Maximum Capacity - Some Thoughts about Depression

in #psychology7 years ago (edited)

Source: pixabay.com

Disclaimer: This is a personal post, written around midnight on my phone. Nothing fictional, no story and not really scientific. Read at own risk.

I’ve been diagnosed with depression. It’s not bad enough that I need to take meds – at least not according to the therapist who diagnosed me. I’m extremely high functioning and you probably wouldn’t notice that something is wrong.

I’m doing alright at university, I’m extremely structured and can easily balance multiple tasks. I used to work two jobs and as you’ve probably seen, I post a text of significant length almost daily on here.

What you don’t know is that 80% of my energy is wasted on totally mundane things, like leaving the bed and showering on a regular basis. It takes immense self control for me just to keep living.

And sometimes I wonder, how would my life look like if I didn’t have to waste the majority of my energy? If I could actually use it to do things like studying? My current grades are mediocre, but that isn’t surprising. I barely study at all. And if you consider that, my grades are actually amazing.

If I were able to focus on studying, I’d probably be at the top of my class.

But I can’t.

I wonder how many people have the same problem. I wonder how scientifically evolved humanity would be if there weren’t people who are held back by their own brains.

I wonder what our world would look like if we were all able to live at maximum capacity.

Sort:  

What a touching piece. And sad.
I am saying this from a place of 'recovery'. - you sound very, very similar to me.

I have two conflicting issues with this ( as I am sure you encounter yourself)
1/ When I was receiving 'sympathy' for being in a shitty place - It only made things worse
2/ When I was looking inwards, trying to work out what was wrong with me - it only made things worse
3/When I said 'fuck all this' and walked away, with no money ( well $700), lived by the seat of my pants, and lived IN THE MOMENT, EVERYDAY, NO PLANS it got better.
I still get those moments of course, but now think the tools are unconsciously
hardwired - A bad week now, is no problem.
I wish you all all the luck in the world - look outwards, no matter how much you don't want to !- If you are looking out, you can't be looking in.

A personal perspective

Firstly, let me say I am sorry you are experiencing this condition. You haven't said what your medical provider has said about what level of depression they feel you are at and what treatment plan they recommend or you may have started. I have C-PTSD and experience varying levels of clinical depression myself. It is not something that you an just turn on and off by forcing yourself to do things at the clinical level. I'm also a professional recording artist and currently cannot feel music very well. It's hard. But I do have other small pleasures I enjoy like bicycling and trail riding (I have 2 bikes). I love the outdoors and I hop on my bikes and go as a matter of habit no matter how I feel, it helps but it doesn't cure. I don't know if you have ever heard of ketamine treatments, it's legal and available t ketamine clinics, you could google it. I'm hoping to get back in groove here to start earning again (I stopped for about a year because my son was in accident and was in coma for few months and I couldn't write). If I end up doing the ketamine treatment and you would like to know I will write about it and let you know. Take care.

Dear@suesa, you are a brave person to come out and talk about your condition. I think we all aware of this years world health day slogan - "Depression-lets talk" . If we seek help to analyse, we all have depression of some form. But it all depends upon the gravity and triggering factor. Sharing what you feel - is a already good sign that you are better than before posting this message. People with greater form of this condition usually dont do this as they feel self "worthlessness" and nullicity. From what i can see , you are already a step closer to out of this condition if you have been diagnosed appropriately.there must be a triggering factor to why you are feeling this way. Although my speciality is in eye surgery,I do also have patients who go into great depression when their diagnosis is such that no modern technology can restore their sight. Even they can be shown a pathway to happiness and normality with whatever vision they have left.life has been, is and will always be a constant batttle. As long as you dont lose hope, you always stand high and proud. Hope to hear from you soon. Regards.

I don't have anything insightful to say. I loved Migzillion's wish that you'll find something that will fire you through inertia, or a series of somethings. Hang in there. Clearly you know how to do that and are doing so. Just didn't want to read and pass by without sending you a virtual hug of some sort and hoping for you that the depression goes back whence it came. I can personally empathise from my own experience. I think you'll find strategies that can turn it around.

<3

If we could live our lives to the max, i think nobody would fight against each other anymore. Everybody is satisfied and happy.

I would like to relate to your depression on an emotional level, unfortunately, my brain chemistry doesn't like that and is almost fully operational 100% of the time for action. Is like I'm an energetic puppy.
There are some advantages to depression. It makes you more conservative and risks averse on a physical level. That's nice, if you don't want fractures and near death experience like the ones I've had. An argument even if weak can be made of how a small amount of depression in a biological sense in women is healthy.
I, on the other hand, will probably die by chewing a cable or something.

The tendency to chew on my headphone cables is the reason I switched to Bluetooth headphones :X guess I don't even get the positive effects :P

How does one chew headphone cables? Do you shake your head while using your tongue until you catch them? Becuase if you use your hands to put the cable in your mouth that beats the whole purpose of headphones as you are occupying at least one hand. unless you are a quicky-chewer.

You shove it in your mouth and then your hands are free again!

Geez, headphones are expensive I just can't get my head around it. (pun intended)
Maybe it was anemia. Sometimes people have something similar to Pica. Where they smell and chew their hair or cord-like objects. Well, forget I mentioned it.

Dear @suesa! I've been struggling with depression over 3 years now and I know exactly how hard it is to get out of bed and to take care of yourself. So many things can throw me off balance. For a very long time I did not speak about it with anyone, I just suffered quietly. I find it extremely helpful to talk about it with people, to try to sort thoughts out with another human being. My virtual hug to you. Those are super important. Sometimes I just sit alone and think to myself - I really need just a hug.

I wish all the best for you! You are simply amazing!

I wonder the same. I've not been capable of my full potential for very long time and sometimes I can't function at all.

Thanks for sharing your story with us man. Sometimes functioning can be so difficult when most activities seem so pointless, i hope you find a purpose that overdrives your depression! peace to you brother :)

Thank you :) (it's sister though)

I understand I how you feel. I've been diagnosed with Major Depressive Disorder in 2015 ever since my family started to fall apart. I had financial problems, relationship problems and also I'm doing really bad in my studies. Every single one of us wanted to live in an ideal world created by our own imagination, I can guarantee you that. The world ain't pretty but I've learned to look upon this life on a different angle. It's working so far and I'm not dependent on anti-depressant anymore. If you are strong enough, you will find that the reward waiting for you at the end of the road is proportional to the challenges that you faced currently, so hang in there. Your turn will come soon enough.

Sometimes our self is our worst enemy.
Sometimes you're around people you say you love and love you back, but you feel nothing but an empty space inside you.
Sometimes living is restrained to breathing in and out.

I've walked down that path...
You're not the only one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65858.36
ETH 3493.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53