Do you know what you want? □ Yes □ No

in #psychology8 years ago

4 years ago, I realized that I didn't want anything. And I was proud that I got rid of obsessions and the burdensome duty to bring them to life. I thought I became "humble" and free from the dream-realization-agony. I found myself free from the fear that nothing would come of it. No desires, no fear. That's how I was thinking ...

But it was a mistake!

Without dreams and desires there is no any activity and the life itself. And yes, I was like a vegetable. But if to say honestly - not just vegetable, but a kind of "suffering vegetable".

And then I first did the "wish-list" exercise.

The task of the "wish-list" is to dream, to remember and to write down all of your desires. You should get a list of a 100 items. 

The first day I hadn't written a single line. On the second day - about 10 items. It was very difficult. As soon as another desire appears I started to think if I really wanted it, was it really my desire or I somehow got it from advertising, or maybe that was what my mum wanted, or maybe one of my friends ...

It was very difficult to relax and allow yourself to enjoy the various "stupid" desires like Barbie-doll that I dreamed of as a child.

The second time I did this exercise a year ago. Now it was very easy to write my wishes down. But still I got only about 60 items.

In the end, after writing these two sheets, my life had changed dramatically.

I put my dream on the most important place in my life. Thanks to the "wish-list" exercise I could see how to achieve my dream, and all these little desires became like a ladder to the happiness.

"To paint" was in both lists. And I've been painting for six months already. Besides, my husband has given me a doll from my childhood dream, and I feel like that little girl inside is still enjoying it.

With love,
NatiChi.

Sort:  

Your really good, I am still looking for what I want, would love to be able to paint or draw but tried both and useless at both of them

Thanks for your kind words, @karenb54!
I would like to recommend you Igor Saharoff - https://www.youtube.com/user/IgorSaharoff
It's in Russian, but I bet you still can learn from it. That's the artist who taught me to draw.

I will take a look thank you

wishlist idea is great, I have many wishes, but I dont have the list jet :( may be its time to start
nice portrayt!

may be its time to start

Surely. I believe there's no meaning to procrastinate ;)
Thank you for supporting my blog, @nekromarinist!
I do appreciate it a lot! :)

What I want is what makes me happy. And I am happy seeing your paint , this is great, good looking.

Thank you so much, @uziriel!
Such kind words do inspire me to continue! :)

You deserved it ! GodBless

agree with @nekromarinist. have many wishes and ideas but can't organize it, and always "jump" from one to another.

Thank you for your article, will make it today :)

Yeah, do it! ;) I believe it can really change your life for the best!
Good luck and thank you for your comment, @natord! ;)

So much warmth in this post! I loved it :)

My healing took about 10 years in total. I still have a way to go. Perfection is such a rubbish word. I'll keep learning :)

But now I know what I want and I know how to get it! Mostly. A rare quality. So if that's you, you're ahead of a huge percentage of the worlds population :)

WOW! Thank you for that, @lifeisawesome! :)
So inspiring to get such comments!

It's awesome to feel yourself unique. When you undestand you're not implementing someone's wishes and live your own life. But for sure I still have a lot to learn.

That's so true - probably the most freeing thing for me to ever learn was that 'I am in control of myself' - and I think this is what you've learned too! Which is awesome :)

You have done a good job. To know about what you want is another step to the success because it will inspire to fulfill the goal.

Love this! It's important to align your actions with your passions. Happy you have found yours. 🙏🏽

frankly and interesting! Thank you, natichi

Thank you for your thoughts about the "wish-list" NatiChi. All my attempts at writing a "wish-list" ended with a blank sheet or empty wishes.. probably at me still all ahead:)) And your drawing soulful, I liked it:)))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64768.36
ETH 3436.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51