Book Review: Man's Search for Meaning by Victor Frankl

in #psychology7 years ago

download.jpg

Source Image

Maybe most of you is familiar with the book "Man's Search for Meaning" by Victor Frankl.

This book is the autobiography of Victor Frankl being a prisoner in the concentration camps during the Nazi regime.

Racism is one of the features of Nazi government, thus, arrested millions of Jews and one of them is Frankl who was working as a psychologist at that time.

Experiences of Prisoners...

In the first part of the book Frankl described their everyday life in the camps.
It was evident in the book how desperate all the prisoners to fight to preserve their lives which was a very tough and a painful journey.

He wrote all their experiences, the first day of being prisoners, the moments of their life which they thought of giving up and just die and the moment that they finally see the hope of being free again.

What made this book interesting for me is that Frankl gave analyses of how the prisoners fight the battle of life and death in a psychological view.

According to him prisoners tried their best to survive despite the pain in the middle of uncertainty because of a “meaning”.

"Meaning" which fuel their desire to survive and gave them hope that everything will end soon.

"Meaning" which motivated them to avoid death at all cost.

Thus, Frankl asserts that “finding the meaning of our life is our ultimate motivational force in living, (Frankl, 1959).

Introduction of Logotherapy...

Part II of this book is the introduction of Logotherapy, a theory of Frankl.
Logotherapy came from a Greek word “logos” which means “meaning” and considered the "Third Viennese School of Psychotherapy" along with Freud's psychoanalysis and Adler's individual psychology.

If Freud’s Psychoanalysis is “will to pleasure” and adler’s individual psychology is “will to power”, Frankl’s logotherapy is “will to meaning”.

For me the method of logotherapy was best described in this part of the book:

I am reminded of the American doctor who once turned up in my office in Vienna and asked me, “Now, Doctor, are you a psychoanalyst?” Whereupon I replied, “Not exactly a psychoanalyst; let’s say a psychotherapist.” Then he continued questioning me: “What school do you stand for?” I answered, “It is my own theory; it is called logotherapy.” “Can you tell me in one sentence what is meant by logotherapy?” he asked. “At least, what is the difference between psychoanalysis and logotherapy?” “Yes,” I said, “but in the first place, can you tell me in one sentence what you think the essence of psychoanalysis is?” This was his answer: “During psychoanalysis, the patient must lie down on a couch and tell you things which sometimes are very disagreeable to tell.” Whereupon I immediately retorted with the following improvisation: “Now, in logotherapy the patient may remain sitting erect but he must hear things which sometimes are very disagreeable to hear.”

Logotherapy is given as a treatment to patients with depression, posttraumatic depression, anxiety or people who feel meaningless which Frankl referred to as “Existential Vacuum”. A theory that I want to incorporate in my life and I want to discuss it further in another post.

I was amazed by Frankl of how he was able to make his own theory out of his own experiences. I was also amazed of he was able to practice his profession and make a research out of it.

This book influenced me a lot and became my guiding principle of how to live my life. I have learned so much in it especially in his theory Logotherapy. It’s not only applicable for depressed patients, also, this can help us in our everyday lives to make our life more meaningful and you can find that meaning by shifting your focus to other people.

If you haven’t read the book then I strongly encourage it, maybe it will fill the “existential vacuum” in you.

Sort:  

I always thought that logos on logotherapy had to do with speech, since logos also means speech. But now it makes sense.

Glad you learned something. This is what drives a steemian like to keep posting. Thank you for reading. 😊

V. Frankl's man search for meaning has been one of my favorite books, and I am glad to see a review of it here. His development of Logotherapy can have a great influence in life and it is very interesting to see how his life experience being inside a concentration camp influenced him to develop such an outstanding theory. To simply put it, Logotherapy is about finding the meaning of life, and can be achieved by modifying attitudes towards suffering, loving somebody, or accomplishing a task. The goal is to find ways to eliminate the meaningless feeling in life which in turn will help to see the purpose of life.

Great post, you have a follower.

It's also one of my favorites. Thank you for appreciating my post! 😊

You are most welcome :)

This post has received a 23.8 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @ishteldalosa

@boomerang distributes 100% of the SBD and up to 80% of the Curation Rewards to STEEM POWER Delegators. If you want to bid for votes or want to delegate SP please read the @boomerang whitepaper.

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

great @ishteldalosa , as promised you wrote the article in about a week. keep going

Yes. Thank you for reading.

This post has received a 20.83 % upvote from thanks to: @ishteldalosa.
For more information, click here!

@ishteldalosa Thank you for your work, I invite you to evaluate my work.

Thank you for reading. I think I'm not that good enough to evaluate your work but I think some of my posts will help you. You don't have to upvote these posts:
5 Struggles I Experienced As A Newbie and How I dealt With IT
10 Things I Wish I Learned Earlier.
I also refer you to visit @Surpassinggoogle page. They are very helpful.

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!


Curious? Check out:


The @resteembot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in resteembot's feed.
Some of them are truly great.

Whatever @resteembot resteems, I resteem too!
I am a new, simple to use and cheap resteeming bot
I will automatically resteem posts resteemed by @resteembot until 2017-10-15 00:00:01 +00:00
If you want to read more about me, read my introduction post.

This post recieved an upvote from rahat097. If you would like to recieve upvotes from me on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @rahat097

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59276.59
ETH 2464.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44