On Religion. Why do we go to Church?!

in #religion7 years ago (edited)

Hi guys, after my first piece, I have received a lot of positive feedback and encouragement. Thank you. It's Sunday morning as I write this. I'm sitting in my dorm, watching people dress up for church, putting on really good and heavy make-up, others are wearing really fine dresses and shoes. When they're done, they'll pose for pictures(with me being the photographer)IMG_0494.JPG.
I come from a dual religion family, my Dad is a staunch Christian, my Mom enh...she's a deep Muslim lol. I grew up going to both. I know the Muslim prayers and Psalm 23. As i have grown older, I have curved towards the church. Although not been there in a while(it's been about five months), which brings me to why I am writing this. Why do several people go to church?!
This post does is just an honest thing from me, the last time I was in a church(twas a youth church). Everybody was trendy, it was more like a fashion competition rather than a gathering of people seeking to worship. Maybe I was disgusted at the attitude of several of them: the very many selfies, the side-talks, some guys were even in church to just meet new girls. I have good detective skills so I'm good at studying things (watched all episodes of Sherlock lol). The thing is...has the church lost its true identity? Many see it as a competition ground, a place to get good music and dance some pounds of from the body, a place to meet cute choristers, a place to meet your other half or missing rib lol.
What's the primary reason people go to church nowadays. Do we go to church because others go? Because it's the norm? Because we feel it's the right way to spend a Sunday? Because we have new clothes or shoes? There are several "becauses"..whoever reads this should look in deep and search for the underlying reason they go to the church..be honest with yourself.
Happy Sunday, I have to go make breakfast. Take care!

Sort:  

Because I have never found the discipline to read the bible or to create an space in my days for God, so the least I can do, is go to church; even though I do not like a lot of aspects of it.

Thanks, I try to :)

you do know? not reading the bible and going to church is almost pointless.

Almost! you have said it. I believe prayer is the strongest mechanism to get close to God, and that I try to do daily.

you do know? not reading the bible and going to church is almost pointless.

Well i think ultimately, the reason for going to church should be to praise and worship God. We are not there to impress anyone but God unless that is your purpose of going there.

same thing i have thought over and over again.

Welcome to steemit! Not a fan of religion but I love a great spiritual being:) New follower here, follow back if you may, cheers!

Jamal thanks... i followed back already.

This is a really cool insight into your unique life! I had a mainly Christian upbringing, but we were always taught to respect others views. And I can understand where you are coming from with your post, we lose faith with the distraction of religion.

I've Upvoted for sure. happy to meet you in this big family.
looking forward to your next post.
You can follow my food blog to know more about me @fatkid

fatkid lol...i love food.follow you for sure.

Welcome to Steemit @esther-may :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful tips to get you started:

I go to church first to praise and worship God. Second in order to learn more about the Bible and God and be convicted by the message and the Holy Spirit in order to be a better follower. Thirdly I go for fellowship of like minded people who will encourage me and help me grow in my faith.

and we have a pure heart here...you are the real MVP

To worship God, to be forgiven by Him, and to receive Him according to His biblical command.

That's the general impression....but most people have other reasons...not necessarily pronounced.

Where I go, that general impression is not usually false. People under that roof have sacrificed too much just to be there, for them to not take it seriously!

scarificed? I believe Christ already took care of the "sacrifice" part. yeah?

I also agree with the aspects of the church you mentioned. I think the standard is not the church but the Bible.
Anyway, nice to meet you~ : )

thanks Skan...nice to meet you too

So many reasons people go to church these days...but the sole and most important is to worship God. This millennial is getting their priorities fucked up. Welcome to steemit...Esther or is it May?! Hmm

Its Esther lol... you right on that fucked up priority thingy... religion would either fade on one part and the other would be the extremists

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56714.19
ETH 2341.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37