Fermentation Adventures: Apple Cider Vinegar Using the Mother!

in #health7 years ago

Using the mother from my older ferment, I started a new batch of apple cider vinegar today.

I used the scraps from the apples I used for the empanadas yesterday, which is a common use for peelings and cores of apples. I saved them in the freezer until I was ready to start the batch.

I just packed the jar tight with apples, set the mother on top as well as a bigger flat piece of apple to help hold everything under the water. I made a sugar water and poured it over the top until everything was covered. Covered with a coffee filter and set aside, it'll be 6 weeks before this is ready to harvest.

Check out some of my other recent posts!

Off Grid Update: Batteries for Days
Off Grid Update: 1000w Charge Controller
Living in the Clouds: Stormy Gray Puffs

Sort:  

Interesting. I do enjoy apple cider vinegar but I never thought about making it myself. Have you done this before?

And what will you use this for?

We use it for all sorts of things. I've only had one successful batch so far and our birds drank it haha

Ha! I didn't know that birds even liked apple cider. lol Good luck and best wishes on Steem!

It's great for chickens! And any birds, but just like for us its good for their tummies. When this is done, I'll feed the fermented apple pieces to my chickens.

Ahh. Well, chickens deserve healthy digestive systems, too, I guess. lol

They do indeed. This is why I give my pet chicken treats like fermented ginger pieces.

Great post! I love apple cider vinegar I'm pickling onions in it now 😊

That sounds tasty!

Really nice post. Six weeks is a long time to wait indeed :) upvoted and followed u. Please review my new blog on meditation and provide your feedback if possible. Regards Nainaz.

Organic apple cider vinegar is a staple in my household. @braveboat I also have never thought about making my own... until now. Thanks @lily-da-vine

Give it a try, it's pretty cool to have some home made stuff! I also let some of my kombucha go to vinegar on purpose because that stuff is great to have on hand, I like it better than ACV

I thought I'd steemed it all, when I read the sign ...
Come, read the adventures of lily-da-vine
For she was fermenting again and all be cider,
self, I said I have to sit down and writer her.

Now she likes to pack those jars so apple tight
And she is on top of that mother all right
And those apple cry pour some sugar one me
But she filters the sugar with water your see.

Why she is scrapping with the apples? No Clue.
She used to go scrapping with the kraut. It's true!
But now she is peeling out vinegar cider
Self shall I steemit with verse and write her?

Looks like cider in the making!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58484.86
ETH 3100.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40