My Year Of 2017 on Steemit

in #reflection7 years ago

Who is Enjar? Introduction , Steemit Lice, My cat, Embezzlement, Fiftywords, Charity, Comment Sections, Enjoy Playing, Can I Giveaway, and 100 Days.

woot.jpg

Taken by @enjar edit with Lunapic

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@enjar/greetings-steemit-introduction-post

One of my most awkward posts to date on Steemit my introduction! Somehow even though it didn’t even start with a photo in it (I edit one in later on.) It was not my worse blog post!

To say the Steemit community brought out the welcome bandwagon and swept me up is an understatement. I was made so welcome here I spent quite a few weeks afterword’s interacting with other new members in their intro blogs. I made some guides to help new people out. I answer quite a number of questions.

The kindness that was showed to me I went out and did my best to give it back to the new community. Somehow now my account is already 201 days old. Felt like only last week I was fumbling around trying to work out how to do things here--I guess I still am.

coversteemitlice.jpg

Pexels edit with Lunapic

https://steemit.com/discussion/@enjar/do-you-check-your-following-for-steemit-lice

While I was new I had some growing pains. Mostly it was my feed. I had followed quite a number of new people and well some of them spammed resteems and “NSFW” posts. But I swear your honor she said she was a church woman who were wholesome before I clicked follow--honest. So after a while, I started finding the trouble people and removing them.

I started to spend every week checking in on everyone I was following. Often over the weekend and it took a few hours a week. After a while, I managed to make my feed a manageable speed that I got to enjoy reading and supporting those I wished to follow.

It’s somewhat shocking I’m down to following only 49 people. I guess that makes me a bit of an abnormal person here! A follow from me carries some weight even if my upvotes do much due to my low voting power.

mycat.jpg

https://steemit.com/cat/@enjar/in-loving-memory-of-my-cat

This was the saddest moment of 2017 that I least shared publicly on the blockchain. My cat passed away after Hurricane Irma. So I shared his life story the best I could remember it so it would always be there on the blockchain in my days of need. I miss you.

embezzledfunds.png

Pexels edit with Lunapic

https://steemit.com/business/@enjar/embezzlement-and-fraud-using-basic-internal-controls-to-protect-a-company

Believe it or not, this was on the third blog I made on Steemit. What I feel was one of my more polished blogs I have published during the year 2017. Maybe it was me growing up watching too many American Greed type of shows or just my hatred of companies getting scammed by their own employees. So I wrote a bit about my own experiences when it pertains to internal controls. It was a fun and passionate thing to write about.

Don’t you worry though I don’t tend to write such “interesting” and heavy business topics here these days. I have a bit of a love/hate relationship with video games.


spaceship.jpg

Pexels Edit with Lunapic

https://steemit.com/fiftywords/@enjar/50-word-story-contest-week-18-live-like-a-fringe-space-pilot

50 words were one of the longest contests I had contently entered almost every week. I’m a rather large fan of space-themed video games so when I can write about spaceships well –I do.

Even after the contents stopped being a thing for a while I was doing a few 50 word short stories usually a couple in a single blog. I’ve not done any in a few months now but I could always return if I just felt like putting out another collection of short 50 word stories.


toughbutfaironcharity.jpg

Pexels edit with Lunapic

https://steemit.com/charity/@enjar/tough-but-fair-on-charity

I strong believe in giving back when you can. I wrote this guide when a lot of natural disasters were happening in the USA and a few other places around the world. Saddens me deeply seeing all the scam “charity” popping up trying to steal people’s good intentions and will for their own greedy needs in life.

That blog was so long I ended up making a short table of contents for it. It clocked in at around 4,800 words. I promise future readers I’ll try and make blogs much shorter than that these days –no guarantees though! Passion can lead me down a very long road sometimes.


coverlight.jpg

Pexels edit with Lunapic

https://steemit.com/howto/@enjar/taking-advantage-of-comment-sections

What I’m most known for on Steemit is not something you will just find under my blog sections. I have often joked I am a Comment Aficionado. I have been known to spend 30 minutes to a few hours on just a single comment. Sometimes my comment dwarfs whatever I was replying back to. While I do my best to keep them less than 1k words these days. I must rather leave a comment then try and make a blog out of it. I feel it just takes away from having a conversion if every comment ever left was a link to a blog about “what they thought or wanted to add.”

So I wrote up that quick guide for anyone wanting spice up their comments. I’ll admit most time I don’t follow most of my own recommendations. Why I hardly use an image when I leave a comment except for special occasions most of the time.

I do however believe strongly that comment sections can be filled with other things than just spam. I’m a big supporter of this and do spend a fair amount of my daily time leaving comments and trying to engage with other people outside of my own blogs. It’s part of my organic growth model after all.


coverimgpathofexile.png

Screenshot taken by @enjar

https://steemit.com/gaming/@enjar/why-i-enjoy-playing-path-of-exile

For most of my time spent on Steemit, I'm used to having to go elsewhere to get my comment fix in. the community support to the tune of 50 comments, in the end, was a very happy moment for me here on Steemit. Sure the payout reward was nice but 50 comments on my own blog!!!!!!!!!!!

