Love the skin your in!

in #quote6 years ago (edited)

53755165-30e0-464b-9cca-5a89c4e6a501.jpeg


Acceptance is key.

It took a long time for me to accept the changes my body had to endure to survive. But survive I did and enjoy the life I have been given I will.

I spent a long time crying every time I saw my body in the mirror and even longer hating on myself, none of which helped me find the person I used to be. Only acceptance of the person I had become gave me the freedom to be the person I used to be and more.

I am a survivor and I love the skin I am in for it gives me the life I can now live.

I would love to hear your experiences of making peace with yourself.

Please comment away, I upvote good comments and aim to answer all non-spam and some spam for fun.

What to know more my story check out these posts:

How I got flipped Inside Out... For REAL! Featured in @thesteemengine
Love isn’t always shit free. Featured in @thesteemengine and #themagnificentseven
Butt naked with 2500 other cruise line passengers! Featured in @qurator & @asapers


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

After reading this post and your introduce yourself post I can say only that you are one absolutely awesome human being. You took an obstacle, kicked it's ass, made it your bitch and are educating and inspiring others with your story and life. Awesome! My biggest struggle early on in life was addiction. I say was because by the grace of God I have been addiction free for many years (outside of coffee and cigarettes). I do still struggle with an annoying type of OCD but I too have learned to live it and even laugh at myself.

Erin, You keep doing you and keep up the great work and positive attitude. You rock!

Thank you. There a few years what it totally kicked my are so it nice to be on the flip side. I still struggle some days with the mental health side of it all but each day is another I get to live that could have been stolen from me. Thsnk thou for taking the time to find and read my into post. 😁

It was my pleasure Erin! I can only imagine how tough something like that must be at times but you have a strength that most people can only admire.

Our journey with our self-worth is a mix of fascinating, intensely painful and jubilant.
Survival is vital.
As I've gotten older I've had to come to terms with certain changes. I was always the 'guy that never ages' with abs etc to everybody else up to a couple of years ago, but when you lose an organ and you're in your mid 40's & your body starts to change, you either have to accept what you can't change and change what you can, even if it's a lot harder to do than it used to be, or accept all of the change.
Aging and body deterioration are great ego workshops.
That being said, we often exaggerate the worst self-perception in our own minds.
Many things other people don't even notice most of the time, because they're worried about what everybody else is thinking about them. Lol.
Great thought-provoking post. Bless ya

That being said, we often exaggerate the worst self-perception in our own minds.

Thank you for stopping by this post, its an oldie but a goodie. We are our own worse enemies when it comes to self-viewing. But body changes after surgery is always hard to deal with especially when you never return to the full health you had.

Yeah, like the old idiom “change what you can, accept what you can’t change and hope to have the wisdom to tell the difference.”

My main struggle is with changing the new bad habits that formed after surgery, as well as dealing with the limitation on what my body is capable of compared with before.

I’m still fighting the struggle every day. I know it’s just a (wrong) image in my head that reflects itself in a mirror. Still, I seem to be unable to change it.
I still have a long way to go towards acceptance, let alone love. But I feel I’m starting to learn. I’ve now reached a level when I can look in the mirror and say: “damn, you look good” like two times a month or so...
But that is more often than it used to be. Babysteps... ;0)

Not that it will help but the images I have seen of you. I think your beautiful.. im glad you have fpund enough love to appreciate yourself a few times a month. It really is a baby steps thing. I have days where im not as positive but I dont hate myself anymore which is a huge positive. Sending you some air hugs 🤗🤗🤗

Thanks. I often struggle with frustration, because however I know that my thoughts are wrong - I can even go back and see where it started, what caused it - but still I’m not (yet) able to make the switch.
But it’s good to feel that I’m finally starting to break free - even if it is with only babysteps. Every babystep is victory :0)

I know that my thoughts are wrong - I can even go back and see where it started, what caused it - but still I’m not (yet) able to make the switch.

You sre talking my language. I often tell @shai-hulud just that. I know what it is but I cant stop the feeling. Its insane what we do to ourselves daily. Fingers crossed this will not always be the way. X

I have this with so many things in my life. I’m fully aware of all the theories. I can give pep talks an therapeuthic advice to others, because I know the dynamics. I often tell them that I should listen to myself and take the advice I’m giving myself

I do recognize the patterns when they occur, but i’m simply not able to do somerhing about it.
This builds up frustration, I get disappointent in myself and so we’re back to square one.
I’m working on it, every day. Working hard.
Just recently someone told me that it might benefit me to let go; to stop trying to ‘fix my flaws*. I’ve been addicted to personal development for the last 20 years. I can honestly say I’ve come a really long way.
It’s only now I’m starting to realize that if you’re constantly trying to fix your flaws, you are telling yourself every day again that you are not good enough as you are today.
So I’m trying to let go, and just enjoy the moment, accept me with my flaws, trying to accept I have strenghts too (although I wouldn’t be able to make you a list - lol)
Babysteps... I know, I try and I can only hope that I will be able to
Put the knowledge into practice,,,

You look perfectly okay to me! Learning to love yourself is the first step to loving others. Thanks for sharing.

Very true, without self love you couldnt share the love woth others. See I told you not all of my posts are extreme adrenaline junkie things lol.

I'm happy to her you have reached this level. Even though I'm a man I've struggled with body image issues for most of my life - batteling eating disorders and such. Along with acceptance the second biggest part and arguably the most important and helpful to yourself and others is talking about your issues - being real - open and honest. When a person is stuck in the darkness seeing another standing in light can be a bastion of hope.

Thank you again for sharing. All the best to you.

Thank you so much for sharing your struggles. Both sexes have similar issues but its definitely highlighted more on the womans side in the media. Talking about it is also key. I never realised how many others I could help until I began being open about my struggles. They support I have receieved and been albe to give is priceless. Knowing your not alone is key. Thank you again for stopping by my blog.

I am so glad that you are now comfortable in your own skin! I hope others will be inspired to love their bodies after they read this! LOVE this!

Follow and an Upvote from me!

Thank you for being a ray of sunshine to start my morning! :)

Thank you! I appreciate the follow and upvote. I hope to help others by sharing my struggles and triumphs, as we all have both but its how we come out the otherside that counts. If I can help others find that side faster, than I have done good.. Thanks for stopping by, I hope to see you again soon.

You looked absolutely gorgeous @insideoutlet! I bless you with much grace and joy and as you go through your daily ups and downs. You are so much loved and blessed! :)

Thank you! 💜💜💜

Life is full of ups and downs its just how you handle them. Ive had good days and bad but all in all im alive and kicking and that is most important. 😁

Very happy for you. I can relate to how you were feeling exactly! Glad you are doing well and thanks for sharing!

Thanks @andrewsmodels. I like our newest post. The contest one. Your cyberpunk girl is awesome.

Loving ourselves from the inside out, then back again, from the outside in! :-D

Cheer up @insideoutlet! You looks just fine :)

Haha I am happy. But thanks for reconfirming it. 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67808.66
ETH 3248.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67