ecoTrain Question Of The Week: What is the greatest gift you have given or could give? By TLK

in #questionoftheweek7 years ago (edited)

#questionoftheweek

What is the greatest gift you have ever given or could give?

Giving is such a great act if done willingly and with love. There are many forms and ways of giving and I quote what I have been learning from other steemians inspirational posts


source

From @bubke in his post: Children On The Road

Being a parent takes up all your time and energy. Nothing wrong with that. I think time and energy are the most valuable things you can give to someone.

Everyone nowadays is busy with something, working hard either seeking money, seeking love, or seeking knowledge. It seems that we don't have much time or energy to spare to our children and families, let alone to other people. And I agree with @bubke in that making the time and gathering the energy to give it to someone else (especially if it was your own children) is very valuable.


source

From @rok-sivante in his post: The Beggar Conflict

I have been so blessed in my life. And coming across people in such hardships, it impacts me on a deep level that doesn't make logical sense, were into try rationalize. Yet, I can empathise with such people, that it does hurt to look in their eyes, because I wish I somehow could do so much more to help. But I guess, at these points in time, the way to help is small - honouring the humble request for a tiny support.

And really, that support is more than just money.

Yeah, money is the means of exchange. But it's the deeper meaning behind the exchange where the value lies: the acknowledgement of their struggle and worth as a human being.

Maybe it's not that change that counts, but the effort to slow down and look them in the eyes as a real person, honouring their presence while most pass by and pay no attention.

These are such beautiful words of empathy and compassion to those who are less fortunate than us. Sometimes we think that giving them some money is sufficient for us to feel that we did our job. But as @rok-sivante beautifully put it, and I believe in what he said, it is more about acknowledging their struggles and honoring their presence and worth as human beings. A worth that they have forsaken to be able to ask for help.

**From @cryptoctopus, @rkrijgsman, @oleg326756, @nicnicy, @curie, @tumutanzi, @nikez452 and many other steemians (in no particular order) who give their support in different forms to their new fellow steemians


source

From @firepower in his post: Let's Talk—If Life Gave You A Second Chance
and the comment from @raghwendra about giving yourself a second chance
To be given another chance by the universe, by others and by ourselves is one of the greatest motivators to change into better us and to show the world the amazing substance of our souls. It is the way the universe and its angels tell us, here you go, go correct your past mistakes and start over with full power and support.

The above list in giving is not exhaustive by any means.

Still, to me Giving life is the most precious type of giving. It is true that we can't decide to give life to someone who is meant to die, but we can act as delivery personnel working for the Universe to deliver another chance in life to those who are meant to receive it. Blood and organ donations are the most noble means of giving another human a second chance in life. The moments these humans wake up to discover that it is not Game Over yet and that they can go back to play the game of life again, is something can not be translated into words neither can be described by feeling.


source

Another form of giving life is the process of creating and giving birth to a child. As a woman, I find that creating (with my partner) and giving birth to another generation of good people that are willing to give, would be the greatest gift I could give to myself and to the world.
Although not yet delivered, it is my intention to give this gift in the near future.

Finally, giving appreciation should be on the top of the list of the continual practices of giving

Many thanks for reading,
Dr. The Leaping Koala :D

Sort:  

I have given hope and acceptance to people in the past. People need the feeling that they accepted for who they are and loved. This is a good foundation for any changes or improvements that they then want to make.

Dear @wernertek, I believe that what you say is very true. Unconditional love and acceptance are a very essential foundation to build good on.

Thank you for sharing your experience and for your upvote :)

Bless you :D

I have not had the opportunity to be able to give the gift of life. I am glad that you have had the experience

Hi @sostrin, I haven't had the opportunity to give the gift of life birth yet, but it is in my intention and I am sure the Universe will make it come true soon :D

Thanks for the comment and for giving other gifts as well ;)

Back when OneLaptopPerChild initiative was new, I went around my university, visiting different groups and telling them about the initiative and what it means to kids in Africa, Asia and South America to get their own free laptop that they will learn to program. I managed to raise enough money to donate two laptops through the OLPC foundation. I have run many charity fundraising campaigns in my life, but this one still holds a very special place in my heart.

Hi @oleg326756, Thanks for the visit, the read and the comment.
This is such a sweet and amazing experience to share. No wonder you are so generous, because you are used to giving to others.

Such giving, even of we don't see it with our own eyes, can be a life changing event for someone else and they will be thankful to you for the rest of their life because your impact on their lives will hold very special place in their hearts as well.
I know because I was a recipient of such generosity in my life and I will never forget to send my appreciation to the person who gave as long as I live.

Many thanks for sharing and keep up the good work president Oleg ;D

Nicely organized post with great images! Weird, I have two girls but still never think I'm the one who gave them life. Actual life is still mysterious. I was a vessel. And the cargo very precious.

That is a very lovely way to say it. I very much agree with you

Actual life is still mysterious. I was a vessel. And the cargo very precious.

I have not yet become a vessel or delivered a precious cargo yet, but I have no doubt it is an amazing experience.

As for my post, I didn't mean that we are (as parents) give life to our children. Life is given by the Universe a.k.a God, if you believe in that. But as parents, we help in the creation process (egg and sperm carrying DNA code to make a specific body to carry the soul). We also (as mothers) help in giving birth to this life that is meant to be created. So we are vessels AND delivery personnel too ;)

Bless you and your girls :D

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @theleapingkoala. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @theleapingkoala to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

Dear @soorajy, thanks for the upvote. But for such large content post, it would be great if you could share some more substantial comment, like an experience or an opinion. Otherwise, I can't share SBD with you.
Many thanks again :)

Congratulations @theleapingkoala! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71443.06
ETH 3660.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73