If You're Not Tech Savvy, You're a Muggle

in #relationships8 years ago

My good friend Cal Evans of the PHP community lovingly jokes about non-programmers as "muggles," referring to the regular people in Harry Potter without magic skills. You might think that's a bit unfair to those who aren't computer savvy.

I'm going to make an argument for why you'd be wrong.

To fully appreciate my argument, I hope you're familiar with the Saturday Night Live skit, Nick Burns, Your Company's Computer Guy. If you're not (and I guess I'm dating myself here, since this is from 1999), please head over to the NBC website and give this a watch.

nick_burns2b96f.png

Image Credit: screen cap from nbc.com

Have you ever had to ask your tech friends for support? Did you feel kind of stupid? Did they give you a "Move!" or a "Was that so hard!?"?

Here's Why

Technology is really, really hard. It changes exponentially and requires incredible patience. Unless you've spent hours or even days trying to debug thousands of lines of code to find the one reason why your software isn't working as you expected, you may not fully appreciate just how difficult it is.

Often, when it comes to computers and technology, muggles just want a quick answer. They see the computer as a tool to help them accomplish something, and they are right. Unfortunately, it's a very complex tool operating on multiple stacks of innovation. Some people have spent decades of their lives understanding those layers, pulling them apart, and teasing out meaning from what sometimes feels like chaos. Those who stare at screens for hours on end, sometimes skipping a night of sleep to figure something out, those computer nerds and geeks, they are wizards in a world of muggles because they have knowledge and skills which are hidden to most people.

They are often greatly unappreciated.

If you need help with a technical problem, and you haven't spent the months or even years required to fully understand how the system works, and you want quick answers so you can get on with your task, what your body language, tone of voice, and impatience communicates to the techie is this:

My time is more valuable than yours.

If you're saying, "I don't have time to figure this out right now, I just need it to work. I have important things to accomplish," then you're discrediting the years of training, study, and effort that went into understanding that system. You're implying it's a waste of time to sit at a monitor, reading RFCs, learning specifications, tinkering with things until they break and then figuring out how to fix them. You're saying that's a stupid way to spend your valuable time.

The irony is, the person you need help from did exactly that. They sacrified their valuable time to understand something on a deep level. You want the results of all that effort. You want the answer so you can move on.

If the person you're interacting with acts a little like Nick Burns, if they treat you like a muggle, it might be because they know exactly how you feel about the value of the years of life they spent trying to figure things out. Things you consider not worth your time to understand.

The antidote?

Be Grateful

Recognize the value of their expertise and the time they invested to figure things out. Show them respect as experts. By all means, ask, but do so respectfully and be open, teachable, and ready to invest some time of your own. Don't expect them to be as good with people as you are. Remember, they stare at computers all day. What may seem obvious to you socially might be completely foreign to them. In the world of human relations, they might be the muggles and you the wizard.

Appreciate your techie friends and value their time. In the future, their wizard powers will only be in higher demand as technology continues to influence every area of our lives.

LukeStokes01712.png

P.S.
If you enjoyed this, check out 5 Keys to Preventing Marketers and Developers from Pissing Each Other Off.

Sort:  

Aint that the truth @lukestokes. My "day job" is a database administrator. End users can get very frustrating, especially when they ask about the same issue several times when I previously provided the info.

What's more is I don't consider myself to be very tech savy. I cannot program code, etc. I'm able to handle to one software I know on a admin level that is very user friendly, which just adds to the fact that anyone can do it if they take a few minutes to learn.

It's funny to me how often we're tempted to just reply with "RTFM." Our helpdesk team sometimes rants within our private Slack channel before going back to patiently reply to the customer for the second or third time with the exact answer they need which they clearly didn't read the fist time. It's true, anyone can learn this stuff, but they often think it's not worth there time, which causes all the problems. It's funny too how when you understand one thing technical, you're supposed to understand everything. "Oh, it uses electricity? Ask the tech guy to fix it."

That last line summed it up! :-)

You nailed it man! Being a programmer requires lots of patience, not only for find the proverbial needle in the haystack but also in dealing with people who don't appreciate how difficult it is to keep up with technology and what it takes to get good at it.

Thanks for the encouragement. I've been thinking about this post for a long time, so it was nice to finally get it out there. :)

Being one of those 'non-techie' types myself.., I don't think it's unfair, at all. But we still refer to you 'techie' types as -- geeks, dorks and nerds :)) :)) Just Kiddin'... Gotta have a sense humor, right?! CHEERS @lukestokes
P.S., I totally appreciate everything you guys do and all those hours of staring at a computer screen so we can have amazing platforms like this, where we all can interact with one another!

Thanks @macksby. Yeah, this platform is amazing. I see a lot of "Dan bashing" here and there, but I really respect what he and his team of developers have done. This is some amazing stuff.

Haha, couldn't agree more. Cheers.

So very true. I'm not a programmer but having messed with the most basic of computer programs (in BASIC of all things if you forgive the pun) I remember how complex and difficult that simple stuff was.

Anything above that level must grow exponentially more complex and I think finding a bug is like looking for a needle in a proverbial haystack where the needle is microscopic and the haystack is the size of a football field.

Humans aren't really designed for algorithmic thinking in a logical sort of way - at least most humans aren't and looking for something like that is incredibly taxing on the brain.

I think this applies to a lot of things in life. Most of us are ignorant of what other people do and how hard their work is. It is easy to just assume you are the only one whose time is valuable.

I think this is partly a function of our ego-centric narcissistic society which encourages us to think we are special and unique.

Wait... I thought I was special and unique? Heheh. Well said.

Oh man, I don't know whats up with the random events of coincidences lately, but this is becoming absurd, hahah.

I just checked out Streemian some more, put in my 2 alt accounts I had and even a friend joined my trail now, while at the same time I'm at home watching Harry Potter the first movie and you used the word muggle in the title.

Just, wow. I was going to make a post about my trail later, I have to add this random coincidence. Yesterday it was Jewels the cryptocurrency, now this. :P

Also great job on Streemian btw!

Oh, Streemian isn't mine, that's all @xeroc and he's been working on it for months.

I find it funny how often we as humans try to find value in coincidences. :)

Ah, my bad must've gotten the names mixed up. Not sure what you meant by finding value in them, just thought it was a funny coincidence by your title.

Maybe "value" is the wrong word, but quite a few interesting things are done in the name of coincidences as if something magical happened. Makes me chuckle. We all do it because probabilities are hard, yo. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94