You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Love the skin your in!

in #quote6 years ago

I’m still fighting the struggle every day. I know it’s just a (wrong) image in my head that reflects itself in a mirror. Still, I seem to be unable to change it.
I still have a long way to go towards acceptance, let alone love. But I feel I’m starting to learn. I’ve now reached a level when I can look in the mirror and say: “damn, you look good” like two times a month or so...
But that is more often than it used to be. Babysteps... ;0)

Sort:  

Not that it will help but the images I have seen of you. I think your beautiful.. im glad you have fpund enough love to appreciate yourself a few times a month. It really is a baby steps thing. I have days where im not as positive but I dont hate myself anymore which is a huge positive. Sending you some air hugs 🤗🤗🤗

Thanks. I often struggle with frustration, because however I know that my thoughts are wrong - I can even go back and see where it started, what caused it - but still I’m not (yet) able to make the switch.
But it’s good to feel that I’m finally starting to break free - even if it is with only babysteps. Every babystep is victory :0)

I know that my thoughts are wrong - I can even go back and see where it started, what caused it - but still I’m not (yet) able to make the switch.

You sre talking my language. I often tell @shai-hulud just that. I know what it is but I cant stop the feeling. Its insane what we do to ourselves daily. Fingers crossed this will not always be the way. X

I have this with so many things in my life. I’m fully aware of all the theories. I can give pep talks an therapeuthic advice to others, because I know the dynamics. I often tell them that I should listen to myself and take the advice I’m giving myself

I do recognize the patterns when they occur, but i’m simply not able to do somerhing about it.
This builds up frustration, I get disappointent in myself and so we’re back to square one.
I’m working on it, every day. Working hard.
Just recently someone told me that it might benefit me to let go; to stop trying to ‘fix my flaws*. I’ve been addicted to personal development for the last 20 years. I can honestly say I’ve come a really long way.
It’s only now I’m starting to realize that if you’re constantly trying to fix your flaws, you are telling yourself every day again that you are not good enough as you are today.
So I’m trying to let go, and just enjoy the moment, accept me with my flaws, trying to accept I have strenghts too (although I wouldn’t be able to make you a list - lol)
Babysteps... I know, I try and I can only hope that I will be able to
Put the knowledge into practice,,,

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68148.22
ETH 3249.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67