Day 411 - You Vs. The Ledger

in #risk5 years ago

Snail Risk.png

Day 411 - $8,733 made, 25 events held, 6 products designed, 48 twerkflows made. Today I sent a large cash sum across the globe to make my first major purchase from my Thailand supplier, Rung Siam.

Throwback to Day 46 - 0$ made, 0 events held, 0 products designed, 12 twerkflows made. Signed up for Square as my payments processor. Acquiring all my social media accounts now that I had settled on the name Miiru.

I can't stop taking risks. I just keep putting myself into situations where I have to create, invent, react or spend wildly to get myself out of it. The dirty truth is that I love it. I want to ride the jet ski in the ocean with 10 foot chop. I want to send a grand to the other side of the world on the assumption that everything will work out. Even if it doesn't...solving whatever disaster that is will have me fully IN.

When striking a deal, do you calculate your risk in relation to your potential upside or the potential downside? How hard are you willing to work when a catastrophe with your name on it means a slash to your wallet, reputation or a back slide in your personal goals?

Do you weigh the upside or the downside more? Meaning, how much work would you put in to secure a deal that would earn you $10,000. Is it as much, more or less than the work you would put in in order to ensure that a $10,000 already invested in a purchase doesn't disappear down a worm hole. At what point does that instinct kick in that a bird almost in the hand is as worth protecting as the one already in your pocket.

Humans are naturally risk averse creatures. And much has been studied about our inclination to work 10x harder to stem a loss, than we will to create the same amount of gain. This is of course a brain finger-trap of our own creation. I don't have any personal attachment to any of the dollars I've spent of my long, abusive and frivolous relationship with money. Nor do I cherish in advance any dollar that I think about earning down the line somewhere. They are ledger, and a poor one, of our global community's ability to exchange. But if I want my company to be a bigger player in our worlds business of exchange, it has to find, make and move valuable things. Money is the side effect of that. Our current best ledger of how valuable what you are doing currently is.

However, we don't take into account so many things that are valuable and of service which currently lack any earning potential. Sam Harris' podcast with Andrew Yang lists a few of these areas such as walking an elderly neighbour around the block for exercise, or picking up trash at the local community center. Things that we might think about attaching value for, via a social credit system or some other means before we get so wrapped up in the idea that the only valuable pursuits are those people are currently being paid to pursue.

The most helpful part of this whole thought experiment is to think about how stupid it is to allow marking on a ledger to depress or elate you. It is not you. It is the banker's scribbling for how you are doing in the game. And he is only tracking what he is paid to care about.

Check out my other posts on Steem @

Check out my posts on my other blog on my Shopify store @

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 60843.73
ETH 3406.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57