My Recipe for Soy Bolognese: Steemit How To Contest for Friday by @zpedro

in #recipe7 years ago

Soy Bolognese

One of the first things I learned to cook when I became a vegetarian was the Soy Bolognese. Not only it because is simple to make and it's highly adaptable to everyone's taste, but also because it tastes very similar to the meat Bolognese.

Since then I learned how to cook many other things, just like the amazing lentil curry. But I still enjoy the Soy Bolognese, and I do it often when having guests that are not comfortable eating vegetarian food.

Today I'm gonna share with you how I make Soy Bolognese. As always you can change almost all the ingredients to fit your taste and your fridge! Specially the vegetables part - I used carrots but feel free to add almost anything you have there.

For the spices part, I usually mix herbs with spicy stuff. In this case I mixed oregano with cayenne pepper because I love strong flavours. But you can use thyme or even rosemary instead, and chilli peppers or any other pepper, or even not use pepper at all.

What you'll need

  • 2 cups textured soy protein
  • 2 small onions
  • 4 garlic cloves
  • about 400ml tomato sauce
  • olive oil
  • soy sauce
  • 2 carrots
  • salt, oregano, cayenne pepper

How to make it

  • First of all, put the soy in a bowl and fill it with water. It needs to be hydrated for about 20 minutes so go ahead and start chopping the vegetables!

image


  • So now grab a big pan or pot and put some olive oil in the bottom together with the onions and garlic and BURN THOSE MOTHAFUCKAS!

image


  • When it starts smelling like heaven add the tomato sauce with a bit of water if it's too concentrated.

image


  • Now go and drain the soy and give it a bit of soy sauce.

image

image


  • Add the soy, the carrots and the spices and leave it for 20 minutes. As usual I have a GIF for you to stare at, please do:

    image

    Source: giphy.com


  • Make some pasta (just put 4 handfuls of pasta in a pan with water and salt and heat) and eat! If you like, put it on the oven with some vegan (or non-vegan) cheese! A bit of parsley is also great :)
  • image

    Enjoy!!


    image

    If you enjoyed this post please consider:

    image


    Source: @runicar

    image

    Sort:  

    I'm not a vegetarian, but I think I would make this nonetheless! Thanks so much for your entry! Good luck!

    Thank you @aoart for you help and resteem :) it's a great recipe if you want to try vegetarian yourself or if ever you have a vegetarian guest, because it's so easy! I tried it once without saying it was vegetarian and some people didn't even notice :) hehe

    Sounds really good. I'll definitely give this a go!

    Greetings! I am a minnow exclusive bot that gives a 5X upvote! I recommend this amazing guide on how to be a steemit rockstar! I was made by @EarthNation to make Steemit easier and more rewarding for minnows.

    Requested by @zpedro

              Congratulations you have been upvoted because you, or a friend left a post in the NewbieResteem Post promotion Box. Discord Chat channel post Promotion Box.


    Ha Ha, truth in posting and cooking "onions and garlic and BURN THOSE MOTHAFUCKAS!" I liked that, and yes I love onion and garlic fried til they are dark brown to black, then you add in ......Good luck on the contest.

    "you have a good sense of humor, you may like the IFC games. Round 13 is just starting, and it is going to have a really really nice payout, you should try clicking @apolymask castle below for more info.


             

    Clicking on the images will take you to "Newbie Resteem Initiative info" - Our Discord Channel - abh12345's - IFC page

    We invite you to use our tag (#newbieresteemday) to connect with more of our members. To learn more visit: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

    I bashadow invite you to also click on the IFC Castle and learn about @apolymask and his game, be sure to tell them I sent you. As abh12345 has made lots of votes possible, apolymask thru his IFC game has made lots of fun possible.

    Lots of votes made possible due to the kindness of abh12345 and his Steemit Curation Leagues

    Thank you! I'll definitely take a look at IFC!

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.16
    TRX 0.15
    JST 0.028
    BTC 58665.29
    ETH 2302.95
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 2.51