Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - May Rocks

in #rocks6 years ago

DSC_0329scaled.JPG

I hope everyone is having a great weekend! As usual, here is a quick rundown of the agates I shared with you during the month of May. A little delayed but better late than never! Still going at it with my fitness challenge and judging the #comedyopenmicespanol tag, it's been quite the month! This is exactly what I had hoped for when I joined Steemit. Sharing content and building communities. If you're not spanish, then head over to #comedyopenmic and make an entry but this isn't about comedy it's about agates! I haven't been able to do much hunting because the weather keeps changing (hot / cold / rain) so it's hard to actually be rested on the right day with my hectic schedule.

I feel like I have completely neglected my #rockhound posts but as I establish myself in the Steemitverse my posting habbits will evolve a bit. Agates is top of the list but so is my health family and business so I get tired. With some of the upvotes I've been getting I've also been pretty happy with my earnings so I feel like I don't have to post as much and that's good! It leaves more rewards for other minnows! I haven't even been posting my photography pictures and it appears that I could not remember a single dream this month. I hope to change that and post more!

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Awesome Bullseye - This isn't quite a bullseye but more like a target! There are not many agates that I've found like this and what caught my eye was the way the quartz glowed but the agate and bands did not. Would be nice to put something like this on a ring or charm with an LED light behind it.

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Big Agate - Found this one sitting outside my wifes work where many agate pickers / tourists look for agates themselves. Glad they missed this one! While it's mostly quartz with a small bit of agate wrapped around the quartz, it's quite the piece! My friend said it looks like a gators mouth. There is so much detail though! Just check the post out! There's bands, two beautiful bullseyes and I believe there's even some traces of amythist.

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Dark Agate - It's always hard choosing a favorite picture! This one had so much color and so many bands! Bands within bands, hidden bands and super thin bands! It's not the regular red agate that is typically found on lake superior though, it's much darker!

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Too Thick To Glow - While this rock was too thick to glow and I do believe it might not even be an agate, it's still some kind of gem and the details within are quite beautiful and the tiny bit that it did glow is evidence of it!

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Artistic Quartz or an Agate? - Wasn't sure if this was a quartz or an agate until I got it wet. It's all in the detail and once the oil was applied the bands really stood out! So it's an agate!

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Invisible Bands - The last agate I shared for the month, it's not always easy keeping up on a schedule but I did find this agate last month! I took a walk on the beach but it was the only one I found that day. Definitely small, the last time I went agate hunting all I found was a little one too. This one is an example of what I thought was a quartz before I flipped it over only to see these nearly invisible bands.

Thanks for stopping by and checking out my favorite pictures from the rocks I shared in May! It never ceases to amaze me how much detail is in these little rocks and I hope you enjoyed them as much as I did! I look forward to sharing more for you to enjoy. I still have a 7 day positivity challenge that I want to write about which means I have more work to do then I can really handle right now. I even bought a capture card so that I can start streaming live again only to realize my windows 7 OS isn't supported anymore so now I have to upgrade my stream pc to windows 10 (I totally missed the free upgrade). Thinking of just streaming with the one PC but I don't it to be low quality. So as you can see, there's just so much that I want to do but definitely not enough time in the day so I have to pick and choose wisely!

Happy Rockhounding!

@bitfiend

When I joined Steemit I made the decision to always Power-Up my earnings. For now, payouts are set to 50/50 but you bet I will convert & Power Up! Besides internal transfers, I have never cashed out and don't plan on it! Power-Up only!

power-up.jpg

Sort:  

These are all great choices! Do you tumble any of your finds? I love rocks!

I got myself a rock tumbler about two years ago and used it for one round. Living in a small space, the tumbling of the rocks is loud and annoying so I let my friend take it over to his house where he left it in his freezing garage and the band that spins the motor broke. We were in the polishing stage of some very nice agates so I've been bummed about it. Hopefully I get it fixed soon as there are a lot of rocks that I want to tumble!

If you mean the belt broke, that is easily remedied for some tumblers. Mine is simply an O-ring that the local auto parts will happily toss me for free. Thankfully also my tumbler isn't any louder than a running dishwasher or washing machine. I hope you can get it fixed and running somewhere for some of your beautiful stones!

Yes it's the o-ring belt that snapped. Didn't think the auto parts store would carry one thanks for the tip!

No problem! Hope you can get it going again! Your rocks are beautiful!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by BitFiend from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65641.09
ETH 3479.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50