As you can see I took up that opportunity and I owned it. Special thanks to the team over there at Curie that gave me one of my happier moments on the blockchain. Without them, that blog would have never gotten such engage in the comments



Pexels edit with Lunapic

https://steemit.com/experiment/@enjar/conclusion-of-social-experiment-can-i-giveaway-5-sbd-total-in-a-gift-economy

Nowadays you would think you could give away to 5 people 1 SBD each why you be crazy not to take up such an offer. Well back when I tried I failed miserably! Nothing like feeing you are invisible and lost in a sea when you can’t even give away money.

Which at the time also proved a point I wanted to make. Trying to toss small amounts of money at people in giveaways is not a great way to grow your following. You either have to go big or go unnoticed.


enjarvschallenge.jpg

Pexels edit with Lunapic

https://steemit.com/minnowsunite/@enjar/days-59-to-72-of-100-days-fitness-health-challenge

So throughout my time on Steemit, I tried to start and do a few series or even long-term things. Like a 100-day health and fitness challenge. Let’s just say I got bored of more or less posting similar results every week that I just stop posting it to the blockchain. I feel that was kind of cheating the whole point of it in the first place.

The good news is I at least try and live a healthier lifestyle then I was. I still get on the treadmill, I still mostly only drink water for fluids and I really focus on my eating portions. Am I still an unhealthy weight? Absolutely and it’s something I try and work on weekly. I’m not trying to diet myself to a better life It’s a lifestyle change I made to one day be a very happy and healthy person. With that in mind, I’m really not into more “health” advice. I have a very long-term 3-year plan and I’m just going to stick with it. I’ve tried to cheat it off for years now I’m just going put in the time. While I am sharing it on the blockchain? More than likely not it’s just not very interesting for me at least.

For 2018

If you have made it all the way down here you must be asking by now WHAT IS YOUR NICHE ALREADY MAN. I thought I was very clear on this-- it’s other people’s comments sections....

I do have goals for 2018 though and Steemit is on them. There will be some gaming content, some life stuff, and whatever else that is on my furry brain. After all, I’m a freaking unconfirmed time traveling cat. Now if only they fix BTC already so it will shoot up to 50k each. Guess I’ll just keep working on that Steemit space rocket to the moon.

Information

Unless otherwise cited photos taken @enjar

Enjarupvote3.jpg

Pexels edit with Lunapic

Sort:  

Hey there! First of all, I am SINCERELY sorry about your cat. That's a very hard thing to deal with. I couldn't bear it and yet I know it will come. Secondly, I've been on steemit about the same length of time as you, I'm constantly culling who I follow just because of... reasons. I think you read my post about the 5:1 ratio. If not feel free to call me crazy. Jan 2cd makes my 7th month here, and that leads to me third point I've made plenty of embarrassing posts lol. Like esoecially when I thought my posts weren't posting but they were. 😅
Since you know I don't take it lightly, guess what? Imma follow you. =)

Thank you for the kind words. Those hard earned follows are always the most rewarding on a platform like Steemit.

I did read the about 5:1. It’s always interesting when scarcity is created people seek after it.

That is SO true! Very rewarding for sure. Happy New Year my new friend. Did I see you live in FL? That makes you an #eastcoaststeem (ian) .... I will follow & curate you there

I am, was not aware of that tag. I’ll consider using it if I ever have a topic that is more related to it! Unless it’s just seen and used as an all-purpose tag just as a way of saying “I live on east coast.” Sometimes finding that 5th tag is a stretch.

Oh you can use it for that purpose of course. I mainly put it there so you could see what it was & I could be sure to imclude you in the curation there. =)

You deserve all the success you have and even more.You sure are a hard working person that is trying to provide the best content possible on the Steemit platform. I don't honestly mind if you make long posts because the people that are willing to support you and know you as a person that provides valuable content they will read it no matter the length of the post.

What I'm going to say is thank you for contributing to the Steem Community and I'm looking forward to your next posts.

Thank you. Everyone has something different to offer on this platform and that’s what makes it so great.

I’ll admit it’s not the smartest thing in the world to make extremely long blogs even more so if you have points in them where you could break them up and make a miniseries. Three is a very small group of people here who are well known and successful for having the long blogs. For the most part people are better off at creating shorter content.

Have a great week and thank you for stopping by.

Its preferred for posts to be as precise as possible because people don't have a lot of time to read,etc but my point is that those who know that you are an amazing content creator they will stick with you regardless the length of the post. So don't you worry and keep doing what you do, we are here to support you.

This post has been deemed resteem & upvote worthy by your friendly @eastcoaststeem ran by @chelsea88 (not a bot)

Congratulations @enjar! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63588.38
ETH 2595.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81