Timing Is Everything

in #timing5 years ago

Timing Pic.png

Day 11 - 0$ made, 0 events held, 0 products designed, 0 twerkflows made. Preparing to do my taxes after 5 years of avoidance.

Day 376 - $6,973 made, 18 events held, 6 products designed, 44 twerkflows made. Found a new supplier for my workshop materials. Took 941 photos of some new products....

I'm reading today about temporal landmarks. From Daniel Pink's new book When: The Scientific Secrets Of Perfect Timing, which I highly recommend, he talks about how people use a personal (birthday, anniversary, etc) or social (Mondays, beginning of a new month, or day after a holiday) temporal landmark to "demarcate the passage of time", to end one period and begin another with a clean slate.

A study he sites found that on Jan. 1 the word "diet" appeared in 82% more searches than a typical day. But Pink's writing also suggests that we use more regular temporal landmarks to give us a chance to shed our old selves. Mondays find more people going to the gym. He also suggests that Mondays would find more enrolment from ads if a product prompts behaviour change, such as a set of detox teas, or switching to a new project management software. That's a money melon of a take away right there.

People are busy, I don't call them on Mondays. So I tend to use Mondays to organize myself. Set call sheets for the week, write a task list, etc. Whatever I can do to prepare to kill it during the rest of the week. Not anymore!

Now Mondays are for getting teams onto a fresh start for a project, or promoting events that call for attendance and learning. Spending time and my company's energy on asking for change, when people are most receptive to it.

If people are already primed for adoption, you can save yourself a lot of grief by going with the current.

Check out my other posts on Steem @

Check out my posts on my other blog on my Shopify store @

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62184.89
ETH 2995.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97