Think local, act global.

in #funding5 years ago (edited)

Pot Kid Working .png

Day 9 - 0$ made, 0 events held, 0 products designed, 0 twerkflows made. Preparing for meeting with an org offering a start grant for companies.

Day 374 - $6,973 made, 18 events held, 6 products designed, 43 twerkflows made. Had my most local event ever, right down the road at the library in Mitchell.

More than once I have marvelled at how easy it was to start a company in Canada. Even with poor credit and no capital I was able to find funding within a month of having a real idea. After putting together a 40 page business plan outline and being denied funding through my local bank, the development office was ready to line my pockets.

Canada has a slightly higher rate of entrepreneurship than the U.S. Largely due to the fact we socialized healthcare, so we're more likely to take a gamble with our early careers. Taking that gamble doesn't mean we'll also rob ourselves of healthcare if our business falls flat.

The rest of the world simply is not like this. The stark contrast between how easy it is to start a business in Canada and how hard it is to start a business in these other countries that I love is a huge part of why I experiment with this BOGO 3.0 Business Model. Importing goods with the intention of putting some of the proceeds from sales right back into funding startups where the goods come from.

Like anything truly worth doing, it is much much harder than I expected.

Check out my few other posts on Steem @

Check out my posts on my other blog on my Shopify store @

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73