Papa Rodin Quotes #2 - Black Thoughts

in #quote6 years ago (edited)

Greetings, Steemians and Steemettes!

Back when I was younger, I was a huge fan of Fort Minor. I don't even know if anyone knows that name anymore. It came naturally to me because previous to that, I was a big Linkin Park fan as well. With Fort Minor being Mike Shinodas own project where he made songs with a lot of semi famous other hip hop artists, it was quite a different direction from Linkin Park but still very enjoyable. Todays quote is one of these quotes that you don't really notice at first. Today, being a bit older and a little bit more wise, I can appreciate the quote from the Song "Right Now" that I will talk about hereafter.

62566+.JPG 50 Greyshades of Rodin

Fort Minor & Styles of Beyond - Right Now

That's the full title of the song in question. It has a couple years on it's back by now, but it aged somewhat well I would say. Fort Minor had some really great songs in general, so I can recommend looking into that if you can enjoy listening to some Hip Hop. This Song isn't even one of my favorites overall, but today, I was wondering what I would post about and came to notice that one thing I did quite regularly recently was actually use the quote I will be talking about.

The quote in question comes at the 3.11 mark.

"One mans trash is the next mans treasure, one mans pain is the next mans pleasure".

One mans trash is the next mans treasure, one mans pain is the next mans pleasure

Some things in life we just have to grow into. If you would have asked me to look at this line a couple years ago, I wouldn't have minded it much I guess. In fact, I think that I only have given it proper thought since this year, even more so since I have started around here on Steemit.

Being around here for four weeks and having had a great time overall, I found myself talking to different people about it and recommended to them that they should start as well. I don't know if this is the German archetype speaking or just bad luck regarding the people I surround myself with, but all of them would reply the same way.

I don't have anything interesting to talk about anyway.
I wouldn't know what I would want to write.

Or, my favorite

I don't want to post trash content.

Who am I to judge?

Well, wanting or not wanting to do anything is their prerogative of course. While I do think that thinking this ways comes at their loss, I can understand where they are coming from. Most people do not exactly get encouraged to just go out to live out their creative or artistic potential and passions. Wanting to stand out gets discouraged, mishaps and unfortunate events get blown out of proportion while good things and deeds are being left unnoticed. I suppose these are diseases all over the world. And even if we see someone doing well with something he loves, we just disregard it by saying that the person in question was lucky.

That happens to myself as well even now. Of course, I do know better, but the mind still manages to trap itself in old thinking ways. But I'm getting better about it.

So who am I to judge? Well, I am not actually asking myself that. I want to ask every person who gave me any of these excuses for not just pursuing something. While we humans are fundamentally the same, we do differ heavily in the many facets to express these foundations.

The joke you laugh about may be offensive to me.
The woman I find attractive may look hideous to the next guy.
Someone enjoys a lengthy well written post, another one just a meme picture.
I love sitting in my room, being alone while someone else is probably yelling his lungs out in unison with hundreds of others at a concert.

You get the idea. We live in the worst possible time to be timid. Expressing yourself has never been either as important nor as easy nor as profitable as it has been these days and god knows whether it will remain this way. Be it Instagram, be it Steemit, Facebook, Youtube, a lot of people who are now where they are managed to get there because they were not afraid to express themselves and to do it with endurance and resilience.

Or they were afraid and did it anyway which, in a way, is even more commendable.

What if they hate it? What if they hate me?

What if they love it? What if they end up loving you and what you do? You never know until you try, right? Sometimes, the odds won't be in your favor and you will make some people just be like "meh". That's great, let them. For any number of these people coming and passing, there will be at least one who will enjoy what you do or provide. And there will always be another one who shares that same notion.

For the last couple of weeks, I just posted what I felt like posting and received quite a lot of suggestions, ideas and encouragements towards the many different things I posted about. While all useful on a technical level, what I appreciate the most about that is the appreciation people showed to me for the content I provided. I enjoy a good upvote as much as the next man, but a good conversation about a topic gives me even more of that.

Now imagine if I would have weaseled myself out of the whole deal?

Now that would have been terrible. A great piece of valuable experiences left untouched.

So what is the bottom line here?

  1. Never let your own doubt stop you from doing anything. Especially not yourself.
  2. For every man that hates what you do, say and represent there will be another one that will enjoy it. Focus on the latter.
  3. Don't be quick to misjudge yourself. It usually ends up with you underselling yourself.
  4. Listen to some Fort Minor if you want. After listening to "Right Now" while reading this post, I highly recommend "High Road".

Read more of Papa Rodin!

Papa Rodin Recommends - Dustsweeper

Papa Rodin Reads #3 - "Rough Draft" by Sergej Lukianenko

Papa Rodin Presents - Bookcases

Papa Rodin announces the Winner! - Also some miscellaneous stuff

Papa Rodin Challenges #2 - Steem Basic Income Edition

7 Day Positivity Challenge - Recapping

Papa Rodin Profiles #1 - The Black Panther

Papa Rodins Promotes #1 - Found some great posts for you!

Papa Rodin Quotes #1 - The Joker

Sort:  

My younger sister listened to Linkin Park in the early 200's and it was pretty loud to me but they grew on me over the years.

My Cousin was a fan back then which is how I got to know them myself. First Song I came in contact was "Numb" I believe.

Didn't enjoy most of Linkin Park after Meteora though. The direction they developed into wasn't mine.

I like Numb. I listen to a few Linkin Park songs, because some of their songs are motivational, like a marching off to war music. The beat pumps me up. But I am not really into heavy metal, a lot of screaming. I can handle some rock. So, yeah, newer Linkin Park songs are generally not as exciting.

I think that with newer Linkin Park Songs, it was the opposite. The Rock part was cut too short in favor for other genres, which didn't work as well.

Your post was manually selected and voted for by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with support of @curie and its train of votes. About IINC: here. About Curie: here.

Oh, my, thanks a lot, I appreciate it! I did not expect this, you really caught me off-guard!

Was it someone in particular who discovered/recommended my post? I want to thank him.

Your welcome. We discovered the post ourself.

Well in that case, thanks again to everyone involved in the process!

This post received upvote from @tipU :) | @tipU voting service | For investors.

Nicely done, I have never listened to the Fort Miner but I have used the trash / treasure comparison plenty of times in my life so I know where that is coming from and surely does hold true.

When I did a quick google search, I found that there are other sources for similar quotes as well. Unsurprisingly so, of course. I still focused on the one I was able to actually relate to myself though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63022.98
ETH 2580.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72