Mindful or MIND FULL?? - What is Mindfulness (Part 2)

in #psychology6 years ago

I hope everyone has taken a look at the first posting in this 'mini-series.' If not, please take a moment to see what was covered in that post. Here is the link it part 1 Mindful or Mind Full - Let's get started

mindfulness.jpg

8cA65M7Mi.jpg

What is Mindfulness?
Wikipedia - is the psychological process of bringing one's attention to experiences occurring in the present moment, which can be developed through the practice of meditation and other training.
Psychology Today - is a state of active, open attention on the present. When you're mindful, you carefully observe your thoughts and feelings without judging them good or bad. Instead of letting your life pass you by, mindfulness means living in the moment and awakening to your current experience, rather than dwelling on the past or anticipating the future.
Mindful.org - is the basic human ability to be fully present, aware of where we are and what we’re doing, and not overly reactive or overwhelmed by what’s going on around us.
The Great Good Magazine (UC Berkley) Mindfulness means maintaining a moment-by-moment awareness of our thoughts, feelings, bodily sensations, and surrounding environment.

8cA65M7Mi.jpg

As you can see depending on which website you go to. You actually get a similar but different answer as to what mindfulness is. In a nutshell. It is the process to calm your mind and bring your thoughts back to the moment. To not be judgemental or angry with yourself for that thoughts you are having.

When you have several stressors or triggers depending on what condition/illness you may have, you have become conditioned by past events to react a certain way. We mainly do this in an attempt to protect ourselves. When you come into contact with a trigger or stressor (that you may or may not know you have) your mind will always resort back to what it knows, what it has been conditioned to do. One of the best ways to break those cycles is to stop the thought process and come back to the moment.

A key element to being mindful is not to chastise or beat yourself up over the thoughts you are having. As it is referred to quite a bit 'a non-judgemental approach.' Accept that you have the thought and do a mindfulness exercise to bring yourself back to the now. This helps you to realize you are in control of yourself, of your thoughts.

One of the most important things to remember is, it is ok to have a variety of thoughts. It is ok to have the thought of suicide. It is ok to say you don't like yourself. It is ok to say you hate the world. That you hate when you do get angry or have irrational thoughts. That is one of the biggest parts to overcome in this process and therapy. Having hurtful or negative THOUGHTS IS NORMAL. It's how we deal with those thoughts that makes the difference. By practicing mindfulness, you will get to the point where you have the feelings and the thoughts. Acknowledge that is what is happening and then move on to an exercise to help you take back control of your thought pattern.

When we get stuck on the thoughts and feelings that we are hurting ourselves. That is not healthy. That is when we do or say hurtful things to ourselves and others. That's where the thought of revenge starts to take root. Allowing yourself to dwell and judge yourself for having these thoughts are what make us hurt more than what we were. It create this vicious circle that is hard to get out of. This is the part most people don't understand how difficult it is to get out of your own head. This is where they make the comments 'Just get over it." "Let it go, it's in the past" "It's over and done with why can you just move on." They don't and more than likely cannot understand those feelings and thoughts. The lack the empathy to be able to help you.

8cA65M7Mi.jpg

That's where I come in. If I can help 1 person with these postings, then I'm on the right track. I've been through all of this. It took 20 years to find someone to teach me what to do. I don't ever want anyone to go through the pain and suffering without having someplace to go. I am by no means an expert and this is such an overwhelming topic to begin with. As you can see from the first bit of this post, you can't even get 1 definitive answer about what mindfulness is.

The next post I will start to cover different methods of practicing mindfulness to bring you thoughts back to the now.

Line art courtesy : http://clipart-library.com

DQmeVCv1Rz2YZ5w6QCgJhb2Cvrm5E9R2RB5xnVv36cE92pU_1680x8400.png

Steemit Together.jpg

sig.jpg

Sort:  

All definitions share the same core, "be fully in this moment" taking into consideration that thoughts and emotions are aspects of this very moment and should be brought into un-jedgmental awareness. Being within our awareness thought gradually lose their energy leaving us less controlled by them.
I believe this topic is very critical to people on social and individual levels that is why I would like to thank you for making a series for it.

You're welcome. When I started looking into it more than what I have used it has blown me away all the differences and methods. Hopefully I can do it justice. I just know since been working on this personally, it has made a world of difference.

Good post 😀

Thank you :)

This is absolutely a beautiful post. I loved every second of it. I followed you so that I don't miss anything else!

It is so easy for our emotions to get the best of us. They overrun our mind and it beomes overactive causing us to lash out. I like to practice stopping in the moment I feel anxiety, taking deep breaths and telling myself that I need to relax. It truly works great. My mind will still have those same thoughts while I was angry or sad but I am able to control them better.

Great post, keep up the good work! I would like to nominate you in a contest that @simplymike is hosting. It is for #newbieresteemday, we have to nomite a newbie that we think provided quality content by leaving the link to their post. You will then have the opportunity for a resteem.

I also highly encourage you go to @terminallyill and enter his contest. It is running for the next few days. You have the chance to win a free membership to @steembasicincome. You get to enter one post that you have written each day the contest is running. There is also a winner picked everyday! It is a great way to get your post out there since you have the opportunity to post a different link each day.

Thank you. Will do that.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Interesting article. I'm actually right in the middle of the struggle you're writing about, meaning I know the theory, but still have to find a way to put it into practice.
I'm looking forward to reading your next posts, as they may help me to finally win the battle I've been fighting for so long.

I agree with @magicalmoonlight that you should submit your post to contest run by @terminallyill.
(By the way, @magicalmoonlight, congrats on winning day 2)

Then hopefully this will help. Everyone make is sound simple but it's practice and a fair amount of trial and error to find what's right for you. The next to posts will be methods to try out.

@tryskele, congrats, you're the first one to be selected to be resteemed for my #newbieresteemday - week.

During #newbieresteemday - week, I'll be resteeming posts from new Steemians of which I think they provide quality content that deserves an extra boost.
You can find the post about #newbieresteemday - week here

For further Audience reach try the #newbieresteemday Discord Chat channel post Promotion Box.

To learn about the #newbieresteemday initiative, visit: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

seal.png

Thank you so much @simplymike

I really like this mini series!! Went back and read part one first :) The concept of living mindfully really revolutionized my life and I love seeing other people talking about it and getting there too! I like how you point out thoughts are NORMAL lol this is a huge misconception with mindfulness and meditation and whenever I talk about it to others I get a 50% response rate of oh, I have too many things in my head or I an't just stop thinking.. but that is not what it's about lol it the complete opposite in fact - and you've pointed that out beautifully here!
Great post - looking forward to reading more of your series!

Thank you so much. It's sucks it took me so long to learn about this. Once I realized and could accept that negative thoughts are normal. Rather than being constantly chastise. "You have so much to live for why do you want to die? That's just dumb." It hit me that they didn't understand, then through therapy, learning mindfulness and EMDR(which I'll cover after this) It's turned things around dramatically.

EMDR helped me very much too! Wow what a synchronicity!! Im looking forward to your post on it. :)

This is a great article and was a much needed read for me personally. Thank you for blessing the community with such amazing work @tryskele!

Today is my #newbieresteemday - Congratulations on your quality content Newbie and as always, Keep Steemin’!

I invite you to learn more about the initiative and Come Join Us!!! at the Newbie Resteem Initiative.

join the Steemit Newbie Resteem Initiative Discord channel and connect with our community here: https://discord.gg/xcekaZU

#NewbieResteemDay.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58000.61
ETH 3105.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42