Have you ever broken the law? □ Yes □ No

in #psychology8 years ago

The first-ever time I took other's money when I was 6. We were visiting my mom's friend, so we were guests. There were a few coins on the shelf in the hallway, just to buy one ice cream and gum. I looked around - no one was looking at me, so I put them in my pocket.

Yeah, of course my parents repeatedly said that I shouldn't take someone else's property because it's bad. But what was wrong with it - I really didn't understand.

“All men make mistakes, but a good man yields when he knows his course is wrong, and repairs the evil. The only crime is pride.” ― Sophocles, Antigone

Small crime always leads to a big crime.

A couple of years ago I realized where to that path was leading. Committing a small crime, even "harmless" (for example - to threw a candy wrapper near the urn, or just do not trying to threw it into) - you get this breaking-the-law-taste. Then after a while you'll commi more serious crime.

So more and more moften, I started to catch the thoughts about the next bad thing. And at one moment, I found myself stealing the soup bags in the supermarket, and thus I got used to look into shop windows in search of the next object of theft. 

“Some people steal to stay alive, and some steal to feel alive. Simple as that.” ― V.E. Schwab, A Darker Shade of Magic

Certainly it wasn't a matter of survival, it was just that nerves-and-ego-game. And also, the indulgence of animal instincts - to take what "was putted wrong" in my opinion.

Repetition builds character.

You get the taste of committing small violations, and thus appears the need to commit a greater crime.

Nowadays, I always guided by a traffic light when I'm crossing the road. Even when there's no one there. I understand that if I violate the rule, I'll start to plan more criminal actions in the future.

“To have once been a criminal is no disgrace. To remain a criminal is the disgrace” ― Malcolm X

I finally stopped to steal 6 years ago when I met my future husband, and I was ashamed. I didn't want his girlfriend had such blemish. He deserves the best.

With love,
NatiChi.

["Angel" painting © Natalia Chishchina (NatiChi) | 2016 | for this Steemit post] 

Other Yes-or-No posts:

If you like this, please support me with your votes, guys! ;)

Sort:  

There are over ten millions laws in the United States. Many of the are contradictory. I know this first hand because I was an ovder the road truck driver for almos three decades. Truckers break he law every day. They have no choice. If they do one thing it breaks a law of they DON"T do that thing they break another law. If they do nothing at all and stay in bed , you guessed it......they broke a law.

It's the same way other places too...
there's a couple of laws in place about almost everything. It's illegal if you do it. It's illegal if you don't. They're generally not enforced.

Unless you annoy someone in power.

No one breaks laws. You can not break true laws. Like those of physics and the universe. Statues of law of the supposed law system may be believed to be broken by someone. But if you don't believe in that law then you can't break that 'law'.
One way to look at this is someone causes loss, harm, or consequence to self or another. Otherwise if not then you probably didn't really break a law.

Yes , I do make a mistake , small crime to big one , from stealing a chocolate bars in supermarket to dealing a bad thing. But thanks God I never get caught . And before my name getting more big in those arena I quit. :) You should know when to stop and when you have to stop.

Very frank post. Not many people can open his "dark side" :)
And my answer is YES, no details.

Short answer...yes.

Radiant fallen angel...
Beautiful!
My childhood was unfathomable passion for iridescent beads. I could not resist the temptation to steal... Maybe I was a magpie in a past life :)

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58476.88
ETH 2522.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34