You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "What's for Lunch?" Healthy Recipe Series #6 - Roasted Tortellini & Spicy Lemon Brussels Sprouts

in #recipe7 years ago

This does look good and summery. I like your idea of dividing up the vegetables and tortellini to make it better (for the lactose intolerant one in my family).
I do have a question that is unrelated but you may know the answer.
Why wash mushrooms?
Why not just brush them off and not have them absorb water?

Sort:  

I simply meant to clean off the mushrooms, you may definitely brush them off instead! I am just used to rinsing all my fruits and vegetables so I automatically tossed them in the strainer without thinking about it haha!

I just wonder why so many recipes say to wash the mushrooms and hoped you might provide an answer in general.

I'm not sure. If I had to guess, I would assume it's because while brushing them off may get the dirt, washing will get germs from handling and transport, pesticides, etc. Really everything from a grocery store should be washed before eating and that's what many of the packages say

Thanks. Just wondering...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64785.95
ETH 3471.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51