I'm losing a lot of days to go be a #rockhound and find me some agates. As I write this, it's raining so even moon pictures have been scarce. There's so much to do on steemit and so much to share that there's just not enough time in the day to do it all and the alone can be overwhelming enough to realize that I just lost the whole day. I got a capture card so I can start streaming only to realize my capture card isn't compatible with my stream machines version of windows (should have taken that free upgrade 2 years ago). I'm going to have to try a stream with just one PC and see if it lessens the quality. In the mean time, I've gotta try to get back on my rock posts. It's been difficult with my new focus on my health as my exercise routines and all the @comedyopenmic judging my plate's been pretty full but I've been having a great time building the best community on steemit. So just a quick plug if you haven't heard of it, go check it out! It's basically the tag to go to for laughs on steemit. #comedyopenmic & #comedyopenmicespanol.


Last month I only went twice and I am yet to go this month. It was discouraging as I am showing you the little bubble agate that was literally the best most show-worthy agate I found, but it's always nice finding a bubble agate. Okay this agate is a little on the small side, but it's most certainly not the smallest agate I've shared with you!

Lights Off

DSC_0282scaled.JPG
You can click on the images to view full screen!!
DSC_0292scaled.JPG

Through the 60mm Macro Lens

DSC_0295crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0295crop2.JPG

No Shine

While this is a tiny little thing with not much detail, it was all I found that day and I have some "as I found it" pictures to go with it! It was just glowing at me with the sun shining on it! Was a little discouraging but I am motivated to find a bigger agate this month. We're back down to one car right now so the wife gets to take mine to work while I have her broken one. Hopefully we can come up with some cash to get it fixed or my summer is going to be a car-less one. Can you spot it in the first picture?

DSC_0169scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0171scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0175scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0177scaled.JPG

Through the 60mm Macro Lens

DSC_0312crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0303crop.JPG

Shine

I actually enjoyed the no shine segment a little more on this one! It was nice being able to provide the "As I found it" pictures. You'd think there would be more agates in that pile of rocks. What gets me about many agates is that it doesn't really matter how big or small they are, they always end up with some kind of bullseye or target made out of quartz in the middle. No different with this tiny little bubble agate!

DSC_0320scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0314scaled.JPG

Through the 60mm Macro Lens

DSC_0317crop2.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0317crop.JPG

How Big is it?

DSC_0313scaled.JPG
Precious Metal to go with Precious Rock! Nothing too fancy, just a copper penny!

Flashlight SettingsISO 100 35 mm f/4.5 1/100 sec
Settings both Lights Off & OnISO 800 55 mm f/5.6 1/50 sec
CameraNikon D3400 24 MP
LensAF-P DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
LensAF-S Micro NIKKOR 60mm 1:2.8 G ED
LocationSuperior, WI

Fun Fact: I took a total of 43 pictures of this rock bring you the best quality! It takes me about 45 minutes to take the pictures, another 45 minutes to pick the best ones and re-scale them, plus another 20-30 minutes to make the post!

Less pictures and more quality is good, however after observing the picture there was a little corner I wish I had gotten focused on, but it's not important. This thing was small enough as it is! Of course, it's always a pleasure sharing these rock photo's with you all!

So while I haven't had much luck getting a picture of the moon, I was able to get one on the first of June! I like the way this one came out!
DSC_0285crop.JPG

Thanks for stopping by! God Bless!

@bitfiend

Previous Rock Posts

none

Older than 7 days

good for viewing, not for voting!
none

May

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - May Rocks

April

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - April Rocks

March

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - March Rocks

February

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - February Rocks

January and Beyond

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - January Rocks [and 2017]

When I joined Steemit I made the decision to always Power-Up my earnings. For now, payouts are set to 50/50 but you bet I will convert & Power Up! Besides internal transfers, I have never cashed out and don't plan on it! Power-Up only!

power-up.jpg

Sort:  

Get your post resteemed to 72,000 followers. Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59504.00
ETH 2984.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74